We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cafe Bar for meetings.”
Review of Melia White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia White House
Ranked #294 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Good quite place (most of the time) to hold meetings in Central London. Also could be a great bar to take your parents. Nice and relaxed. Great selection of Spirits. Food is ok, but could be better. Coffee average. Great service from the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear guest
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review about your experience at the Melia White House Hotel.
It is a pleasure to see that the hotel services and bar facilities were to your satisfaction.
On your next stay with us, don’t miss to try L’Albufera restaurant, an excellent and very well recognised Spanish restaurant (AA Rosette awarded). We always looking forward to Welcome you again !
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,077)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,392 - 2,398 of 7,077 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a special night away without the children and having stayed at this hotel before knew that it had something to offer in terms of comfort, atmosphere and value for money. The emphasis being on ‘special’, we knew that this wasn’t going to be cheap, however what we got for slightly over £200 in a central London location was more than we could have imagined.
 
Location; This Hotel is so easy to get to. A short walk across Euston Road from Great Portland Street underground station our journey time from home in Bedford was just over an hour. Being on the Hamersmith & City, Circle and Metropolitan lines it is just minutes from Kings Cross, St Pancras and Paddington main line stations.
 
Our Experience; We booked an executive room package which included a very comfortable en-suite room and entry to the Level Lounge which serves complimentary breakfast, tea, coffee, soft drinks, pastries, hot and cold canapés and best of all an open bar. All in very clean and tidy surroundings with attentive staff. We also enjoyed the convenience of private check in avoiding the queues at the main desk.
 
To conclude, we enjoyed a wonderful Friday evening and lazy Saturday morning in extremely comfortable surroundings looked after by some of the happiest staff we have ever encountered in large London hotels. A lot of the staff have worked at this hotel for many years for different companies and management, so this must speak volumes for the current owners. Nothing was too much trouble. This is also the hotel of choice for a number of visiting football teams who you can sometimes find yourself sharing the Level Lounge with. Whilst we might not choose to always splash out on the extra luxury of this particular break, previous more down to earth stays have been just as enjoyable, just done in a slightly different way and with less of a hangover. If you try it we hope you enjoy your break as much as we did!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear Mick C
Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review of your recent stay at The Melia White House Hotel.
It is totally a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your break with us and that you were able to experience all that we have to offer over your stay. Furthermore we are particularly proud to receive your comments about The Level as we are constantly trying to improve our services. Please allow us to suggest visiting Melia.com for the best offers and discounts. We are looking forward to welcome you back.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I recently stayed with my girlfriend, so we could see London and go shopping. When we arrived the hotel staff were very helpful and the hotel looked impressive. We did not use many of the facilities, but the breakfast was of excellent quality! I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone who needs a good quality hotel with a good location to both the train station and the main tourist areas of London!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Ewan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear Ewan,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind feedback of your recent stay at the Melia White House Hotel. We were delighted to read your comments and your recognition of the hotel location which is just few minutes away from the centre. It s always an honour to read how much you enjoyed the breakfast during your stay and it will be a pleasure to share your kind feedback with the rest of the team in the Melia hotel. We truly hope to welcome you back again at the nearest future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The rooms are just too small, even for UK standards. The noise of a dropped penny can be heard in your room so peaceful sleep might be difficult. Houskeeping was not the best and they were so noisy cleaning the rooms next to us and corridors. Staff at front desk and consierge were friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank la121278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

OK, the rooms are small but hey, who comes to London just to stay in their room? Nice central location adjacent to Reagents park. Close to the tube and rail stations. We were able to negotiate an inclusive breakfast for our week's stay even though it wasn't included with our initial reservation. For a buffet the food was good and expansive. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear Brian,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind feedback of your recent stay at the Melia White House Hotel. We were delighted to read your comments and your recognition of the hotel location which is just few minutes away from the centre.
We truly hope to welcome you back again in the Melia White House at the nearest future.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Hmm…Location is great, but Google maps and iPhone mislead me. It is opposite to the tube station (behind church). Very helpful staff. Room interior could be improved. Tray with glasses and coffee kettle are kept in a wardrobe- so your clothes may touch your mug. You can use other part of wardrobe, but then it will be impossible to get ironing board. Bath gel and shampoo is available in some strange mini dispensers (reusable). I wander in whose bathwater they have been before?
Breakfast was OK, but you need to wait for someone to fill your cup of coffee.
Once again everyone was very helpful in Meia.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigShef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear guest,

Many thanks for your comment and also for the time dedicated to write it.
We appreciate too much your description about the hotel and the positive word regarding the whole staff.
It would be grateful to see you again at the Melia White House.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I had an excellent stay for business.
The room was in very good state and very comfortable.
The location is also perfect and 2 minutes from the tube also if needed.
Good choices for breakfast.
I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diego1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear Marcofuma,

Thank you for posting your comments with all Tripadvisor users!

It is true that we have the chance to be located in central of London and we are delighted to see that in addition to that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
We naturally want to be perfect and very keen when guests leave the hotel with warm memories. We always looking forward to welcome you back again in near future.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Level at Melia White House
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
#299 of 1,077 in London
1,357 reviews
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia White House

Address: Albany Street, London NW1 3UP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Romantic Hotel in London
#215 Luxury Hotel in London
#216 Business Hotel in London
#225 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £104 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia White House 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia White House hotel was built in 1936 and was originally launched as The White House luxury apartments. The hotel’s building still preserves its architectural value as a prime example of art décor style in late 1930s. After a recent refurbishment, guests can now have a more pleasant and unique experience when sating in London. This 4-star deluxe hotel includes 581 rooms, 112 apartments, 9 meeting rooms, 2 restaurants and a bar including a terrace, fitness centre and an executive lounge. The hotel’s unique location, award winning food offering and true passion for service will make of your stay in London a pleasant and unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Melia White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia White Hotel
Sol Melia London
Melia White House London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing