We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service top notch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
Ranked #77 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for 3 nights over Easter week, wanting somewhere close to Victoria station for the express to gatwick, and this hotel fitted the bill. The welcome from the pavement onwards was warm and friendly, and the staff couldn't do enough to be helpful.

Our room was on the first floor and was well appointed with a comfortable bed, but not too much room around it. The bathroom was modern, efficient and lit with blue led lights when the main light was not turned on. This was actually quite handy, but could be a little alarming at times as nothing was quite the right colour if you used it at night.

The corridors are a little tight and could do with freshening up, and the lifts are tiny, but on the first floor this wasn't a problem until we had to exit with multiple bags, although we could have had them taken down for us with no problems at all. The public areas of the hotel are delightful and we particularly enjoyed a coffee in the lounge with a gifted pianist playing every night when we got back from a night out.

Breakfasts were excellent with a good selection and again, impeccable service, in a spacious and well decorated restaurant.

Wi fi was free, as it should be in all hotels.

All in all, a great stay and we plan to be back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank redletterday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,013 - 2,019 of 4,302 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

This was my second stay at the Rubens and the staff here made me feel like I was a regular guest. There was a note in my room from the hotel GM, Malcolm Hendry, welcoming me back. There was also a delicious box of handmade cookies and fresh fruit. Both times I have stayed here the service from the staff has been outstanding and the food delicious. This time I also tried the adjoining Bbar (Bar/Restaurant) and I would highly recommend it if you are staying at the Rubens (for that matter even if you are not staying there and just visiting London it is a good place for lunch, dinner or a casual drink).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our time in London. Everyone at the hotel was so friendly and helpful. Location is awesome.

Close to shops, restaurants, tube tour buses and of course the Palace.

The rooms are traditional and smaller than we expected but just the right size for us.

The tea and lounge with the piano entertainment was relaxing after a day of touring and walking.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HughesFamily54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This was our first stay at the Rubens and it will certainly not be the last. It is by far the best Hotel that we have stayed in. From the moment we stepped out of our taxi we could not fault the care and attention that we were given during our two night stay. When the staff discovered that it was my 60th birthday and anniversary, we were upgraded to a better room, given vouchers for a glass of champagne each and chocolates were left in our room for us. Nothing was too much for the staff, they were extremely friendly and courteous and seemed genuinely interested in us as a couple. Psyche,on reception, is a credit to the Hotel.
The food was exceptional, and such a variety. The room extremely comfortable and quiet, even overlooking the Royal Mews. A truly memorable stay in London and one that will definitely be repeated at the Rubens.
Many thanks to all of the staff for making us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: We requested a high floor to reduce the possibility of noise from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just got back from a two night stay at the Rubens at the Palace, the staff are friendly and helpful and its so nice to be remembered and not just another number, the treatment is second to none, the room was very spacious we got a free up-grade and it was the same room we had last time when we stayed in march, looking froward to going back in August for my wife's birthday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hallite21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Another fantastic stay at the Rubens at the Palace. All the staff are fantastic from the welcome from reception on arrival until departure. It is so nice to be remembered by the staff and treated so well. The food is spectacular, you can choose from the carvery in the old masters restaurant to afternoon tea in the Palace Lounge or eat in the bar. The atmosphere in either the restaurant, lounge or bar is very relaxed. The rooms are always spotlessly clean. Located near to Victoria Station and Green Park Station, perfect for getting around.

Room Tip: King rooms are a little more spacious than classic doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hallite32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

A classic, lovely hotel just across the street from the Buckingham Palace Mews. The cavalry theme in the lounge was steeped in tradition, where you hear the drums, bugles, horses, and men of the classic battles and units pictured on the walls. And the staff was incredible, from the waiters in the lounge to the bell staff to the shift managers. I remember most fondly the welcome and service I received from Gloria when I first arrived, most appreciated after the long transatlantic flight. Thanks to all for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Angyne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#191 of 1,077 in London
4,240 reviews
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in London
#40 Green Hotel in London
#64 Romantic Hotel in London
#73 Luxury Hotel in London
#106 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £157 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing