We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
Ranked #74 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Myself and my husband visited the Rubens for a weekend stay. From start to finish the level of customer service from the staff is top class. The rooms are clean and provide most essential items. The breakfast has a great choice and served in lovely surroundings. We experienced the afternoon tea which was absolutely delightful, a lovely selection of sandwiches, cakes and teas. I can highly recommend the Rubens especially if you are looking for a special treat.
I would like to mention the professional customer relations from the General Manager Mr Malcolm Hendry who made our stay most pleasurable. We will return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 5037775susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,922 - 1,928 of 4,340 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

My boyfriend took me to the London for the first time and we stayed at the Rubens which is literally soooo close to the palace (how cool)! We arrived about an hour earlier than our checkin time but it was not an issue since our room was already available. We stayed in a royal room, "Mary Queen of Scots" , it was very nice, lots of closet space, stocked mini fridge , and a nice hidden tv. The bathroom was spectacular! Spent a lot of time taking selfies in there.

After getting settled we went down stairs where we were once again greeted by the coolest door man, he went out of his way to make sure we knew the easiest routes for our sight seeing adventures. He was really lovely! All of the staff were nice but he stood out the most.

The following morning we were supposed to go to free breakfast but the bed was so comfy we over slept!!
We checked out and left our bags at concierge so that we wouldn't have to carry them around the city while doing our final day of sightseeing
Picked them up around 8:30pm, no problem at all.

Our time there was great and if I'm ever in London again I'll be staying at The Rubens

Room Tip: Choose the royal rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Daisy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I had the privilege of supporting a friend at his recent investiture at Buckingham Palace.
Not only was the hotel a superb location for Palace and stations and comfortable but had the best of staff.
I was so impressed at Doorman, Concierge and waiters. They were not in your face but seemed to anticipate your needs, remember your choices and offer genuine friendship with respect.
I will be back. Cant wait for an opportunity to arise

Room Tip: I would trust the staff thoroughly and take their advice depending on your specific preferences
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank SydGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights while traveling alone in London. The hotel is in an absolutely idea location near Victoria station. The service was wonderful and the rooms were a really good size with very large bathrooms. It was clean, quiet and a good place to hang out if you wanted to relax for a few hours and watch a movie in your room. I loved the jazz in the evening and the breakfast buffet in the morning was delicious. However, this place is old; crickety floors and the decor overall deserves a bit of an update. It's a pricey hotel, but super comfortable, and I would stay there again if I got a better deal. London is not a cheap place to travel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Courtney G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I love this hotel.....I will be staying here again in August, 2014....You can not find a more charming hotel.....The restaurants are fantastic.....Afternoon tea is delightful.......The location is outstanding......Yes, the rooms are on the small side, but what hotel in Europe has large rooms?

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed at the rubens in July and had one of our BEST hotel stays ever. The staff was always cheerful and whenever there was an issue it was remedied immediately. We stayed for our anniversary and will stay again if we visit London

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Visited whilst attending a function at a different venue so we did not have a meal and cannot therfore comment on food. However, we did have breakfast which was pleasant but fairly standard fare.
Service at the bar was excellent and the bar itself was spacious, well furnished and comfortable.
The bedroom was quite small but certainly good enough for our needs as we were only there for the one night.
The location - just a couple of hundred yards from Buckingham Palace - was superb.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#206 of 1,077 in London
4,307 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#31 of 1,077 in London
3,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Mayfair
45 Park Lane - Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in London
#40 Green Hotel in London
#64 Romantic Hotel in London
#70 Luxury Hotel in London
#106 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £131 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing