We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable.”
Review of Melia White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia White House
Ranked #289 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
546 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,276 helpful votes
“Comfortable.”
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We had previous used this Hotel some years ago,if I recall there was some exam stress at home and a couple of days away were the prefect antidote. As we are infrequent visitors to London, it was a simple decision to select a hotel we had used previously. Located a couple of minutes walk from Euston Road and Great Portland Street tube station, it a reasonable choice to access London's transport network.

We spent two night here in a level room, there was a lounge for "level" guests where breakfast, refreshments and early evening drinks could be taken. All of which were included in the room rate. I do concur with others reviewers, there was an element of crocodile service, it was a tad snappy mostly during breakfast. Otherwise we never really experienced any issues.

The lift system did take some getting used to, the look of bemusement on some customer's faces did bring a wrye smile, I did get frustrated myself!

The room was comfortable and well appointed with a King sized bed, I can't get exicted about hotel rooms, as the room was on a higher floor, there was a decent view of the London skyline.

We did use the restaurant during our stay,I'll review seperately, there was also a bar with a pianist which offered a table drinks service and a service charge. I really get the hump when drinks cost the earth and they have the nerve to charge for service, rant over. I could vote with my feet.

We enjoyed a pleasant stay, with only minor niggles and as we have stayed here a couple of times,albeit some years apart. The White House is a comfortable choice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mobile_mackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ypp, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear mobile_mackem,

Thank you so much for your kind comments and for choosing the Melia White House once again whilst in London.

We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed most of the part of your stay and I am sorry that your experience at the Level during breakfast time was not to your entire satisfaction. Kindly note that gratuities are always discretionary and they can be removed immediately if guests wish so.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back on many future occasions.

With our best wishes

Yiorgos P Peroutseas
Guest Experience Manager - Melia White House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,827
    2,448
    858
    377
    227
See reviews for
1,530
2,332
298
1,582
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (713)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We were given a superior double room which had a very nice decor. From the exterior of the hotel you would not believe it could be so nice inside. The staff were very friendly and dealt with our requests quickly and smoothly.

On a lighter note, they state the rooms are sound proof which is true from 'room to room' but you may hear noises of the night as you walk through the corridors!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrRoomda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ypp, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Dear Jason K,

We read with pleasure your most kind comments about the Melia White House and especially those in relation to our staff.

Thank you so much for choosing us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back on many future occasions.

With best wishes
Yiorgos Peroutseas
Guest Experience Manager - Melia White House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

There's nothing necessarily bad about this place, there's just nothing good either. Service was ok. Room was small and dark and not terribly inviting. It was clean and convenient and a decent price.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ypp, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Dear Jack_Shaw,

Thank you for choosing the Melia White House for your recent stay in London.

We endeavour to provide excellent service to all of our guests and on consistent basis and it seems that we failed to do so on this occasion.

Kindly let us know when you will be staying next with us and we will do our utmost to ensure that your experience will be a memorable one.

Until then please accept our best wishes

Yiorgos Peroutseas
Guest Experience Manager - Melia White House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sardinia, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

This is my favorite hotel in London and going back to it it's a safe bet for a successful 4 days city break. Very friendly staff and clean rooms,although they're starting to look pretty tired. We usually stay in their superior rooms but this time had to settle for a deluxe one. Still a very good room but a bit cramped. You will get a king size bed anyway,that's what most important for me. One negative note : there is no WIFI in the room,not even for a fee.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vegasvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ypp, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Dear Vegasvet,

Thank you so much for your most kind comments and for the continuous preference you are showing at the Melia White House.

I am pleased to inform you that we have started working on installing wifi through out the hotel and our rooms will have this service available (expected completion by May 2012).

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on many future occasions.

With best wishes
Yiorgos Peroutseas
Guest Experience Manager - Melia White House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Don´t go this hotel: nice entrance and marbles but the rooms are tiny with a tasteless decoration and very uncomortable cheap beds

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaesarSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ypp, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Dear CaesarSpain,

Thank you for choosing the Melia White House for your recent stay and for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor.

I am awfully sorry to see that you found our rooms to be very small and that the decoration was not to your personal taste.

May I suggest on future occasions to opt for our Superior room type categories that would much likely suit your personal needs.

I am pleased to share with you that we are in process of refurbishing our rooms. The process is expected to be completed by next summer and I hope that you will find the new look of our rooms to your satisfaction.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Yiorgos Peroutseas
Guest Experience Manager - Melia White House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Nice hotel and good location (near tube station and walking distance to shopping streets). Good service. Barmusik much too loud for any conversation. The room on the 8th floor was not so big and there were two seats and a small table which made it almost impossible to move around. In the bathroom the toilet had no light. Overall the people working there made the difference.

Room Tip: rooms going to the back of the hotel (they are much more quiet)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josef V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ypp, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Dear Josef V,

Thank you so much for your kind comments especially those with regards to our staff.

Your observations with regards to the music and your room layout have been taken into consideration and we are looking into them. I apologise for the inconvenience in relation to the bathroom lighting.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With best wishes
Yiorgos Peroutseas
Guest Experience Manager - Melia White House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2011

This is ok for a one night stay, but would not reccomend for longer periods in a classic room, especially if you have lots of luggage and or babies/children. The spacious lobby and hallways are misleading as the rooms themselves are rather small and cramped. This is more 3* than 4*. We bought it as a secret hotel, so were relieved that we did not pay the full price for the rooms.The curtains in our room did not go across the windows, so the light was a problem. The bathroom was dusty and there were coffee marks on the wall next to the bed. The rooms need a bit of tlc and a more thorough rather than superficial clean. That said, the room was very quiet considering it was London and we had an wonderful meal in the restaurant, L'Albufeira; top notch food, excellent service and fantastic Iranian (singing in Spanish) guitarist. Location was also good, very near Great Portland St/Regents Park metros.

Room Tip: Try and upgrade if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ypp, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Dear Trish083,

Thank you so much for your kind comments with regards to our Albufera restaurant. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your dining experience.

On the other hand I was concerned to read your comments with regards to the cleanliness of your room. Please rest assured that your comments have been taken into consideration and we will do our utmost to ensure that high levels of cleanliness are maintained through out the hotel.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future. In the meantime i look forward to receiving your reply to my message via tripadvisor.

Best regards
Yiorgos Peroutseas
Guest Experience Manager - Melia White House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Level at Melia White House
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#304 of 1,069 in London
3,096 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia White House

Property: Melia White House
Address: Albany Street, London NW1 3UP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Romantic Hotel in London
#211 Luxury Hotel in London
#216 Business Hotel in London
#225 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia White House 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia White House hotel was built in 1936 and was originally launched as The White House luxury apartments. The hotel’s building still preserves its architectural value as a prime example of art décor style in late 1930s. After a recent refurbishment, guests can now have a more pleasant and unique experience when sating in London. This 4-star deluxe hotel includes 581 rooms, 112 apartments, 9 meeting rooms, 2 restaurants and a bar including a terrace, fitness centre and an executive lounge. The hotel’s unique location, award winning food offering and true passion for service will make of your stay in London a pleasant and unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Melia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Melia White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia White Hotel
Sol Melia London
Melia White House London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing