We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will never go back to this hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Melia White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia White House
Ranked #286 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will never go back to this hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

When I booked my reservation to this hotel, I inadvertently (and stupidly) booked an extra night. After I realized my mistake, the hotel said I would have to deal with the booking agency to get a refund. When I called the booking agency, they called the hotel and the hotel flatly refused to refund my money. Important lesson learned - never use Roomstays to book a hotel and never go back to the Melia White House in London, England!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyMom123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear LuckyMom123,

In regards with the incident mentioned about the booking conditions,kindly allow us to confirm that the reservattions contracted through a third party are often subject to certain terms and conditions such a specific modification policies stated in the confirmation of the booking.
Rest assured that your feedback has been already passed on in order to avoid any misunderstanding and ensure that our standards are always maintained.

We remain at your disposal for any further assistance.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,667
    2,331
    814
    360
    219
See reviews for
1,450
2,211
279
1,505
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (675)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I found a deal (on the melia website) for rooms for £99 a night. I knew the hotel as I had stayed a few times before with work. It is a good 4* hotel - the lobby area is very grand, although standard rooms are a little bit small.

My husband mentioned that it was my birthday at check-in, and we were upgraded to a superior room which was a good size. We also arrived back in the room later to find they had left cake and cava with a birthday message which I thought was a nice touch.

The hotel is in a great location at the bottom of Regents Park. There are 2 nearby tube stations - Great Portland Street and Regents Park. It took us about 15 minutes to walk to Oxford Street.

We ate a meal in the Spanish restaurant L'Albufera, which was good Spanish food. I am intolerant to gluten and the menu had gluten-free dishes labelled so this was appreciated.

Overall our stay was very good for the price we paid.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Ms. Laura032,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review of your recent stay at The Melia White House Hotel.

We are proud to receive such positive comments and particularly for our staff who we consider as our most important asset.

Let us invite you for your next stay with us to try our Executive Level room category with access to our executive lounge for a more exclusive experience.

Like us on Facebook!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natanya, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

My wife and I spent four nights in this excellent hotel between the 6th and 10th of May.
Arriving just after 15:00 or thereabouts, we were welcomed by a lovely smiling young lady at the reception desk who checked us in, explained about all the hotels facilities, and then escorted us herself to the elevator.
On the sixth floor, we found our room [641] at the end of one of the corridors, and upon entering were pleasantly surprised by the size and overall layout of the room. The double bed was comfortable, and everything was spotlessly clean. This cleanliness followed us daily, and the house keeping staff on our wing of the sixth floor are to be commended.
Our stay included breakfast. Being good tourists, we were early eaters, and if time is the essence, then breakfast should be taken by around 08:00 as from then onwards one can't help but notice a queue at the entrance to the dinning room. On the other hand, the queues didn't last long, and the staff filled empty tables quickly and pleasantly to all.
The buffet breakfast is everything that one could want and expect to be able to choose from for a good and hearty primary meal of the day. The food was fresh and very tasty.
Overall, each member of staff that we came in contact with, greeted us with a smile and salutation. There were a couple of moments when I stood in thought in a public area and to instantly find the presence of a member of the hotel staff next to me and politely asking if all was well and if I needed help or assistance.

To the management, I commend you on the high standards and quality of your service.

To the staff, I wish to send you a huge THANK YOU for making our short holiday in London a very memorable one.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Mr. Philip G,

It is incredibly satisfying to know that our efforts to deliver the highest possible level of service are reflected in your pleasant stay. Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback.

We are looking forward welcoming you back soon to Melia White House!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is modern conveniently located to many attractions. It's in the French Harry out of town so there are many great dining options outside English food. The hotel is clean and the customer service is okay. The concierges did a great job, however. The restaurant food was below average and the prices too expensive for the quality. Just have a great bar with a lot of wine selections, however. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Veronica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear VeronicaL,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor!

It is great to see that you appreciated our services especially the cleaning and our Longford’s Bar.
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon at Meliá White House!

Please visit our website melia.com for special rates and our latest promotions.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed here for one night on a Ticket line theatre break. Good hotel. Only had breakfast which was enjoyable. Bathroom a bit small and my Husband couldn't use the shower as he is unable to step into the bath which was quite high off the floor, apart from this no problems. Would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Vivento,

It is a pleasure for us to review your Tripadvisor comments!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Melia While House.
Furthermore we are particularly proud to receive your comments about our breakfast as we are constantly trying to improve our services.

Please allow us to suggest visiting Melia.com for the best offers and discounts.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbados
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I'm absolutely disgusted with the room I was given in the hotel.
Two adults in a 4ft bed. That's not even a double size. Plus it comes out of the wall so not even a real bed. Two kids might manage but two adults.
Reception are not interested. After all I have paid they will never get my business again. I should have know better than to book with Timeshare people.
The rest of the hotel looks fine but this room is a joke.
A Travelodge is 10 times better and half the cost.

Room Tip: Don't book through Hotels.com as their descriptions are way off. This is nothing like the Superi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BajanDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear BajanDreamer,

Thank you for sharing your experience in Trip Advisor.
We are very disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and would sincerely like the opportunity to discuss some of the issues you regarding this matter.
If you could email the hotel directly (guest.experience.london@melia.com) we hope to be able to restore your confidence in us and look forward to welcome you back to the Melia White House in London some day in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleobury Mortimer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

All the staff were very friendly and always greeted us with a friendly Good Morning or Good Afternoon. The hotel was very clean.
When we went down for breakfast on the Sunday morning it was very busy but we only had a short wait before being seated, and we're served our tea very quickly. Getting the tea quickly is very important to us English. Even though it was busy the staff were not fazed and eveything ran smoothly. The quality of the food was very good.
Hotel location was perfect for us, close to the Bloomsbury theater and Regents Park.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Cleobury_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Cleobury_11,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with all Tripadvisor users!

It is great for us to see that your stay with us was a pleasant one and the hotel facilities and services, our location as well as the staff services exceed your expectations. We are proud to receive such positive comments and particularly for our staff who we consider as our most important asset.

For your next stay with us, we recommend you to visit L’Albufera restaurant, an excellent and very well recognised Spanish restaurant (AA Rosette awarded).

We are looking forward to welcome you back at Melia White House soon!
Like our Facebook page at Melia White House for our latest updates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Level at Melia White House
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#262 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia White House

Property: Melia White House
Address: Albany Street, London NW1 3UP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Romantic Hotel in London
#211 Luxury Hotel in London
#216 Business Hotel in London
#225 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia White House 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia White House hotel was built in 1936 and was originally launched as The White House luxury apartments. The hotel’s building still preserves its architectural value as a prime example of art décor style in late 1930s. After a recent refurbishment, guests can now have a more pleasant and unique experience when sating in London. This 4-star deluxe hotel includes 581 rooms, 112 apartments, 9 meeting rooms, 2 restaurants and a bar including a terrace, fitness centre and an executive lounge. The hotel’s unique location, award winning food offering and true passion for service will make of your stay in London a pleasant and unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Melia, Lastminute, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia White Hotel
Sol Melia London
Melia White House London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing