We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price is very reasonable for overpriced London”
Review of Melia White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia White House
Ranked #298 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Price is very reasonable, central location, clean spacious rooms, good service. Get the "club" rate, free drinks at the lounge, free snacks during the day etc...Good concierge service, very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmitri_NYC_646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,953 - 2,959 of 7,313 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

Lovely hotel, the room was nicely furnished and clean. The Place Restauarnt serves great food and the bar had a very relaxed feel. The only critiscism I have is that the ladies that greet you in the breakfast room are rather surly and unfriendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We've been using this hotel now for about 4 years now and the reason we keep coming back is mainly it's location, We regularly hold meetings at the Royal College of Physicians round the corner in Regent's Park. However, what bugs me every time we book is they manage to cock up the arrangements - so much so that I now go to reception to make sure that all my delegates have been allocated a room!! We like to use The Level because it gives us time to work as a team - 2 or 3 of us usually and you can get a coffee or a drink (after 6pm). The nice thing is the rooms that are allocated to The Level are usually of a good size otherwise you are into a lottery. I once took one of our speakers, who is an eminent Dr, there and he couldn't believe the size of his room - resembled a broom cupboard at best - to date he's never let me forget it. This last time we stayed one of our guests got her handbag stolen from the bar - she had put it down by the side of her chair and some guy picked it up and off he went. What a kerfuffle then ensued to try and sort it out - I was searching bins at the rear of the hotel for hours following the incident. We've booked again to go this next week and already the confirmations have come through with the wrong numbers on!!! God how difficult can it be - it is their job afterall. Why do we keep doing it - simply because we have to walk further and we like using The Level.

Room Tip: If you can afford to chose The Level otherwise it's a lottery and you too could get the broom cu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Siobhan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

The hotel is well located and I have used it several times. The hotel is clean and well run but has a couple of weaknesses. The rooms are very small and compact. The breakfast is always slow - I have always had to stand in line for a few minutes on each of my visits and the waitress service (for coffee) is slow.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank md1re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Thank you so much for choosing the Melia White House during your most recent visit to London and for taking the time to share your experience.
We are delighted to see that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us ,please regarding the service charge allow us to confirm that is not included in the prices but of course is completely optional.
Thank you once again for your kind comments and I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Meliá White House on many future occasions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed at the Melia White House for three nights 16 - 19th October and had a fantastic break. We originally had a reservation for the new ME Hotel in London but due to a delay in the opening date we were switched to the White House. Hotel is in an excellent location for tube stations and is a short walk to Oxford Circus. Don't leave without visiting Regents Park which is a two minute walk from the hotel. What a stunning park! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne829_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Firs time in London would like to say the location of this hotel is excellent t all attractions and the hotel staff were excellent, received a lovely gift on arrival as we were celebrating our anniversary.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We found this hotel very covenient and friendly. The lobby had a wow factor that the hotel website did'nt show to its fullest. The rooms too were very clean and modern, particularily the bathrooms. We will be back.

Room Tip: 5th Floor was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turleyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Level at Melia White House
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue
South Kensington
NH London Kensington
NH London Kensington
#267 of 1,081 in London
1,673 reviews
Fitzrovia
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
#535 of 1,081 in London
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia White House

Address: Albany Street, London NW1 3UP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#193 Romantic Hotel in London
#215 Business Hotel in London
#219 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £103 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia White House 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia White House hotel was built in 1936 and was originally launched as The White House luxury apartments. The hotel’s building still preserves its architectural value as a prime example of art décor style in late 1930s. After a recent refurbishment, guests can now have a more pleasant and unique experience when sating in London. This 4-star deluxe hotel includes 581 rooms, 112 apartments, 9 meeting rooms, 2 restaurants and a bar including a terrace, fitness centre and an executive lounge. The hotel’s unique location, award winning food offering and true passion for service will make of your stay in London a pleasant and unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Melia White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia White Hotel
Sol Melia London
Melia White House London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing