We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, average hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Melia White House
Ranked #288 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Great location, average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed at the White House near Regents Park and the location was excellent for a visit to London. The hotel is average and needs much work when you compare to the other Melia or four star hotels in the area. The checkin experience was poor with a lengthy delay (25 mins) before we could check in. The room was a family room which was as expected but doing well to accomodate two adults and two kids despite the advertisement. The breakfast experience was generally good but on Good Friday, the experience was poor.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, General Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear David,

Thank you for sharing your comments with all Tripadvisor users!

It is great to see that you appreciated the central location of our hotel. Furthermore, we will take your comments on board as we are always trying to meet our guests’ expectations and provide the best possible service.

Please contact Guest Experience Department at guest.experience.london@melia.com to take personally care of your next stay with us.

We hope to welcome you again back to Meliá White House soon!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,622
    2,295
    802
    358
    216
See reviews for
1,418
2,179
275
1,485
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

I Stayed for 1 night alone on business. I booked through a corporate booking engine and the rate was significantly lower than rack. I read the reviews in advance and was aware of the issues raised.

The hotel is 4 star, but the service and standards were above standard for the star rating. Check in was simple and easy. I agree the pumped in aromas are a little choking.. just needs turning down a bit.. especially in the lift. The Cumberland at Marble Arch do the same but it is much more subtle and works really well.

I was in room 470. Small but adequate. Amenities were excellent, as was comfort. The key point for the rooms is that I felt I was on holiday!. The hotel is a Spanish chain (I think) and some of the fixtures and fittings have a European influence.. it definitely has a feel good factor. Its worth pointing out the cleanliness/housekeeping is excellent, but coming from the industry, I did notice a couple of points which are not a negative, just worth mentioning for management - the glasses weren't polished enough which gave the impression they weren't cleaned properly. The toiletries weren't all fresh (seals broken), There are no spare pillows (a problem if you are with your partner). However, this should in no way detract from the positives.

I had room service in the evening and breakfast delivered in the morning.. the food was excellent however, I do feel it was massively overpriced - the hotel may reach a 5 star standard but that's no justification for charging 5 star prices. £24 for breakfast is extreme IMO.

Checkout was quick and painless.

Its a beautiful hotel and building.. highly recommend it.

Will stay again if I can.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank virtualoriginal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post such a detailed review, we always appreciate feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. All of your comments have been taken on board. As we strive to constantly provide a high level of service, we are always keen to hear about your experience.

We hope to welcome you back to the Melia White House Hotel.
Like our page on Facebook at Melia White House.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deep River, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Traveling with a friend who was visiting her son at Regent College, the Melia White House was the perfect choice. Right next to Regent's Park and close to the tube, not only was the location perfect for us, but the hotel was comfortable and upscale. The bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows, and bathroom done in marble and larger than what I expected in Europe. We arrived about 10 am the day we checked in, due to our flight, and were not able to check in early, but concierge held our luggage so we were free to start exploring. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Concierge was able to direct us to emergency medical care for a minor condition (treatment free, at a hospital ER, even for Americans!) and also made a side trip to Bath via train easy for us to accomplish.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robyntomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Robyntomas,

Thank you so much for your kind review.

We always appreciate all feedback and it is particularly warming to hear that we have given our guests the experience we set out to give. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back to the Melia White House Hotel.

Don’t forget to like our Facebook page at Melia White House for our latest news and promotions.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

The location is awesome. Next to Regent's Park and 2min and 5min away from Circle and Bakerloo Lines. Ideal for exploring London by tube.
The room was pretty big, comfortable, well equipped and the bed has been the widest (about 1.80m) I've ever tried.
I was on half board and dinner was great.
Great price/value

Cons: the climatization was a bit noisy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcogolludo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind feedback of your recent stay at the Melia White House Hotel.

It is great for us to see that your stay with us was a pleasant one and the hotel facilities, the room as well as the buffet exceed your expectations.

London is well known for his elegance and his warm welcoming. Experience it personally at our Longford’s Bar, typical British decoration where you can enjoy a big selection of English teas, or an inviting large choice of spirits and cocktails.

We hope to welcome you again back to Meliá White House soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We loved it!!! The situation was superb as we could reach everything even on foot. The breakfast was delicious! The staff extremely helpful at all times!!! The room small but the bed was very comfortable. We didn't need anything more. Nevertheless, it could be a little cleaner. The doors seemed they hadn't been dusted for ages!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena-Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with all Tripadvisor users!

It is great for us to see that your stay with us was a pleasant one and the hotel facilities, our location as well as the staff services exceed your expectations. We are proud to receive such positive comments and particularly for our staff who we consider as our most important asset.


We will take your comments on board as we are always trying to meet our guests’ xpectations and provide the best possible service.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
168 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

we have stayed here a few times and ticks all the boxes for us, located 5 minutes from Euston and adjacent to Regents Park, the Spanish influence provides very good service and facilities. We went for a superior room as they are bigger and have bigger beds, well worth the extra.
With an easy walk down to Oxford Street or a bus from outside, the tube just across the road and steady supply of taxis, it's so easy to get wherever you want to go.
Lots of very good restaurants within walking distance and the hotel itself has a great bar with live music at the weekends.
We'll be going back later in the year.

Room Tip: upgrade to the bigger rooms and go for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madhatterWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind comments about Melia White House Hotel. We delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us, as well as your continued loyalty to our hotel.

Let us invite you for your next stay with us to try our Executive Level room category with access to our executive lounge for a more exclusive experience.
We are looking forward to welcome you back at Melia White House!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
163 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I have used this hotel on a number of occasions since it was re-opened some years ago by the Spanish hotel group Melia. This time, my wife and I went for a 2-day weekend stay, having not visited for a couple of years. The hotel looks smart inside, and is in a good location for the West End. The staff were uniformly really helpful and engaging, much more than you usually get in a UK hotel, and I put this down to the good training and supervision of this Mediterranean-focussed chain. When we arrived, there was a short queue for the check- in and after we had waited no longer than a couple of minutes a delightful young lady appeared at our side and asked us to follow her to the executive check-in area where she very promptly checked us in to our room. The doormen were very attentive too, as were the waitresses in the breakfast room. The Classic rooms (which we had, since we weren't going to be in our room much over the weekend) are a bit on the small side, but have a 6 foot bed, very comfortable. All facilities provided however. We have used the superior rooms before: they are certainly bigger, but the facilities are the same - they would be better if you plan to stay in your room for a time.

This time, we thought that the standard of breakfast was not as good as on our previous stays. It used to be really outstanding, now it is good enough, but a few niggles. All the usual choices on the buffet, including diet items. But less choice of cut fresh fruit than before. There is an egg station, but service there a bit slow, given that the only eggs available for 'help-yourself' were fried eggs. You had to queue at the egg station for anything else, like scrambled, which I like. The scrambled egg made for me wasn't great - I suspected they may have been using commercial liquid egg on the egg station rather than fresh eggs. And sometimes they were slow to replace the supplies on the buffet when items ran out. But apart from these minor niggles, we would certainly return, particularly as the accommodation is reliable and the staff are so much nicer than you usually get in a London 4-star establishment.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewS60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Andrew,

Many thanks for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor!

Your warm opinion has been really taken with consideration and we would like to thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. It is great to receive such positive comments for our staff, as we consider it as our most important asset.

On your next stay with us, don’t miss to try L’Albufera restaurant, an excellent and very well recognised Spanish restaurant (AA Rosette awarded).

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Level at Melia White House
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#250 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,948 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia White House

Property: Melia White House
Address: Albany Street, London NW1 3UP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Romantic Hotel in London
#212 Luxury Hotel in London
#216 Business Hotel in London
#225 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia White House 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia White House hotel was built in 1936 and was originally launched as The White House luxury apartments. The hotel’s building still preserves its architectural value as a prime example of art décor style in late 1930s. After a recent refurbishment, guests can now have a more pleasant and unique experience when sating in London. This 4-star deluxe hotel includes 581 rooms, 112 apartments, 9 meeting rooms, 2 restaurants and a bar including a terrace, fitness centre and an executive lounge. The hotel’s unique location, award winning food offering and true passion for service will make of your stay in London a pleasant and unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Lastminute, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Melia White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia White Hotel
Sol Melia London
Melia White House London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing