We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome friendlym attentive, thoroughly professional oasis in a mad busy cityhotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
Ranked #73 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A welcome friendlym attentive, thoroughly professional oasis in a mad busy cityhotel”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I had the privilege of supporting a friend at his recent investiture at Buckingham Palace.
Not only was the hotel a superb location for Palace and stations and comfortable but had the best of staff.
I was so impressed at Doorman, Concierge and waiters. They were not in your face but seemed to anticipate your needs, remember your choices and offer genuine friendship with respect.
I will be back. Cant wait for an opportunity to arise

Room Tip: I would trust the staff thoroughly and take their advice depending on your specific preferences
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SydGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,846
    956
    233
    95
    34
See reviews for
925
1,916
185
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (893)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights while traveling alone in London. The hotel is in an absolutely idea location near Victoria station. The service was wonderful and the rooms were a really good size with very large bathrooms. It was clean, quiet and a good place to hang out if you wanted to relax for a few hours and watch a movie in your room. I loved the jazz in the evening and the breakfast buffet in the morning was delicious. However, this place is old; crickety floors and the decor overall deserves a bit of an update. It's a pricey hotel, but super comfortable, and I would stay there again if I got a better deal. London is not a cheap place to travel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Courtney G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I love this hotel.....I will be staying here again in August, 2014....You can not find a more charming hotel.....The restaurants are fantastic.....Afternoon tea is delightful.......The location is outstanding......Yes, the rooms are on the small side, but what hotel in Europe has large rooms?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bloomfield, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed at the rubens in July and had one of our BEST hotel stays ever. The staff was always cheerful and whenever there was an issue it was remedied immediately. We stayed for our anniversary and will stay again if we visit London

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Visited whilst attending a function at a different venue so we did not have a meal and cannot therfore comment on food. However, we did have breakfast which was pleasant but fairly standard fare.
Service at the bar was excellent and the bar itself was spacious, well furnished and comfortable.
The bedroom was quite small but certainly good enough for our needs as we were only there for the one night.
The location - just a couple of hundred yards from Buckingham Palace - was superb.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Near main tourist attractions such as Buckingham Palace but needs to be refurbished. Typical old english style without touch or finess but with charm. The hotel has seen its better days and definitely requires a major make over.

Room Tip: 3 star feet ordinary tourist hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PehrB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Another incredible stay at the Rubens. It's almost impossible to get this kind of service anywhere in the hotel industry these days. I travel so much and have almost 100 hotel stays just this year alone so I do know something about good service and unfortunately I know something about bad service. The Rubens is absolutely the best of the best service that a business or a leisure traveller can experience. If there were such a thing as a 10 star hotel that is what I would rate the Rubens. My room was SPECTACULAR, The location was SPECTACULAR. I loved the breakfast and sitting in the lounge enjoying a Latte in between meetings. That, by the way was one of my most enjoyable things to do. The only thing you need to change about the Rubens is nothing!
Thank you for a world class stay...
May I just add that Nathan Champion was once again a tremendous part of my stay. He knew my name, he knew my check in and check out date and he knows customer service better than anyone. Plus he has a smile that can brighten anyone day as it did mine day after day. I would recommend anyone who visits the Rubens to get to know Nathan as he will make your stay better.
Steve Jones who works in the lounge was absolutely wonderful to me from the minute I talked to him. He was funny, witty and I got to like him very much.

Room Tip: I enjoy the rooms that face Buckingham Palace Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#30 of 1,069 in London
876 reviews
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#193 of 1,069 in London
4,044 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,201 reviews
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Property: The Rubens at the Palace
Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in London
#40 Green Hotel in London
#64 Romantic Hotel in London
#68 Luxury Hotel in London
#106 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing