We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Rubens at the Palace
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel 41(London)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Goring(London)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,486)
Filter reviews
4,486 results
Traveller rating
3,094
1,010
244
101
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,094
1,010
244
101
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuckingham palacevictoria stationlibrary restaurantafternoon teaold masterscavalry barred carnationjames parkking roomfull english breakfastconcierge deskwonderful hotellovely roomgreen parktrafalgar squarebig benlocation was perfect
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,462 - 3,467 of 4,486 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2010

We stayed here in the King's suite with a family including 3 young children (3 years and younger). We found this comfortable for our needs, and the room was well cleaned with good amenities. The best part about the hotel was the service. The staff are among the best I have seen, having stayed at a number of 5-star hotels. They are personable and attentive, and great with children. We even had a X'mas tree put up with gifts for us and the kids without even expecting it. We would strongly recommend this hotel for visitors to London, especially with young children. PS - the free high-speed internet is a nice bonus.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viability
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2010

My wife and I just completed at five-night stay at the Rubens in a "king" room at an average price of $272 per night. If there were more granularity to the ratings scale, I would give the hotel a 3.5. Four stars is definitely pushing the reality. While there was much to like about the hotel--e.g., congenial staff, nice common areas--the room itself was cramped and barely adequate for a multi-night stay. The king size bed took up almost all the space in the room. There was not nearly enough room for multiple suitcases or places to put the clothing that comes with extended stays. The bathroom had a bathtub/shower that had only a half-width plexiglass shield. Every time we took a shower, water sprayed everywhere, and got lots of things wet that should have been out of harm's way. I understand that we Americans are spoiled by usually generous sized rooms for the dollar in most hotels and that this is not the European/UK norm. Still, I do not find the Rubens to be a great value proposition. We would like to return to London in the future, but will seek alternate accommodations when we do.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2010

Stayed 1 night in an executive suite with our 5 year old.

Reception staff and Concierge were so helpful and friendly, they made us feel very welcome.

The room was lovely. Nicely furnished, spacious, clean, warm and quiet.

Room service was ordered and was spot on.

Breakfast in the restaurant was excellent, and the service equally so.

We could not ask for more.

We will stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jghomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

What makes this hotel great is the staff. Everyone we met here was freindly and seemed to care that we had a good stay. Breakfast was the best choice and good quality. Rooms were typical London size but clean and comfortable. We had a few drinks in the bar and this was fun and again great staff, Overall a great weekend in London shopping and sightseeing with a great hotel. Listen to the Concierge if you want info about local restaurants or local info. Will definitely be back to the rubens.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter51964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

This hotel is in a great location within walking distance Buckingham Palace and of many sites. Hyde Park was hosting a German like Christmas Festival within a few blocks. The service at the hotel is excellent. None better. Each employee is highly focused on the comfort and satisfaction of their guests. Polite and helpful. Food was delicious both for breakfast and dinner. Room spacious with A ++ comfort . Very welcoming place to come back to after a busy day out.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanny1Lorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews