We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like traditional, you'll love it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
Ranked #74 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“If you like traditional, you'll love it.”
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Very good hotel indeed in excellent location just 3mins walk from Victoria train station. Helpful, friendly, unpretentious staff. Superior double room (239) good size, but cluttered with unnecessary bulky furniture. Also decor a bit too pink. Wonderfully huge kingsize bed with billowy duvet and 6 feather pillows. Toilet lit by blue lights during the night so no fumbling around in the dark, stroking the walls trying to find light switches - stayed in numerous hotels throughout the world and this is the first time I've seen this. Very clever. Library restaurant better than expected - far more informal and relaxed than it looked - with good food and good attentive service. Corridors, lifts, etc., slightly shabby, hence the 4 star instead of 5 star rating. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casojano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,795
    941
    230
    95
    34
See reviews for
904
1,880
185
392
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (875)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

having travelled to many destinations this has to be thee most welcoming hotel by far,you are treated as an individual with respect and kindness by every member of staff ,nothing is too much trouble,food cooked and presented well, room spacious quiet and clean.The Hotel Manager should be very proud of his most loyal and dedicated team .If you are looking for something a little spacial it hs to be "The Reubans Hotel"

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue_withers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

The hotel is on a very busy road, so unloading the car wasn't easy, but the concierge suggested we parked round the corner for free during the weekend- great advice.Our first bedroom was a bit noisy, due to the air con unit outside, but we were moved to a lovely 'royal'room very quickly. The reception staff & bar staff were very attentive.The bar food was really good, and there was a pianist playing in the bar in the evening - which was very pleasing !
The hotel is very handy for Victoria stations, and within 15 mins walk of Harrods.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suziejellybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Fantastic service throughout - all the staff were really friendly and keen to help. Executive suite spacious enough for three teenagers, and rooms lovely and quiet. Perfect location for seeing the sights and the West End. Great breakfast and a thoroughly positive experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dig32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Rubens for New Years Eve this year and it was absolutely faultless. All of the staff we fantastic and so helpful and friendly. It was my boyfriend's 21st birthday on New Years Day and everyone made it so special. We didn't have to even touch of bottle of wine at the meal as the waitress or waiter was always on guard to make sure we had everything we needed without being invasive. The most perfect evening in every way...
Beautiful room, lovely location, fantastic, friendly staff and all in all a 10/10 experience.
A huge thank-you to Lauren Hargrove who was very helpful and to all those that we met.
I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone!! THANK-YOU!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahsussex90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

We stayed at the Rubens to celebrate my wife's birthday between Christmas and New Year. Having arrived early we checked in and left the bags with the concierge, and took a short walk to Harrods. The hotel is a few minutes walk away from the front of Buckingham Palace, and within easy walking distance of Hyde Park, Knightsbridge and Big Ben. We returned to the hotel in the afternoon. Having been guaranteed a front facing Executive King room I was disappointed to find that we'd been allocated a side room, but this was quickly rectified with an upgrade to an Executive Suite - which made the stay even more special. The room had opening sash windows as well as double glazing and aircon, making it easy to control the temperature. Unlike many hotels, the Rubens is full of character in all its rooms and guest areas - the complete opposite of bland modern business hotels. And the staff are incredibly friendly. The only downside was breakfast - not the food, but the serving staff were a bit slow with the tea, coffee and toast. But as with everything else, the staff were very friendly and apologetic, and as we weren't in any rush it wasn't a problem for us. We checked out the following morning, and as we had all day in London we left our bags with the concierge until the evening to collect them. Overall I think this is an excellent place to stay if you want to be close to all the sights and have a base that has character and staff that really care about your stay - it all contributed to a memorable couple of days in London.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_wing_commander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

One of the reasons I enjoyed my stay here was not only the quaint room but also the wonderful staff. From the moment we arrived until the help we received at the end when we realized my mom had left her purse at a local pub the night before...the staff went all out. The concierge desk staff and front desk staff were far superior than most. Thanks again to the conceirge staff for all the extra help. Also loved the tea room where you could dine, drink and watch the road out front...very nice indeed. Although rooms can be pricey at certain times of the year, we were able to obtain a great rate in May when we were there. They also have rooms with twin beds which is what my mom and I needed. The room was small (as expected) but were charming and lovely. The room also had a double set of windows to help keep out the street noise. Our room was on the rear side of the hotel. It's very convient to Victoria station.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#34 of 1,067 in London
777 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#194 of 1,067 in London
3,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,067 in London
3,134 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Property: The Rubens at the Palace
Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in London
#40 Green Hotel in London
#64 Romantic Hotel in London
#69 Luxury Hotel in London
#106 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing