We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
Ranked #73 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Took my ten year old daugher to rubens hotel for treat, the staff were very frienydly and the room just perfect, right next door to buckingham place, victoria station 10 mins walk away, st james park 5 mins walk, great location .stayed 2010

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank india w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,793
    941
    230
    95
    34
See reviews for
903
1,879
185
392
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (875)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The hotel is located perfectly, really close to Buckingham Palace and to Victoria station. The staff was incredible friendly and very courteous. For London the room was quite large with a really comfortable bed. Breakfast was very nice and lots of staff taking care of the guests. I can definitely recommend the hotel and would stay there again and again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I don't think I will ever stay anywhere else when I'm in London!!! The porters had our luggage in reception before we'd even paid the taxi, such is the attentiveness of the staff.
The decor of the hotel is luxurious, all the public areas are a joy to sit in.
We stayed for the weekend and ate in the hotel every night. The food is gorgeous! I could quite easily have stayed inside the hotel for the whole time we were in London, it is such a welcoming and comfortable place!
The staff are amazing!!! Steve Jones and Christopher in the bar deserve a mention for keeping the champagne flowing; Joanne and Paula were friendly and welcoming.....every member of staff deserves a well done as they made us feel wonderful and nothing was too much trouble.
A special mention has to go to Marta, I've said it previously and I'll say it again...every hotel should have a Marta. Highly efficient, super welcoming, genuinely warm and interested in making our stay special. My little girl literally thinks she's the BEST!!!!
Our room was spotless, the beds were comfy, the decor great.
Breakfast was delicious and even though the hotel was full, it was a thoroughly organised affair. The staff are incredibly hard working and I hope they know that as guests we recognised that fact and that we were appreciative of their hard work to make our stay so lovely.
Will be back for a night in December to see the Christmas Rubens - I can't wait. So much so that we'd booked before we'd arrived home!
Thank you everyone!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roe184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We booked our vacation through Costco and The Rubens at the Palace was the option we chose based on location. I'm so glad we did. This hotel is right across from Buckingham Palace and within walking distance to many many things. This was an absolutely great location. We purchased our tours ahead of our vacation, if we were to do it again, we would just leverage he hotel concierge as we used Golden Tours and regret it immensely. (You can read that review).

A few things: walking distance to Victoria to get our tickets for tours each day. We walked to Piccadilly Circus, Ronnie Scotts Jazz Club, all around and through the parks as well as to Big Ben, Westminster Abbey and that entire area. Waking around the city is very easy, but do note the crowds are LARGE. The food around the hotel is really not great, its expensive and targets the tourist. Its unfortunate, but I'm sure it is that way in any city.

For the hotel: We had afternoon tea one day and it was an experience all in its own. We were o happy we decided to do that. Our 11 year old enjoyed it as well. There was enough food to hold us to s small bite later that evening. We also ate at the hotel one night and I have to say the food was really great. They accommodate various diets including vegetarian. The night we ate they had a cheese and pea risotto that my daughter and I are still talking about-truly great. Each night the hotel left goodies on the pillow along with still or sparking water, nice touch. They were prompt on their wake up calls and everyone on staff was very friendly and accommodating during our stay. When we arrived they took our daughter and gave her a booklet of things to do for kids, again, nice touch. Finally-the breakfast was GREAT. They offered the same food each day but due to the variety of things, it works out just great. They have cheeses, breads, pastries, eggs (made to your choice), salmon, fruit, juices, coffees, teas, water, yogurt and more.

This hotel added to our enjoyment for our first visit to London. I would recommend it to anyone! Great lotion, excellent staff and accommodations. Top Notch!!

Room Tip: A room with a view to the palace would be best, but I would venture to say that even without, you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MVBonilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

From the moment we stepped through the door we were greeted by such friendly helpful staff nothing was too much trouble for the staff at this lovely hotel. Reception staff were very helpful and courteous as were the concierge staff if you needed to know any information regarding directions catching a bus or where the nearest tube station was etc. they spent time with you showing you an a map exactly where you needed to go. The room was decorated lovely with toiletries in the bathroom and robes.
The hotel is situated just around the corner from Buckingham palace and a short ten minute walk from Victoria coach station this hotel it is situated in the ideal spot to do plenty sightseeing.
We visited Buckingham palace ,the guards museum the London eye, big ben, the river Thames, Trafalgar square and a lot more all on foot!
Breakfast at the hotel you were again greeted by friendly staff very relaxed atmosphere had a wide choice of cereal to choose from , full cooked English breakfast, a wide range of fruit and Danish pastries and unlimited tea and coffee all in beautiful surroundings.
We would certainly go back to this hotel again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel is literally across the street from Buckingham Palace. I was visiting on business, but it is in a great location for siteseeing!
The staff at this hotel was great. Upon arrival they upgraded my room. A few minutes after I arrived in the room the front desk called to make sure the room was OK and to see if I needed anything. I really appreciated this.
The room was clean. It also had an in room temperature control. The windows do not open. My one criticism would be that the rooms are very small. I ordered room service and when they arrived there wasn't a place in the room that I could stand that was enough out of the way for the bellhop to bring the tray into the room.
Breakfast was a buffet, but it was very good. I also noticed that the doormen and the people at the front desk remembered me and greeted me when I came in and out of the hotel.
It was a very good stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank copperseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
148 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived having booked last minute for a one night stay.

The welcome, check in, service was quite outstanding.

We were on a b&b package. The dining room was stunning as was the breakfast a vast selection and a fine display and impeccable service. One of the nicest buffets and seamless service teams I've experienced, well done.

We had a problem during our stay and it has to be said how professionally it was dealt with. It showed catagoricalky how seriously they care and it's a rarity to find a company these days who are prepared to recognise a problem and go the extra mile .

The bar service and food was outstanding and attentive.

We will be using this Company Carnation Hotels again when we
Visit London.

Thank you especially Joanne and The Front Desk Team. Your professionalism and care was very much appreciated indeed.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#34 of 1,067 in London
775 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#192 of 1,067 in London
3,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,067 in London
3,132 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Property: The Rubens at the Palace
Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in London
#40 Green Hotel in London
#64 Romantic Hotel in London
#68 Luxury Hotel in London
#106 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing