We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still impressive”
Review of Melia White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia White House
Ranked #292 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Still impressive”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Our second review of this splendid hotel. The staff are, without exception - so no point in naming names (Lilla, Carlos...), charming, friendly, professional and efficient. This is no mean combination. Location and convenience for public transport speak for themselves but what you also get here is the ability to relax in comfort.

We stayed in an Executive Level room, so had the benefit of the Level Lounge. While the range of snacks and tapas offered seems to have diminished slightly in twelve months, the quality remains good and the breakfast spread is excellent- huge but not overwhelming.

Good - and quiet - rooms, very comfy beds, very good food and service in the restaurants: it is all very clearly overseen by a management which demands attention to detail (one manager was superb at securing a simple late evening snack for us and we saw him a couple of days later doing what was clearly a mid-morning patrol to check on detail. All the staff we spoke to, at whatever level, seemed genuinely proud and happy to work there and felt well cared-for: this explains in no small measure the quality of the service they pass on.

And we were stupid enough to leave something in our room which we only realised on getting back home. A quick phone call and problem solved: they even have an efficient system for dealing with inefficient guests.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spaddockuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear spaddockuk,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with all Tripadvisor users!

It is great for us to see that your stay with us was a pleasant one and the hotel facilities, our location as well as the staff services exceed your expectations. We are proud to receive such positive comments and particularly for our staff who we consider as our most important asset.

For your next stay with us, we recommend you to visit L’Albufera restaurant, an excellent and very well recognized Spanish restaurant (AA Rosette awarded).

We are looking forward to welcome you back at Melia White House soon!
Like our Facebook page at Melia White House for our latest updates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,862
    2,470
    863
    384
    231
See reviews for
1,562
2,353
302
1,592
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Natanya
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We have been 3 times already and we love it! The location is excellent near the underground station. There are many restaurants nearby and a small supermarket.
The rooms where very clean and tidy.
We found the bathroom very elegant, but the bath was very high from the floor, and we found it a little bit difficult to get inside and out of the bath.
At our arrival, after a night of traveling, it took about 30 minutes until they could get us in at hotel reception.

Room Tip: We didn't find it noisy, but I think that the higher the room is, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iritma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Iritma,

Many thanks for taking the time to post such a detailed review.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as the room, the location as well as the staff services were to your satisfaction.

We invite you for your next stay with us to try our Executive Level room category which is more spacious and comfortable, with complimentary access to our executive Level Lounge for a more exclusive experience.

As we strive to constantly provide a high level of service, we are always keen to hear about your experience.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at Melia White House! Please visit our website www.melia.com for special rates and our latest promotions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma, italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Melia White House is just 15 minutes walking from Oxford Street. Since the arrival we received a warm welcome. The staff let us felt really "at home". Amazing breakfast with a wide range of products. If you can stay at level you will access to lounge and benefit of a all day free drinking service, newspapers, books. Hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubyRoma_italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear rubyRoma_italy,

We are sincerely glad to see how happy you have been with us.

It is true that we have the chance to be located in central of London and we are delighted to see that in addition to that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are proud to receive such a good feedback for our staff as we consider them as one of our strongest points.

On your next stay with us, don’t miss to try L’Albufera restaurant, an excellent and very well recognised Spanish restaurant (AA Rosette awarded).

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon at Melia White House! Like our page on Facebook at Melia White House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This hotel is very spanish. The reception staff are mainly from Spain and many of the guests are from Spain and Italy. I've stayed here about 10 times this year with work. It's the second hotel my organisation uses. It's friendly and the staff try very hard to please. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Biggest issue for me is that the place looks a little dated. Of course that's a personal taste matter and you may love it. As it's only visual it's not a big concern. The breakfast starts earlier than some hotels and is very efficient. There is a good choice although it's a bit manic at busy times. I'm usually at breakfast early but once you get to 815am onwards it can all be very busy and not at all relaxed!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FortyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear FortyEngland,

Thank you for sharing your experience with all tripadvisor users.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as the room, the location as well as the staff were to your satisfaction.

We recommend you for your next stay with us to try our Executive Level room category with access to our executive lounge for a more exclusive experience.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at Melia White House! Please visit our website www.melia.com for special rates and our latest promotions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times - always good service - excellent bar area - first class staff. Melia hotels globally tend never to disappoint. This hotel even smells nice !! Great location. If I had to level any criticism I would say that the rooms overlooking the front of the hotel are a little noisy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank MilesCBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor!

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us especially for the quality of our staff and services. We are also glad that you appreciated our central location as it is one of our strongest points.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Visit our website melia.com for the best available rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I have stayed at the Melia several times over the past two years, but felt that on my most recent visit they had become complacent and standards were lower.

Positives: a great location within easy walking distance of Euston, Oxford Street etc; welcoming reception staff; cooked to order omelettes at breakfast

Negatives: I was put in a twin room with an extremely small bathroom, chipped bath, inadequate lighting in the bathroom, and a flickering over-bed light. One of the key cards didn't work. At breakfast I asked for tea and a mug containing two tea bags was eventually plonked on the table after I asked again - there didn't seem to be enough staff on duty and although I tried to get the attention of one of them for another (weaker) drink I was unable to do so. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: Doubles are nicer than twins. Some rooms are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor!

We are glad to see that our location as well as our staff services met your expectations on the other hand we regret to read that the room facilities were did not meet your expectations.

London is well known for its elegance and its warm welcoming. Experience it personally at our Longford’s Bar, typical British decoration where you can enjoy a big selection of English teas, or an inviting large choice of spirits and cocktails.

We hope to welcome you again back to Meliá White House soon! Like our page on Facebook at Meliá White House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxbg
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

nicely located, not far off from the busiest shopping district. It is a typical Melia with wide open spaces Lobby, all in classic white,marble and brass.
This is my second stay in this hotel over some 5 years or so, however i found that the rooms are on the "minimum " level. Very small, small beds and a bit boring.
Still it is a nice compromise as it is very clean and provides everything you could wish for a stayover.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okrased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for posting your comments with all Tripadvisor users!

It is true that we have the chance to be located in central of London and we are delighted to see that in addition to that you had an enjoyable stay with us. However we are sorry to see that the room facilities did not meet your expectations. Let us invite you to try one of our Superior category rooms that are more spacious and be to your satisfaction.

We hope to welcome you again back to Meliá White House soon! Like our page on Facebook at Meliá White House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Level at Melia White House
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#323 of 1,069 in London
3,129 reviews
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia White House

Property: Melia White House
Address: Albany Street, London NW1 3UP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Romantic Hotel in London
#212 Luxury Hotel in London
#216 Business Hotel in London
#225 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia White House 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia White House hotel was built in 1936 and was originally launched as The White House luxury apartments. The hotel’s building still preserves its architectural value as a prime example of art décor style in late 1930s. After a recent refurbishment, guests can now have a more pleasant and unique experience when sating in London. This 4-star deluxe hotel includes 581 rooms, 112 apartments, 9 meeting rooms, 2 restaurants and a bar including a terrace, fitness centre and an executive lounge. The hotel’s unique location, award winning food offering and true passion for service will make of your stay in London a pleasant and unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia White Hotel
Sol Melia London
Melia White House London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing