We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
Ranked #80 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Arlington, MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ok for a short stay”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed here for two nights as part of a business trip. It has a good, central location and is very 'old English' in decor (if you like that sort of thing), but the classic double rooms are incredibly small and jam packed with furniture. I've stayed in many London hotels and this by far was the smallest room I've ever stayed in -- especially for the price paid (almost $400/night USD). While elegantly appointed, I cannot imagine staying long term on a holiday in one of these rooms. Also, the wi-fi never really worked (kept dropping and VERY slow), which was difficult given I spent an entire afternoon working from my room and on conference calls. The pub area was nice, and the food at breakfast and dinner was good, but I'd probably look for something more modern and with business-level amenities on my next stay.

Room Tip: Classic double rooms are barely big enough for one person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBuff24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and thank you for your kind words with regards our location and traditional English style. I was sorry that you found your room on the small side, and wish that we had gotten the opportunity to have you move to one of our perhaps larger rooms within the classic double category. We always encourage guests to make their preferences known at the booking stage, where we can hopefully ensure that all preferences for a perfect stay are delivered.

Assuming that your stay was recent, I think that the WIFI issues were caused ironically by the investigatory works that we were doing prior to upgrading our WIFI service. I am so happy to say now that our upgrade works have successfully been completed and that we now offer a very fast and reliable service, consistently. I am sorry that this was not the case during your stay, but I am confident that you would be happy with our upgrade.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us.

Kind Regards,

Malcolm Hendry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,766
    938
    227
    95
    34
See reviews for
891
1,868
183
389
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (871)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
derby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

If you are looking for afternoon tea in London this is definitely the place to go! The food was amazing, beautiful champagne and the most perfect tea we have ever had. It was so good we had 4 pots of tea between two of us.

The staff were so friendly and professional and really made us feel special!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jane727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

From the minute you enter the Rubens you know that you are in for a great stay. The staff are courteous, friendly and efficient and clearly have an overwhelming desire to make sure that you stay is comfortable and enjoyable. The Hotel is in a great location with many of London's great attractions right on the doorstep. Thanks to Malcolm, Marta and the Rubens team for a fantastic break, and I look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeCornwall2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights over Easter week, wanting somewhere close to Victoria station for the express to gatwick, and this hotel fitted the bill. The welcome from the pavement onwards was warm and friendly, and the staff couldn't do enough to be helpful.

Our room was on the first floor and was well appointed with a comfortable bed, but not too much room around it. The bathroom was modern, efficient and lit with blue led lights when the main light was not turned on. This was actually quite handy, but could be a little alarming at times as nothing was quite the right colour if you used it at night.

The corridors are a little tight and could do with freshening up, and the lifts are tiny, but on the first floor this wasn't a problem until we had to exit with multiple bags, although we could have had them taken down for us with no problems at all. The public areas of the hotel are delightful and we particularly enjoyed a coffee in the lounge with a gifted pianist playing every night when we got back from a night out.

Breakfasts were excellent with a good selection and again, impeccable service, in a spacious and well decorated restaurant.

Wi fi was free, as it should be in all hotels.

All in all, a great stay and we plan to be back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank redletterday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This was my second stay at the Rubens and the staff here made me feel like I was a regular guest. There was a note in my room from the hotel GM, Malcolm Hendry, welcoming me back. There was also a delicious box of handmade cookies and fresh fruit. Both times I have stayed here the service from the staff has been outstanding and the food delicious. This time I also tried the adjoining Bbar (Bar/Restaurant) and I would highly recommend it if you are staying at the Rubens (for that matter even if you are not staying there and just visiting London it is a good place for lunch, dinner or a casual drink).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our time in London. Everyone at the hotel was so friendly and helpful. Location is awesome.

Close to shops, restaurants, tube tour buses and of course the Palace.

The rooms are traditional and smaller than we expected but just the right size for us.

The tea and lounge with the piano entertainment was relaxing after a day of touring and walking.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HughesFamily54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This was our first stay at the Rubens and it will certainly not be the last. It is by far the best Hotel that we have stayed in. From the moment we stepped out of our taxi we could not fault the care and attention that we were given during our two night stay. When the staff discovered that it was my 60th birthday and anniversary, we were upgraded to a better room, given vouchers for a glass of champagne each and chocolates were left in our room for us. Nothing was too much for the staff, they were extremely friendly and courteous and seemed genuinely interested in us as a couple. Psyche,on reception, is a credit to the Hotel.
The food was exceptional, and such a variety. The room extremely comfortable and quiet, even overlooking the Royal Mews. A truly memorable stay in London and one that will definitely be repeated at the Rubens.
Many thanks to all of the staff for making us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: We requested a high floor to reduce the possibility of noise from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#30 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#183 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,844 reviews
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#9 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#16 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Property: The Rubens at the Palace
Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in London
#39 Green Hotel in London
#64 Romantic Hotel in London
#74 Luxury Hotel in London
#106 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing