We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fabulous "Royal" afternoon tea experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rubens at the Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
Ranked #90 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sussex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A fabulous "Royal" afternoon tea experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

What a wonderful afternoon spent in the Royal lounge having afternoon tea at The Rubens at the Palace Hotel recently! My good friend and I love spending a day in London either shopping or sight seeing finishing with a lunch, afternoon tea or dinner before saying goodbye at Victoria to head home. This time we chose to have a champagne afternoon tea overlooking the Buckingham Palace Mews. And what a perfect choice! From the moment we arrived at the hotel and greeted warmly by the doorman and concierge, we knew that we had made the right choice and were going to be looked after. We were shown to our table overlooking the mews, it had been chosen carefully for us not to be directly in the warm summer sun through the window. There was a lovely selection of teas and we chose the Signature Earl grey with Lavender. Then the freshly prepared afternoon tea arrived and what a spread. Delicious white and brown bread finger sandwiches, scones with strawberry preserve and clotted cream and a mouth watering selection of cakes. The staff were very friendly, professional and helpful without any hint of us being hurried. We were able to relax, chat endlessly, savour and enjoy the afternoon tea. The champagne was chilled to perfection and delicious.
Thank you to everyone involved in giving us both such a lovely afternoon. It was a delightful experience and we will definitely come again.....

Room Tip: We had afternoon tea in the Royal lounge overlooking the Buckinghampalace a Mews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniseAshford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,695
    927
    227
    95
    34
See reviews for
870
1,824
177
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (844)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We don't stay in really nice hotels very often so this was a cut way above for us. The staff were incredible, always so cheerful, even at 5am! Location is terrific. Had a nice pkg with bfx included. The buffet was repetitive, but still delicious. Would love to come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tyegator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRZGRL862
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We just finished off a three week Great Britain trip with 4 days at the Rubens. It was so old fashioned and proper. We enjoyed the English Breakfast, and also the Afternoon High Tea. Our room was so pretty-our view was nothing but another building, but it was quiet and comfortable. The concierge desk was unbelievably helpful. The location is fantastic-we had beautiful weather and walked everywhere. The Victoria station was only two blocks away if you needed to use the Underground. The Big Bus Tour (We didn't use it) had a stop right out front. I did read some reviews complaining about the lack of space. This is not the type of hotel where you can live out of your suitcase. Take a minute and unpack. We had three weeks of clothes and there was a place for everything, and our suitcases fit easily under the bed. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRZGRL862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincennes, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Spent 3 nights at the Rubens by the palace and I can't think of even one minor complaint. The room was lovely (it's an old hotel so expect the rooms to be on the smaller side) and the bed was fabulously comfortable! Fresh complimentary cookies and bottled water - bathroom was updated and wonderful. Hotel service was excellent - helpful, attentive, and engaging. Breakfast buffet served daily had hot and cold options and a lovely dining room. Location was walking distance to Westminster Abbey, Parliament (Churchill's War Room/Bunker), London Eye, Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus, many pubs and restaurants, parks....and obviously the Palace. I highly recommend The Rubens and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hikermom54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at Ruben's at the Palace for our last night in London before flying home to the US. Our trip bookended with London and we wished we had stayed at Ruben's on the front end as well. We had 2 separate rooms for our family of 4. Both rooms were lovely and well appointed. The beds and bedding were wonderful. Staff was exceptional. Breakfast was plentiful, food very good, and service attentive. Would definitely recommend to other travelers and would book here again. Great location as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have stayed here before. Clean, comfy and centrally located to Buckingham Palace and the tube station. We stayed in a mini suite, room 405 and although it backs to a main road, we were never bothered by street noise. They have a vertical garden on that side of the building and it insulates the sound. The view was of the courtyard but who cares? When you're in London - you are out and about!
We had drinks at the Leopard Bar- darling.
Breakfast was delicious.
Courteous staff
Slow and small elevators.

Room Tip: I have not stayed on the Palace side but I think it may have more street noise. When I am in my room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

wonderful 4 night stay at the Rubins! Loved the location and the people!! The daily breakfast was great! The service was excellent, everyone went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable! a special thanks to the concierge, I think his name is David, who was so helpful in guiding us around this beautiful city!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trumom99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
It is wonderful to hear that you liked the location and overall feel of the hotel, and that you felt so well taken care of by my team. They genuinely enjoy looking after all our guests and were thrilled to hear your comments when I passed these on to them.

My team and I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Rubens in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Malcolm Hendry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#24 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#179 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,691 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#11 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,017 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Property: The Rubens at the Palace
Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in London
#39 Green Hotel in London
#64 Romantic Hotel in London
#82 Luxury Hotel in London
#106 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK and DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing