We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service, great location”
Review of Melia White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia White House
Ranked #294 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 4 November 2012

really enjoyed our family stay. 2 adults and 2 kids.
staff extremely pleasant and helpful.
room spotless and a good size.
great location - 2 minutes to tube or buses. easy walking distance of regents park, madame tussauds and baker st.
would definitely return

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

We were delighted to see that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

please allow us to thank you specially for you kind comments regarding our staff,which we proudly consider key seeking for the excellence.
Thank you once again for the preference you are showing to the Melia White House and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Please feel free to visit us in Melia.com

With warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,003)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,806 - 2,812 of 7,003 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2012

Booked the Melia White House through LastMinute.com at a good price and paid extra to upgrade to a superior room . The room, and indeed the whole hotel, was immaculately clean and service by all the staff was excellent but as with most things, were there are positives there are also negatives. Check in time is 3pm and having arrived around 1pm on Friday it was a little irratating to have to wait til 3 to get into the room, especially as the person marked our card as "priority" to get the room done more quickly - pointless in the end as we got in no earlier. On the flip side, the later check in meant a later check out time of 12 noon which meant a relaxing Sunday morning and a bit of a lie in before we left. There was however, one thing that really annoyed me, having returned to the room an the Saturday evening there was a letter waiting suggesting we had been smoking in the room (502) and if it happened again we could be charged £89. This really angered me as neither my wife or I can stand smoking and consider it the most disgusting habit anyone can have so I went to speak to the Duty Manager, Mercedes, to ask on what grounds this allegation had been made. I was advised it was probably an error and meant for another room which was obviously incorrect as it was addressed to me, but she would look into it and I asked that we be advised in the morning of the outcome. Needless to say, there was no message or info at check-in so we left feeling angered and disappointed despite all the other positive attributes of this hotel. I have rated the service highly still, despite this incident, as I like the idea of challenging people who do smoke in non-smoking rooms, just feel personally aggrieved that in our case they got it wrong. I have marked the value for money down primarily because it cost over £10 for a Margarita in the bar yet the price of a pint was ok.
2 more moans, no bottled water in the room, and no price list for the mini bar so heaven knows what I spent on a beer from it.

Room Tip: Camden Town Market is in walking distance and well worth a visit but you can also get the C2 bus rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Thank you so much for choosing the Melia White House during your visit to London and for taking the time to share your experience.
Regarding the Smoking incident during your stay, please allow us to express our most apologies for any inconvenience caused due to an unfortunate misunderstanding.
Please kindly note we have a strict non smoking policy in place according to the UK law.
Rest assured that your feedback has been already passed in order to ensure that our high standards are maintained.

We remain at you complete disposal

warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Very nice ambiance and decor, I was very happy with the hotel for the price. Comfortable and usual smallish room; very clean and slightly out-dated. Polite staff. Good location and reasonably close to the underground station and the park. The Spanish restaurant (tapas, etc.) was decent but not particularly to my liking, and the food service staff was a bit... surly. In any case, for the price, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripwarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

First of all thank you for your great feed back, we are glad to see that you had a pleasant stay at the melia White House.
we rae glad to receive you for your kind comments about our staff, that we consider the key for the quality of service .
We will be delighted to welcome you back to the Meliá White House on many future occasions.
Please feel free to check our best available rates in Melia.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

The foyer and corridors of this hotel are fantastic; the room was also very nice - until we had gone to bed and the people in the room next door got in. We could hear every single word they said - it was as if the walls were paper. Luckily they were speaking a different language so we didn't know what they were saying - as we couldn't help hearing everything; and luckily they went to bed fairly soon after us - however this could be a real problem. If two people just having a conversation can be heard so clearly in the next room, I'm glad they didn't have the telly on late at night! And am glad they went straight to sleep!! We also didn't find the location of this hotel very convenient, so probably wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Thank you so much for choosing the Melia White House during your most recent visit to London and for taking the time to share your feedback.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused regarding the noise perceived from your room,please allow us to mention that the Melia White House Hotel is a Historic Building protected by Local authorities, therefore we have some design restrictions by law.
Rest assured that your feedback has been already passed to maintain our higuest standards of service.

we remain at your complete disposal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I have to admit I'm not a fan of big hotels. As far as this one goes, it needs a bit of a re-think. The rooms are slightly musty, and out-dated. Breakfast is jam packed (and not awesome). There is usually a good five minute queue before you can sit down.

Service is very good, but the rooms are small. Upgrading to The Level means you get good facilities and a bigger room - but it does come at a price.

The location, however, is very good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GemGib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Thank you for sharing your observations in this community.Furthermore thank you for your kind comments about our staff that we perceive our staff to be our most important asset.
We prodly consider ''the Level ''as an excellent choice to enjoy our most exclusive services.

Please allow me to confirm that your feedback about the comfort of the rooms has been shared with the Hotel Management as we are taking into consideration all of our guest’s observations for the future planned refurbishment.
we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Great hotel, lovely room and reception areas, good breakfast and helpful staff. Being so close to 2 underground stations made travelling really easy. All in all a great stay for a weekend in London but just be warned about room 172- very good decor and huge comfy bed, just a shame about the continual banging, grating and sliding door noises coming from the basement. Was it a conveyer feeding a waste incinerator? When we told reception they happily offered us another room higher up, but as we only had 1 more night we just used earplugs. Shame as otherwise we`d have made it excellent.

Room Tip: Higher rooms would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheilaNewark_Notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

While our daughter studied in London last year we stayed a total of 4 times at the White House in London. Every time we had a better time than the one before. Price was very reasonable considering the location and services. The Hotel is in a prime location, across the street from the tube and close to several great tuorist attractions. The hotel is elegant and understated. The rooms can vary from small to larger depending on your choice. All are the rooms have very comfortable beds are clean and with all the amenities necessary for a comfortable stay. The staff was extraordinarily attentive from the cleaning staff, to front desk and doorman. Wonderful concierge service. The restaurant has excellent Spanish cuisine, had some of the best paella we have had since our last visit to Spain. The Weekend Brunch is of great variety and well worth the price. We will stay at the Mellia White House anytime we visit London.

Room Tip: The rooms close to the elevators can be a bit noisy at night during the weekend stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucyjim87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Thank you so much for choosing the Melia White House,we really appreciate your kind comments on tripadvisor specially regarding our staff.
We were delighted to see that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you once again for the preference you are showing to the Melia White House and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

With warm regards

Please find our best available rates in Melia.com ,we remain at your complete disposal.


.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Level at Melia White House
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#338 of 1,076 in London
3,192 reviews
Fitzrovia
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
#559 of 1,076 in London
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia White House

Address: Albany Street, London NW1 3UP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Romantic Hotel in London
#211 Luxury Hotel in London
#216 Business Hotel in London
#225 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £113 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia White House 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia White House hotel was built in 1936 and was originally launched as The White House luxury apartments. The hotel’s building still preserves its architectural value as a prime example of art décor style in late 1930s. After a recent refurbishment, guests can now have a more pleasant and unique experience when sating in London. This 4-star deluxe hotel includes 581 rooms, 112 apartments, 9 meeting rooms, 2 restaurants and a bar including a terrace, fitness centre and an executive lounge. The hotel’s unique location, award winning food offering and true passion for service will make of your stay in London a pleasant and unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia White Hotel
Sol Melia London
Melia White House London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing