We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay in London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
Ranked #73 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Douglasville, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Stay in London”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I found The Rubens online, read the reviews, and contacted the hotel manager, Malcolm for assistance with booking our trip. We arrived in London at the beginning of our trip, then left for 5 days before returning to London to complete our vacation. Malcolm was amazing at arranging multiple rooms for us, transportation from the airport, and holding part of our luggage while we traveled to other countries. His attention to detail and quick responses to my 10 separate emails was very impressive. The hotel was lovely and our rooms were clean. The location was impeccable. We were directly across the street from the Royal Mews at Buckingham Palace, just a short walk to Victoria Station, and one of the stops on the Red Bus tour. The staff was overly attentive and made all of us feel so welcome every time we set foot in the door. The doorman was one of the best parts of our trip. He was so friendly and helpful each day and asked us everyday about our activities. Malcolm the hotel manager even arranged a cupcake decorating session for my daughter. The full English breakfast each morning was wonderful as well. We will definitely go back to London and visit the Rubens again. It also made me very interested in trying some of the other Red Carnation Hotels. Thanks again to the staff at The Rubens for making our holiday spectacular!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kampmorgj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,848
    956
    233
    95
    34
See reviews for
926
1,917
185
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (893)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My husband and I took our 8 and 10 year old granddaughters to London and we stayed at the Rubens for 8 nights. We had stayed there in May and decided this would be the best hotel to use to show our granddaughters all the sights in London. Several of the staff recognized us and we were warmly welcomed back. The hotel had a lovely plate of brownies waiting for the girls with a special birthday wish on them. They also received a packet of things to do when we checked in. A delicious box of cookies and milk for our grandaughters was also sent to our room each night. Our stay was perfect and all the staff were most helpful, especially Paula. A special thank you to her for her assistance. As other reviewers have mentioned, the rooms are great and the location perfect for walking or taking the tube or bus. I highly recommend the Rubens for a great stay in London.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarylandAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stayed here before a transfer to my cruise.
It was only for one night but it was fortunate that Buckingham Palace and the Mews was so close.
The High Tea was amazing and I would fully recommend it to anyone wishing to sample an English Tea .
The staff was very helpful with any thing you would need.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We spent a week at the Rubens, and found it to be a wonderful stay. The staff is friendly, and very helpful in planning our days touring London. The location is perfect, making it very easy to make our way around the city. We found the room to be spacious with a view of Buckingham Palace, and very comfortable. The restaurant was very good too and the bar area nice for a nightcap. I would stay here again, if ever in London, and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Our room had a view of the side gate to the palace.It was quiet, but fun to watch people coming and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We just came back from a terrific stay at The Rubens at the Palace Hotel. We booked the hotel on the Internet and were very pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. We were researching hotels in the area and the proximity to so many London destinations was key. We were able to walk everywhere from The Tower of London all the way to Kensington Palace. The staff of the hotel were so accommodating. I emailed the management that it was a special anniversary for us and we were welcomed and acknowledged by many of the attentive staff. We stayed in a very lovely room. It was quiet and comfortable. There was ample space. The guest services manager was so friendly and warm. The Concierge, the front desk clerks and bell staff were very helpful. I would definitely recommend The Rubens. Sadly we did not eat in any of the restaurants as we were out from at meal times.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilenek14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

I was recently introduced to The Rubens by my daughter. When in London I usually stay at Claridges, The Mayfair or what was then known as The Hyde Park Hotel in Knightsbridge. I must say I was most impressed. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful even after a long day's work. Nothing seems too much trouble for them. I must mention Steve Jones and Christopher in the bar, Paula and Joanna in reception and of course Marta who is wonderful. I hope she is not head hunted. Her efficiency, friendliness and attention to detail is second to none. Well done and thanks Marta. The room was spotless and light. I could have spent all day in the lounge looking at the comings and goings at Buckingham Palace. We ate in the bar as we are not big eaters and the food was lovely. Had a look at the two restaurants and they are charming. Breakfast was good. Am looking forward to a return visit near Christmas.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Took my ten year old daugher to rubens hotel for treat, the staff were very frienydly and the room just perfect, right next door to buckingham place, victoria station 10 mins walk away, st james park 5 mins walk, great location .stayed 2010

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank india w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#30 of 1,069 in London
876 reviews
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#193 of 1,069 in London
4,050 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,202 reviews
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Property: The Rubens at the Palace
Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in London
#40 Green Hotel in London
#64 Romantic Hotel in London
#68 Luxury Hotel in London
#106 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing