We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Rubens at the Palace
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel 41(London)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Goring(London)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,483)
Filter reviews
4,483 results
Traveller rating
3,092
1,009
244
101
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,092
1,009
244
101
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuckingham palacevictoria stationlibrary restaurantafternoon teaold masterscavalry barred carnationjames parkking roomfull english breakfastconcierge deskwonderful hotellovely roomgreen parktrafalgar squarebig benlocation was perfect
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,103 - 2,108 of 4,483 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was our first stay at The Rubens for 3 nights. Every part of our stay, from the welcome at the front desk, to the check out was very pleasant. The staff offered suggestions to us and followed up to make sure all was going well for us. Our room (a triple) was nicely appointed, clean and well maintained. Love the red carnation. The hotel is very centrally located and within walking distance to Buckingham Palace and Victoria Station. Would definitely stay here again. Highly recommend The Rubens.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Buckingham Palace Road have a great view of The Royal Mews.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

First time here and what a brilliant hotel. not cheap, but where in London is! Super location by Buckingham Palace and minutes from Victoria Stn.

The standout element of this hotel is the staff, wonderful people across the board, from doorman, reception team thru to restaurant staff. Everyone seems very genuine and helpful, such a refreshing attitude from hotel staff. Being a non-major chain, they do lots of the extra touches which make a difference. At check-in they acknowledged it was my wife’s birthday and wished her well and in the room a plate with cake and birthday message had been left.

The room we stayed in was a themed Kings room (George 3). Very arty and full of character with portraits of the king, gold emblems and assorted pictures etc. The only downside is that rooms are small and with the extra bits of pictures and ornaments it feels even smaller. Not a room you can relax on a sofa or spread out, but saying that most people staying in central London spend little time in their room. The bathroom is equally small and you really can’t get two people at once in there. Size aside, the rooms are nice and different to the normal boxes found. All the necessary things such as safe, iron etc. are present and enough room to hang clothes. The airconditioner was very effective albeit a little noisy.

I ordered a turndown service with champagne which all turned up as arranged with rose petals spread everywhere, and chocolate dipped strawberries!

In short a brilliant hotel you must stay in, well worth the money and you can forgive the small rooms as the staff make everything seem wonderful.

Room Tip: The Kings room have a separate section via a controled door on swipe so they are quiet, with little passing traffic of people.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunseeker06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is in a really good position ,but the rooms are too small for our cases.
It is very hard to move around in the room once we open our cases. Especially traveling international where you have more luggage than local travel.
The staff are very attentive and helpful.
We have stayed in other places in London with a lot more space.

Room Tip: Rooms too small for the prices charged.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Karlene,

Thank you for your review and taking the time to share your experience with us.
I was really pleased to read your praise of our staff here, but sorry to hear of you finding our rooms on the small side. I hope that this did not detract from the enjoyment of your stay too much.

We genuinely encourage all our guests at booking stage, that should their preference be for a spacious room, that they tell us, and give us the opportunity to allocate as large a room as possible in the category booked.

Thank you for staying with us.

Kind Regards,

Malcolm Hendry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just back from the Rubens. It was great.

This hotel retains its classic elegance and combines this with a location that is excellent. It's hard to imagine better. Its position right next to Buckingham Palace and within two hundred yards of the Victoria Station makes it perfect start point to all of the local attractions.

Also, there are great shows on offer with 5 mins walk, including Wicked.

The hotel itself is a throwback to yesteryear where staff are attentive to every detail. Every member of staff is committed to ensuring their guests needs were met. The rooms whilst small, were excellent. The bathroom was spotlessly clean, the shower good and the bed was extremely comfortable. The hotel was quiet and afforded a good nights sleep.

We had the breakfast option, this was excellent. We had a lunch with soup and sandwich again very good, a little pricey but it's central London.

This is a lovely hotel. Would love to stay there again and hope to do so soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bemoBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Beautiful hotel; very clean and well laid out.
Excellent locations; walking distance to several parks, Buckingham Palace, great restaurants, and several other major attractions.
Outstanding staff; house keeping went above and beyond, concierge was very helpful, friendly, and accommodating.
I will definitely return as well as recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews