We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“18th Birthday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
Ranked #72 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 October 2008

My stay at the Rueben's was the most amazing trip of my life. My mom, dad, and sister went for a week to London to be followed by a week in Ireland for a business trip for my dad. This trip was two years ago but I still remember it like it was yesterday. Yes, the rooms are on the smaller side but once you learn that the hotel was originally a boarding house for coming out debutantes, the stay takes on a whole new meaning. Thinking about the past in these rooms was truly amazing. While we were in London, I was lucky enough to celebrate my 18th birthday at the hotel and this will be one that I will never forget. While in the bar with my parents and sister, I was serenaded by the piano player who played Happy Birthday while we toasted with champagne and ate cake. There really is no better way to spend your birthday than with your family in a dream location. The staff was amazing and extremely accommodating, they want to make your stay as amazing as it can be. I would recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to have a personal, meaningful trip with a little bit of history mixed in. If you are in to spacious, over the top rooms, this is definitely not for you. Enjoy your one of a kind trip and make the most memories you possibly can, they will never be forgotten!

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mnyhs17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,623 - 3,629 of 4,256 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2008

Clean, nicely decorated, good service. A great base for business travellers or for exploring London.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BlightyTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2008

Found myself hastily booking a BOS-LHR business trip to speak at a conference with a group I had forgotten I belonged to!...oh well, forget the Hiltons and the other places my associates were staying at...I wanted to go back to the lovely, little Rubens (I had stayed there before, in 2003, with Mrs. Z, on a pleasure trip, and we had a royal suite and loved it).

No suite this time, as I was alone...well, it was called a Junior suite...very ample size, with a nice large bathroom, and Queen size bed.

The only lapse in service came at checkin, at 9am...now, to be clear, I have the room booked and guaranteed for the prior night (when I am flying in from the states), so that , when I arrive very early, the room is already made up and mine...well, they cancelled me as a NO-SHOW...even though I it was guaranteed for 3 nights...big boo-boo...they gathered together at the front counter, and came up with a small, rear facing room that I could rest in, shower, etc, while my Jr. suite was readied for late afternoon occupancy....good recovery on the staff's part, I think, and I had only the minor inconvenience of re-packing and moving to the other room later.

Always enjoy having a Pimm's Cup in the bar adjacent to the lobby.

Had fast very early, dinner at Carvery, Master's...good beef carved by the proper Scottish chef, in his full whites and toque (he told me he was Scottish).

In the am, I enjoyed nibbling at the many components of the full, English breakfast that was included in my rate plan...that was served in the same restaurant that becomes the carvery.

Enjoyed the views of The Mews out front, while wondering what's going on inside that whole Palace complex.

Will always return to Rubens...........................................z

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Zricky47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2008

For a short break in London, you could do no better than stay at the Rubens by the Palace.
It is not the swishest or the most expensive. But it is immaculately turned out. Our room (up from the standard) was nicely decorated and comfortably furnished with the best hotel bed we have slept in.
However, the most impressive thing here is the service. The staff are clearly well trained and motivated. It is so nice, nowdays, to experience good old fashioned courtesy.
Great restaurant-too. Pricey, but worth it for the occasion. Also, you only get what you pay for, and here you get quality by the spadeful-or should it be by the forkful!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BrightonBandleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2008

I stayed at the Ruebens Hotel for workpurposes for 3 nights in September 2008. The location is superb, and so is the staff. All of the staff went out of their way to be friendly, helpful, and accommodating (the concierge found us tickets for the show we wanted at the very last moment). The food is very good, including the breakfast buffet. The disappointing part was the rooms. I had booked a non-smoking room, but upon arrival, none was available. The smell in the room I was given was very strong, stale cigar-like. I was told there is a sophisticated aircleaning system, and that they would run it again in my room the next day, but the smell was as bad on the second and third night. Rooms are small, there was hardly any place to walk around the bed, but the bed was comfortable. Amenities in the bathroom were very good quality. My room was supposedly on the more quiet side of the hotel, but it was very noisy and traffic was running all night. Wireless internet worked very well on the first day I used it, but not so well on the second day where I lost the connection about 10 times in less than 2 hours. While I was happy enough there, I will try something else next time.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank pixiejade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2008

Excellent hotel in great location with very friendly and professional staff. Great buffet breakfast and comfortable rooms. Definitely would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DavidGlasgow01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2008

I stayed at Reubens a number of weeks ago. It was to my horror that checking my credit card bill that I noticed that the hotel had taken an additional £216 from my credit card supposedly due to a mistake by the night auditor! What the night auditor was doing with my credit card details and how he accessed them when I checked out at midday remains to be seen. It does not matter how good or bad the hotel is if you cannot trust the employees.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
5  Thank turk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#189 of 1,076 in London
4,177 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#31 of 1,076 in London
985 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in London
#40 Green Hotel in London
#64 Romantic Hotel in London
#69 Luxury Hotel in London
#106 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £161 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing