We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good & Bad”
Review of Melia White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia White House
Ranked #292 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good & Bad”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I cant really make up my mind about the White house,The room wasn't worth £700 for the 3 night's that's for sure, we paid for an upgrade goodness knows what our first room looked like! because our's was very small clean but worn! The bed was so hard i didn't sleep at all on the first night however after i complained they did add a mattress topper which helped, and if you ever go PLEASE take a hairdryer! They have a yellow box on the bathroom wall that was totally rubbish, I've traveled all over the world and have never seen anything so antiquated, But once again i complained & they got me for the duration of my stay, The desk staff were very helpful & polite cant say the same for the staff at breakfast! or the food, Sadly one of the worst breakfasts I've ever had, the food was of poor quality and whoever is cooking it wants sacking, the bacon was like shoe leather as were the eggs! most of it was cold,etc,etc. and we found not all of the staff but a lot of then rude and unhelpful!

It was a good location regarding noise though for a city hotel there was very little traffic noise, however the walls are very thin we could almost hear every word next door said, again we were lucky because we only had neighbours for the 1st night,

It's a good 15min walk from the hotel to Oxford st mind you it's also right across the rd from portland underground.

I booked this hotel due to good reviews but we wouldn't stay there again, more because it wasn't worth the money though,

Room Tip: I asked for a quite room and i got it, i also ask for the top floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
As our clients’ satisfaction is extremely important for the entire team, we take good note of all of your comments in order to improve our service, in particular our breakfast both in terms of food and service.
We hope to welcome you again soon in order to satisfy all your requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,859
    2,468
    863
    384
    230
See reviews for
1,558
2,352
302
1,592
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (720)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Returned to "the white house" on a business trip. Service was excellent. Room was top class.
Location is perfect , next to tube and Regent's Park.

Room Tip: Stay on "The Level"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eam77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I quite often stay here on business and find it really convenient as the office is just a 2 minute walk from this hotel. Although the location of this hotel is convenient for me when working from the London office, I find it's in the middle of nowhere. You either have to walk for 20 minutes to get to a decent restaurant or get the tube. The standard rooms are really quite small and the bathrooms too. The superior rooms are more spacious and I should imagine the deluxe rooms are bigger still. I find the beds are quite comfy, but I like firm mattresses. The pillows could be a bit firmer. I've only ever ordered room service as I usually arrive quite late and I've not been that impressed with the food. It's nice, I just expected it to be a bit better for the price you pay. I like to try something different when I stay away from home. The breakfast though is very nice. You have a large selection, full English breakfast, continental, yogurts, fresh fruits etc. I do like having breakfast at this hotel. The hotel has concierge service and they're always more than happy to help you with your bags or calling you a taxi. I try to use the gym if I arrive early enough, which is good enough, not a massive amount of equipment but sufficient. Although this hotel is nice, I probably wouldn't pay to stay here with my own money, not with the prices they charge anyway.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missdee1184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments.
We take good note of all of them in order to improve our service, even though we have to admit your comment about location surprises us especially as that is one of the obvious benefits of the Melia White House, as it is located only 15 minutes from Oxford Circus, right next to Regent’s Park.
We hope you will reconsider the Melia White House for your next stay in London and we look forward to welcoming you again in order to satisfy all your requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I like this hotel it has plenty of varieties of food, drinks & dessert for breakfast. Love the fresh fruits especially & the yummy yogurt. Another special thing of this hotel is the lifts, each one will only stop at the designated floors, where some find them a bizarre, i like it in a way they are efficient & reduce time waiting when there is big group minus the chaos of squeezing.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
572 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The Melia is perfectly located next two two tube stations and the Regent Park - which means you can see some of London's prime real estate while just walking home. Rooms are solid, staff is excellent. There are some strange touch points...they encourage recycling, even in the room but when you have laundry done, the presentation is a good as Harrods or Asprey with tissue and boxing.
Older guests will need to ask for a room with good lighting. The bathrooms can be tricky with lighting.
The STAFF should be awarded everyday. Having stayed several times, including a very early morning when the hotel alarm system went off and we all filed out in order and back in - the STAFF is what makes the nice hotel a wonderful hotel.
Check the rate on their site and any other site you use as their site is often better value.

Room Tip: I don't even know if they have a spa - cannot get the SPA click to go away...apologies to the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stylelust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Having booked a top secret hotel deal through a well known Internet company we were thrilled when we saw the pictures of our hotel online. We were even more impressed when we arrived. The staff at this hotel were extremely welcoming and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel is of a high class standard, the rooms are comfortable and it is conveniently located right near Great Portland Street tube station. We really enjoyed our stay and would most definitely visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galesa7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I stayed here on business over a year ago and I wouldn't use this hotel again.

I was supposed to be in a deluxe room, but due to a computer error I was placed in a standard room, which was inadequate. The bathroom was tiny, the room was noisy due to being near the lifts, the decoration was dated and the room had a strange odour.

A real negative, was the fact that not all staff at the hotel spoke sufficient English to enable me to communicate properly with them.

The bar drinks and food were over priced.

Room Tip: As far away from the lifts as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Queneth_Veneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
We would like to apologise for the computer error that occurred to your booking and that definitely changed your experience with us.
We take good note of your feedback in order to improve our service and the quality of it. Kindly contact directly the Guest Experience Department for your next stay as we look forward to welcoming you again and provide you all the best of our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Level at Melia White House
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#323 of 1,069 in London
3,126 reviews
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia White House

Property: Melia White House
Address: Albany Street, London NW1 3UP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Romantic Hotel in London
#212 Luxury Hotel in London
#216 Business Hotel in London
#225 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia White House 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia White House hotel was built in 1936 and was originally launched as The White House luxury apartments. The hotel’s building still preserves its architectural value as a prime example of art décor style in late 1930s. After a recent refurbishment, guests can now have a more pleasant and unique experience when sating in London. This 4-star deluxe hotel includes 581 rooms, 112 apartments, 9 meeting rooms, 2 restaurants and a bar including a terrace, fitness centre and an executive lounge. The hotel’s unique location, award winning food offering and true passion for service will make of your stay in London a pleasant and unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia White Hotel
Sol Melia London
Melia White House London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing