We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
Ranked #73 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First Class Service”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Rubens at the Palace – 1st Class Treatment for Adults and Children.

We have just returned from London having stayed at The Rubens at the Palace which is a superb hotel, in a grand location. Our stay was exceptional. Robert, Alexis and I were treated like royalty and continuously greeted with a smile. All of the staff was hospitable, courteous, and professional both in manner and dress code.

Dining:
Should one be looking for Gourmet dining, then The Library Restaurant is the place to be. Besides The Library Restaurant is the The Old Masters Carvery, which has such a succulent menu to choose from. Breakfast in The Old Masters Restaurant is a must for guests.

When you stay at The Rubens at the Palace you will discover that the selection of thoughtful extras, do make your vacation even more exclusive.
We would like to express our gratitude and appreciation to everybody for making our stay so wonderful. Especially the Doormen, Concierges and the House Keeping Team.

Lastly, I’d like to say a big thank you to the House Keeping Team for providing such an excellent service and for such a wonderful surprise…the complimentary wine gift.

Thanking You
Mr & Mrs Hedley and Alexis x

Room Tip: Executive King Suite: Extremely Comfortable and of good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,848
    956
    233
    95
    34
See reviews for
926
1,917
185
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (893)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Welcoming and helpful staff. I had a very small room but it was nicely furnished and comfortable. No remote for the TV but that was put right quickly. Noisy machine in the internal courtyard the room looked onto so had to shut the window to get to sleep, then the duvet was too warm (why don't hotels provide summer duvets?) but the internal aircon blew onto my face and was unpleasant - so not a great nights sleep! Located near to Buck house but even nearer the massive reconstruction going on at Victoria station.

Room Tip: Try to get a quiet one - there's currently the huge victoria station reconstruction across the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pgwswth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Rubens.

It is fantastic to read that you found the staff to be courteous and helpful, and I have passed your comments on to the staff who were delighted to hear them.

I was also sorry to hear that the air-conditioning unit in the courtyard prevented you from getting a good night’s sleep. Rest assured that we continuously spend time and money ensuring that all of our plantwork run with as minimal noise as is possible. However, my Guest Services team will also be happy to move you to a quieter room, if availability allows.

I do hope that the above did not detract too much from an otherwise enjoyable stay and that I will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Rubens in person in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Malcolm Hendry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Really friendly and accommodating staff, exactly what we have come to expect from this Hotel chain. However our room was very disappointing, it was dated, poorly decorated and had stains on the carpet. We had high expectations for our stay here as we regularly stay at it's sister Hotel,The Montague where everything is beautifully clean, well decorated and elegant. However thank you Alex for the afternoon tea, very much appreciated whilst I awaited the return of my husband.

Room Tip: Not sure that I can really, this was not a successful stay for us on this occasion, it's locatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I was sorry to read that we did not live up to your expectations and that you found your room poorly decorated. Our bedrooms are also each distinctive in terms of being different shapes and sizes with varying decor schemes. It is disappointing to hear that you were not satisfied with the room you were allocated. If my team are made aware of this at the time, they are always more than happy to provide alternative room options, depending on availability. I can assure you that we have stringent procedures in place for checking rooms prior to allowing guests to check into these. I was therefore most concerned to read your comment regarding the carpet and have taken this back to my Executive Housekeeper.

On a more positive note, it is wonderful to hear that you felt so well taken care of by my team. They genuinely enjoy looking after all our guests and were thrilled to hear your comments when I passed these on to them.

I hope that the above did not detract too much from an otherwise enjoyable stay and that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Rubens in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Malcolm Hendry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria BC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was our third stay at the Rubens and it is like coming home, we are very comfortable there. We made use of the restaurants & bars at all hours. The staff are very polite and helpful. I highly recomned the Rubens!

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room to see the Mews at Buckingham Palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boothbay, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in a king room. There was nothing that wasn't great. We were in a city so of course there was a little street noise.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel foods was very good. The breakfast buffet has a good variety to choose from. (Although, I have never cooked a fried egg the way they did.) Dinner was also tasty and the portions were ample.

The concierge was very helpful in recommending restaurants that were very English and not tourist traps.

The location was perfect. The Royal Mews was just across the street. Several beautiful parks were a short walk away. The Victoria tube station was close by and very accessible.

Several theaters were just a couple of blocks away. We walked back to the hotel after seeing Billy Elliott. Great show. And we felt perfectly safe walking at night.

From Heathrow Airport we took the Heathrow Express to Padington Station. Then we jumped in a cab to the hotel. We chose train and cab because the underground tube was not the best option when wheeling several suitcases!)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pelican33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Not a cheap hotel, but we got a very small room. They've promised us a free upgrade on our next visit. Well located for Buckingham Palace, and Victoria train and bus stations. You get the suited door-openers if that's what you find impressive.

Room Tip: Don't go for basic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Rubens on Tripadvisor

It is fantastic to read that you liked the location of the hotel. I am sorry that you were a little disappointed with the size of your room. As a slightly older building, we do have a wide cross section of shapes and sizes. If anyone is not entirely satisfied with the room that they are allocated, my team are always more than happy to show you room alternatives.

I am very sorry that your experience was not as positive as that of others on this site but thank you for sharing this with us.

Yours sincerely,

Malcolm Hendry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Recently, I, my wife and 11 year old daughter spent a few weeks visiting family and friends in Ireland. We decided to stop in London on our way back to Florida. We hadn’t been there since before our daughter was born and wanted to show her some historic sights. We stayed at the Rubens at the Palace and could not have found more luxurious accommodations with exceptional service. The staff was courteous and helpful; exceeding our expectations every step of the way. It was the perfect ending to our trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#30 of 1,069 in London
876 reviews
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#193 of 1,069 in London
4,046 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,201 reviews
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Property: The Rubens at the Palace
Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in London
#40 Green Hotel in London
#64 Romantic Hotel in London
#68 Luxury Hotel in London
#106 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing