We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place for us in London”
Review of Melia White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia White House
Ranked #292 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 29 April 2014

we have stayed here a few times and ticks all the boxes for us, located 5 minutes from Euston and adjacent to Regents Park, the Spanish influence provides very good service and facilities. We went for a superior room as they are bigger and have bigger beds, well worth the extra.
With an easy walk down to Oxford Street or a bus from outside, the tube just across the road and steady supply of taxis, it's so easy to get wherever you want to go.
Lots of very good restaurants within walking distance and the hotel itself has a great bar with live music at the weekends.
We'll be going back later in the year.

Room Tip: upgrade to the bigger rooms and go for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madhatterWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind comments about Melia White House Hotel. We delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us, as well as your continued loyalty to our hotel.

Let us invite you for your next stay with us to try our Executive Level room category with access to our executive lounge for a more exclusive experience.
We are looking forward to welcome you back at Melia White House!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,088)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,202 - 2,208 of 7,088 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

I have used this hotel on a number of occasions since it was re-opened some years ago by the Spanish hotel group Melia. This time, my wife and I went for a 2-day weekend stay, having not visited for a couple of years. The hotel looks smart inside, and is in a good location for the West End. The staff were uniformly really helpful and engaging, much more than you usually get in a UK hotel, and I put this down to the good training and supervision of this Mediterranean-focussed chain. When we arrived, there was a short queue for the check- in and after we had waited no longer than a couple of minutes a delightful young lady appeared at our side and asked us to follow her to the executive check-in area where she very promptly checked us in to our room. The doormen were very attentive too, as were the waitresses in the breakfast room. The Classic rooms (which we had, since we weren't going to be in our room much over the weekend) are a bit on the small side, but have a 6 foot bed, very comfortable. All facilities provided however. We have used the superior rooms before: they are certainly bigger, but the facilities are the same - they would be better if you plan to stay in your room for a time.

This time, we thought that the standard of breakfast was not as good as on our previous stays. It used to be really outstanding, now it is good enough, but a few niggles. All the usual choices on the buffet, including diet items. But less choice of cut fresh fruit than before. There is an egg station, but service there a bit slow, given that the only eggs available for 'help-yourself' were fried eggs. You had to queue at the egg station for anything else, like scrambled, which I like. The scrambled egg made for me wasn't great - I suspected they may have been using commercial liquid egg on the egg station rather than fresh eggs. And sometimes they were slow to replace the supplies on the buffet when items ran out. But apart from these minor niggles, we would certainly return, particularly as the accommodation is reliable and the staff are so much nicer than you usually get in a London 4-star establishment.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewS60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Andrew,

Many thanks for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor!

Your warm opinion has been really taken with consideration and we would like to thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. It is great to receive such positive comments for our staff, as we consider it as our most important asset.

On your next stay with us, don’t miss to try L’Albufera restaurant, an excellent and very well recognised Spanish restaurant (AA Rosette awarded).

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Gradually this old warhorse has been tarted up with quite a grand entrance and a make-over of the rooms to shabby chic style. The extraordinary lift system persists (punch in the floor you await to go to from a central console, then dash to lift A-D as instructed by the screen, then in lift wait for it to remember where you are going. I had a room with a tiny corridor to the bed that you could barely get through, a tiny bathroom which required mountaineering skills to climb into the bath for a shower, and a constant noise morning and night, presumably from a service area, of sliding doors followed by a bang when they hit their stop. A view over a flat roof, not room safe... On the positive side the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful - especially the breakfast staff.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 172
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My company booked this hotel and I was really pleased with the overall experience. The rooms are large by european standards and yes bathroom is small, but how much time are you spending in the bathroom anyway? The "level" access was well worth the add on price. Beverages and snacks available all day long. The staff was courteous and tried their best. I got the impression many were in training or doing apprenticeships. They were a young and eager bunch! Metro is a stone throw away and 3 typical english pubs minutes away. I can't wait to bring my family back for a vacation stay!

Room Tip: Jr suites have pull out beds for kids or extra person...rooms can be shared by 3 or 4 with little pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetskyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear jetskyg,

Thank you for taking your time to write a such good review about the Melia White House!

It is great to receive such positive comments for our staff, as we consider it as our most important asset.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! We recommend you for your next stay with us to try our Executive Level room category with access to our executive lounge for a more exclusive experience.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at Melia White House! Please visit our website melia.com for special rates and our latest promotions.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Only stayed for one night, but would have loved to have stayed more. Upgraded to superior room when we arrived and thought it was well worth the extra. Room was at the front of the hotel with all the buzz of the surrounding area. Slept with the window open because if I'm in a city I like to hear the life going on. With the window shut, the room was very quiet. Very nice bar in hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear mainwoman,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on Tripadvisor!

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as the allocation of your room as well as our Longford’s bar was to your satisfaction.

On your next stay with us, don’t miss to try L’Albufera restaurant, an excellent and very well recognised Spanish restaurant (AA Rosette awarded).

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon at Melia White House!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Finally a great hotel in London!!! Did not like the look of the hotel from the outside but once you walk in, what a great place.. Comfy, beaufitful, the most attentive staff, a piece of cake waiting for you in your room... But best of all is the incredible breakfast... Long time i had not seem anything like that!!! So overall a great very central hotel, would very much recommend it... Tx Melia for the high quality of service and for a great (but too short) stay.. Will be back with my husband!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank aiga1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear aiga 1965,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind feedback of your recent stay at the Melia White House Hotel!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, as you found a very good quality of service and a convenient location. Furthermore we are particularly proud to receive your comments about our Breakfast as we are constantly trying to improve our services.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Nice hotel and standard bedroom is compact but the half bath raised from the floor which represented the depth of the bathroom was a big step in and out of. Very claustrophobic experience. Breakfast offered a large spread of items but the temperature was warm not hot of the buffet items. Bar excellent, this was the highlight of the hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Bev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Level at Melia White House
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
#298 of 1,077 in London
1,360 reviews
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia White House

Address: Albany Street, London NW1 3UP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Romantic Hotel in London
#214 Luxury Hotel in London
#216 Business Hotel in London
#225 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £108 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia White House 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia White House hotel was built in 1936 and was originally launched as The White House luxury apartments. The hotel’s building still preserves its architectural value as a prime example of art décor style in late 1930s. After a recent refurbishment, guests can now have a more pleasant and unique experience when sating in London. This 4-star deluxe hotel includes 581 rooms, 112 apartments, 9 meeting rooms, 2 restaurants and a bar including a terrace, fitness centre and an executive lounge. The hotel’s unique location, award winning food offering and true passion for service will make of your stay in London a pleasant and unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia White Hotel
Sol Melia London
Melia White House London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing