We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
Ranked #73 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel!”
Reviewed 4 July 2010

What a lovely hotel - very English! - we loved the room not too big buy very comfortable - the bed was so relaxing. From the moment we arrived all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful - always smiling and greeting us as we past by - unlike some of the other hotels we stayed at in Europe. The only negative point would be as it is an old building, you can hear people in the corridors walking...The location of this hotel is the best i have ever stayed at in London - I most definatley will return here - Thanks again!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robalmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,795
    943
    230
    95
    34
See reviews for
904
1,881
185
392
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (876)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

The room was very small (the bed touched the wall on both sides of the room). The floorboards were loose and creaked/groaned. There was a load air-conditioning (or similar) plant outside the window. Had to keep it closed to sleep. Not quite opposite the Palace, the hotel is located across the road from the side mews. All this cost £198 (with no breakfast included) for one night. Very poor value. Pity, the staff were good. And they slap on a charity donation without asking!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishingpaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this review, 9 July 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Rubens at the Palace on Tripadvisor. I am most grateful for your feedback, albeit disappointed not to read of a more positive experience.

I was concerned to read that you were disappointed with the size of your room. As a slightly older building, we do have a wide cross section of shapes and sizes of accommodation. When next you make a reservation please feel free to make your preference for a larger room known to our Reservations team.

Also, I am sorry that you were offended by the £1 that we add to our guest bills as a donation to The Starlight Foundation and Tick Tock Club of Great Ormond Street Children’s Hospital. We invite guests to make this very small and donation and match every £1 ourselves. Together with our guests we have raised over £253,000 in the years we have been working together, which goes towards helping The Starlight Foundation and Tick Tock Club make terminally ill children’s dreams come true. However, should any guest decline to make a donation, invitations to not contribute are clearly displayed in our reception and guest bedrooms.

I am very sorry that your overall experience was not as positive as that of others on this site and would ask you to please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Yours sincerely,

Malcolm Hendry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

My daughter and I just retuned from five days at the Ruben. We loved the hotel and had a wonderful experience. I requested a non-smoking, twin, refurbished room and received my exact request. The room was very large by european standards. Lots of mirrors, great long desk that was great for hair and makeup. Nice closet, good bathroom and tons of hot water. The beds had excellent clean sheets and we did not hear a word or sound from any other guests. Our room faced the inner courtyard, so obviously there was not a view, but I prefer the quiet. One great thing is the hair dryer. It is not connected to the wall, which I love because one person can be outside the bathroom drying their hair while the other showers. The staff were all super friendly and helpful and the location is fantastic. Five min. to tube and you can walk to Westminster Abby, Big Bend, Etc. I would stay again absolutely.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judgekw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2010

We stayed at The Ruebens last week on our family's first visit to London. After searching on-line through hundreds of choices for hotels, I am happy to say that our choice was a very good one. The staff was exceptional, especially Dave, whom we met upon our arrival. Dave became what seemed to be our personal advisor, host and friend. I'm sure that Dave is just as exceptional to everyone he meets, but we were so impressed that he genuinely seemed to care about us in a special way. He was always there to greet us every morning and every evening upon our return. The Concierge was also very helpful and friendly. We booked 2 rooms, our daughters' room was nice (a little small with no drawer space , but did have a closet and a very nice view of the Royal Mews out their window). Our room was very spacious with plenty of storage space. The location of the hotel was excellent (across the street from Buckingham Palace, just a walk away from Westminster Abbey and The London Eye as well as the Underground/ Subway). We will definitely recommend the hotel to others and hope to be back ourselves one day!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emiwg424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2010

The Rubens is not a glitzy, modern hotel but a tasteful, comfortable option in a great location. The carvery is great for an early meal and the full breakfast exceeded expectation. The deals being offered for a 2 night stay are excellent value. The personal attention and service more than satisfied us and really made our stay in London pleasant and carefree. Personal requests were more than adequately attended to and helpful advice was always available. In a big city like London some noise (eg sirens) is probably unavoidable but the location, being so close to Victoria station and with the ease of hailing a cab is a big advantage.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We stayed for three nights in a classic double room. The room, the staff, the food, the location were all beyond our expectations (which were high because of the Tripadvisor reviews). We are so looking forward to returning to London and the Rubens. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandMod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

An excellent hotel in an excellent location. The room was glorious. Staff in all areas were
extremely helpful and friendly. The meals were of high standard. A great location for a stay in London

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#34 of 1,067 in London
777 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#195 of 1,067 in London
3,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,067 in London
3,134 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Property: The Rubens at the Palace
Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in London
#40 Green Hotel in London
#64 Romantic Hotel in London
#69 Luxury Hotel in London
#106 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing