We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Melia White House
Ranked #285 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I have been here several times for job trips and I can guarantee that it is a very good choice. The location is great, the rooms are big, the service is excellent, the bar and the restaurant are so good. Only one point: it is quite expensive :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrSatan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,622
    2,296
    802
    358
    217
See reviews for
1,418
2,180
275
1,486
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Just across the street from a tube station and 10 min walk to kings cross. Large buffet breakfast with everything you could want. Very small baths comfortable room and bed. The hotel bar was expensive eight pounds for a drink. I would stay again

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AislingRamshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The hotel is easily reachable. Is is close to at least 3 different tube stations, which is very good.
The lobby is well decorated, beautiful.
Our room however was very small and a bit rundown. We stayed at first floor, which was also not so nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tata_viajante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Location- 2mins from gt portland st, 4mins reagent st, 6mins warren street tube, all well sign posted. Also we walked back from Leicester square at 11pm felt safe and took less tham 30mins.

Check in- came at 10am sat morning very busy with coach loads checking in/out and hectic but no complaints. Staff friendly but not naitive english speakers so difficult to understand.

Room- 1st floor, windows open if you wish, good air con, amazing kingsized bed, very large room for Any hotel let alone London. Bathroom average, dated bath & shower with shower curtain not screen; but nice marble finish. No issues with noise just background traffic.

Extortionate mini bar & bar prices but tescos express & another shop across the road! Would definitely recommend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank heato13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel is conveniently situated within minutes of Euston station. I was in London during a recent tube strike, so was happy I had booked here. The room was extremely comfortable and breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisles55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

It has been a very long time since I've given 5 stars to a hotel, and even longer to one in London, given the abysmal state of most London hotels compared to world standards.

The friendliness of the staff was demonstrated when my wife was very sick during our two days stay. They allowed us to stay over without charge and permitted me to take her up breakfast from the buffet, even giving me food containers. The food was superior to the London standard, and included Spanish dishes. The aircon worked, the internet was free (sorry, complementary), and the room was clean.

My only gripe is common to most hotels. Perhaps some hospitality accountant somewhere calculated that if 10 million daily visitors used only part of a bar of soap, then the wastage will amount to a trillion dollars a year. Holy Soapsuds! So cut the bar into tiny pieces, one per room. However, we've got used to this over the years and bring our own toiletries.

Despite the gripe the icing on the cake was that the room was substantially cheaper than equivalent quality hotels. We happily took their loyalty card as we'll undoubtedly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morris_minor_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
218 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed here with my wife for six nights. We were there for a conference for part of that time and got a good group rate that included breakfast.

The hotel staff (Spanish and British) was very helpful and the concierge had great advice. Three tube stations are located within two blocks of the hotel and several city buses plus one of the on-off-buses stop on the adjacent street.

The rooms are on the small side and although well appointed, some of the furniture is getting a bit long-in-the-tooth. The bathroom was small but nicely modern. One concern is that the bath tub is rather high, making it somewhat difficult to get in and out. One elderly lady in our group resorted to sponge baths out of fear of falling getting in and out of the tub. Definitely a challenge even for the able.

The buffet breakfast was very nice. Being a Spanish owned hotel chain, there were a number of Spanish food items in addition to British breakfast selections.

Room Tip: The bath tubs in all the rooms for our group were very tall and not easy to get in and out of. Peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Level at Melia White House
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#250 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,948 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia White House

Property: Melia White House
Address: Albany Street, London NW1 3UP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Romantic Hotel in London
#210 Luxury Hotel in London
#216 Business Hotel in London
#225 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia White House 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia White House hotel was built in 1936 and was originally launched as The White House luxury apartments. The hotel’s building still preserves its architectural value as a prime example of art décor style in late 1930s. After a recent refurbishment, guests can now have a more pleasant and unique experience when sating in London. This 4-star deluxe hotel includes 581 rooms, 112 apartments, 9 meeting rooms, 2 restaurants and a bar including a terrace, fitness centre and an executive lounge. The hotel’s unique location, award winning food offering and true passion for service will make of your stay in London a pleasant and unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Melia White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia White Hotel
Sol Melia London
Melia White House London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing