We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average uf travelling on expenses, for a leisure stay id go elsewhere”
Review of Melia White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia White House
Ranked #293 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I stay here 3-4 a year and everytime im quite dissappointed. The classic rooms are very very small. They have a tiny double bed. I doubt 2 people would get in it. Im 6'2 and find the bed uncomfortably short. Rooms are a little shabby and could so with a refurb.

I was pleased this time to find that the hotel has installed wifi which was free to use. The downside is that on the 2nd floor wifi speeds are very very slow.

I ordered room service evening meal - mozzorella sticks in breadcrumbs which were cold when they arrived and were not covered. The pizza was fine but nothing special. The strawberry shortbread was horrible, filled with whipped cream from a can.

I had ordered breakfast to my room, waited some time so decided to have a shower. It was bad luck that breakfast arrived when i was in the bathroom and didnt hear the door but the member of staff didnt even leave a note to say he had tried so it ended up making me late.

On the plus side the hotel is always clean and its in a good location.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimbo1683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Thank you for sharing your observation in this community first of all I am sorry to see that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction .
With regards to the size of the room, this is due to design restrictions however we are taking into consideration all of our guests observations for the future planned refurbishment. May I suggest our Superior rooms for your future reservations via your agency, as they can better meet your needs.
We remain at your complete disposal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,077)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,841 - 2,847 of 7,079 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed a few nights at the Melia White House in London. Overall a ok experience, but nothing to get excited. First I was given a room that smelled heavily of smoke. No problem to get another room. The rooms are clean, but very small. Have everything you need. Staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast ok, again just average. Overall the price-quality relation is sufficient. Location is pretty good, however, if you want to be in walking distance to the main attractions it's quite a distance.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam0070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience,furthermore I would like to thank you for your most kind comments regarding our staff, which we proudly consider to be our most important asset.
I would like to assure you that we have shared all the comments with the respective Head of Departments and we will follow up closely to ensure that these will be addressed.

Thank you once again for your email and I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Meliá White House on many future occasions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The Spanish company parentage is apparent in the room decor with antique-style gilding and touches of gold and black - a nice change from staying in a neutral-coloured box! The room was small but spotlessly clean and well thought out. We paid a reasonable price (through Lastminute.com) for an upmarket hotel which was impressive from the moment we stepped through the door. We didn't eat there and had only one (expensive!) drink in the bar but the ambience was very pleasant. Seeing the queues to be seated for breakfast as we were going out on Saturday morning made us pleased that we had decided to opt out (so many places to choose from in town)!

Our bathroom windows were not coping well with all the steam and condensation they must receive daily to their frames but I would have trouble finding any other criticism of the room.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M0llyGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

First of all thank you for providing your feedback.
We sincerely appreciate your kind comments about our staff,that we consider as our most valuable asset,and the key factor to achieve the excellenceI remain at your complete disposal.

Thank you once again for your consideration and I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Meliá White House on future occasions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

It is a massive 4 star hotel, well presented, with friendly staff. Double rooms are very spacious and well furnished. The location is its best asset, along with attention to (some) detail: like Sunday times at your door and good team facility in the rooms, extensive multi-lingual TV. Because it is so big, expect queues to check it (check in time is 3 PM), but it's standard now. Also, for some reason, there was only 1 set of towels in a double room, and the windows are not very sound proof, so ask for the back facing rooms if you want to have good rest. Otherwise - it's perfect for a weekend break in the city.

Room Tip: ask for back facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bustraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

really enjoyed our family stay. 2 adults and 2 kids.
staff extremely pleasant and helpful.
room spotless and a good size.
great location - 2 minutes to tube or buses. easy walking distance of regents park, madame tussauds and baker st.
would definitely return

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

We were delighted to see that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

please allow us to thank you specially for you kind comments regarding our staff,which we proudly consider key seeking for the excellence.
Thank you once again for the preference you are showing to the Melia White House and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Please feel free to visit us in Melia.com

With warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Booked the Melia White House through LastMinute.com at a good price and paid extra to upgrade to a superior room . The room, and indeed the whole hotel, was immaculately clean and service by all the staff was excellent but as with most things, were there are positives there are also negatives. Check in time is 3pm and having arrived around 1pm on Friday it was a little irratating to have to wait til 3 to get into the room, especially as the person marked our card as "priority" to get the room done more quickly - pointless in the end as we got in no earlier. On the flip side, the later check in meant a later check out time of 12 noon which meant a relaxing Sunday morning and a bit of a lie in before we left. There was however, one thing that really annoyed me, having returned to the room an the Saturday evening there was a letter waiting suggesting we had been smoking in the room (502) and if it happened again we could be charged £89. This really angered me as neither my wife or I can stand smoking and consider it the most disgusting habit anyone can have so I went to speak to the Duty Manager, Mercedes, to ask on what grounds this allegation had been made. I was advised it was probably an error and meant for another room which was obviously incorrect as it was addressed to me, but she would look into it and I asked that we be advised in the morning of the outcome. Needless to say, there was no message or info at check-in so we left feeling angered and disappointed despite all the other positive attributes of this hotel. I have rated the service highly still, despite this incident, as I like the idea of challenging people who do smoke in non-smoking rooms, just feel personally aggrieved that in our case they got it wrong. I have marked the value for money down primarily because it cost over £10 for a Margarita in the bar yet the price of a pint was ok.
2 more moans, no bottled water in the room, and no price list for the mini bar so heaven knows what I spent on a beer from it.

Room Tip: Camden Town Market is in walking distance and well worth a visit but you can also get the C2 bus rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Thank you so much for choosing the Melia White House during your visit to London and for taking the time to share your experience.
Regarding the Smoking incident during your stay, please allow us to express our most apologies for any inconvenience caused due to an unfortunate misunderstanding.
Please kindly note we have a strict non smoking policy in place according to the UK law.
Rest assured that your feedback has been already passed in order to ensure that our high standards are maintained.

We remain at you complete disposal

warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Very nice ambiance and decor, I was very happy with the hotel for the price. Comfortable and usual smallish room; very clean and slightly out-dated. Polite staff. Good location and reasonably close to the underground station and the park. The Spanish restaurant (tapas, etc.) was decent but not particularly to my liking, and the food service staff was a bit... surly. In any case, for the price, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripwarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

First of all thank you for your great feed back, we are glad to see that you had a pleasant stay at the melia White House.
we rae glad to receive you for your kind comments about our staff, that we consider the key for the quality of service .
We will be delighted to welcome you back to the Meliá White House on many future occasions.
Please feel free to check our best available rates in Melia.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Level at Melia White House
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
#298 of 1,077 in London
1,357 reviews
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia White House

Address: Albany Street, London NW1 3UP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Romantic Hotel in London
#213 Luxury Hotel in London
#216 Business Hotel in London
#225 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £109 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia White House 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia White House hotel was built in 1936 and was originally launched as The White House luxury apartments. The hotel’s building still preserves its architectural value as a prime example of art décor style in late 1930s. After a recent refurbishment, guests can now have a more pleasant and unique experience when sating in London. This 4-star deluxe hotel includes 581 rooms, 112 apartments, 9 meeting rooms, 2 restaurants and a bar including a terrace, fitness centre and an executive lounge. The hotel’s unique location, award winning food offering and true passion for service will make of your stay in London a pleasant and unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia White Hotel
Sol Melia London
Melia White House London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing