We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great team!”
Review of Melia White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia White House
Ranked #290 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The team at The White House led by Alexis in guest experience could not have done more to make our weekend so special for my wife's 60th birthday. The attention to detail was amazing, the champagne and cake on arrival so much appreciated, and the attention of the bar team for lunch was very personal. I can only recommend that you consider The White House for your special day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear DavidL,

Your feedback was a delight to read!

Feedback such as yours is most helpful are we are continuously assessing and improving our services. Your comments will encourage my team to bring forth the highest level of service to every guest, every time.

I hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

PD:best regards from Alexis and The Guest Experience Team.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,003)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,081 - 2,087 of 7,003 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Location - it's near Great Portland tube. And, 15 to 20 min walk to Camden Market.

Service - It was great except the check in process like taking ages.

Room - Typical london room size which is quite small. Furnitures are old. For bathroom, i would say i never see such a tiny and packed bathroom with bathtub. It's quite dangerous for kids and old folks to 'climb in' to the bathtub/shower area.

Apart from the above, it was still a comfortable stay for us and value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SWT10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

On a recent vacation in London, my wife and I were quite pleased with our stay in such a beautiful and delightful hotel that is the Melia White House. ALL hotel employees were pleasant, courteous and truly genuine people that made our stay in London most memorable.

Silvia Bonetti, the Melia's Guest Experience Manager, and her Assistant, Ivan, were especially helpful and accommodating. Silvia assisted us when an unexpected change of plans required our departure date to change. Her short-noticed support in changing our reservation, and upgrading of our room was seamless.

The employees of the Level Lounge were, and will always be, forever memorable. My wife and I spent much of our time spent in the hotel in the Level Lounge. This had everything to do with the Level staff. They were inviting, pleasant and genuinely friendly. Jose, the Level Supervisor, was extremely friendly and professional. It was a pleasure conversing with he and his top-notched staff.

Patrick, the main lobby's Bar / Lounge Manager, was very gregarious and made an evening dinner with my wife pleasurable and memorable.

And last, but certainly not least, John, the Hotel Concierge and his staff were always pleasant and courteous. John's personality is priceless! His knowledge of London is immeasurable.

We look forward to going back to the Melia White House on our next trip to London.

Madison and Jacqueline Hughes

Room Tip: Pay the extra charge to upgrade to an Executive room, an take advantage of the hospitality to be fou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Hughes,

Thank you for reviewing your Level Experience following you recent stay at the Melia White House Hotel.

Indeed, the Level Experience provide to our guest special services such as a private check-in and check-out to the Level Reception as well as the privilege to enjoy the benefits of the quiet private Level Lounge : complementary full English breakfast and tapas buffet upon the evening, complementary soft drinks and alcohol, internet connection, magazines..!

It will be my pleasure to share your comments with all people mentioned above. We are very proud of reading that you really appreciate our authentic customer service from all departments.
And we are so pleased to read such a kind personalised comment.

Thank you once again for the preference you are showing to the Meliá White House.
We always looking forward to Welcome you again personally !
Please, visit our website melia.com in order to enjoy our last promotions,

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have recently spent 5 nights at the Melia. Well situated close to 2 subway stations ( Parker and Great Portland Rd) allows you to easily reach any point of interest. Close to the beautiful Regents Park, worth a visit.

The breakfast buffet is great and varied. Rooms are small but according to european standartds it is comfortable. The furniture is not new and would need some refurbishing but the king size bed really comfortable.

Staff helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christiane612013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in May 2014 and would certainly recommend staying at this hotel when visiting London. Excellent location across from Great Portland Street tube and exemplary staff. Private check in, fantastic breakfast, quiet lounge area and very comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear MiB,

Many thanks for recommending the Melia White House its great location and our ‘ exemplary staff ‘ on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your Level Experience. Indeed, the Level Experience provide to our guest special services such as a private check-in and check-out to the Level Reception as well as the privilege to enjoy the benefits of the quiet private Level Lounge : complementary full English breakfast and tapas buffet upon the evening, complementary soft drinks and alcohol, internet connection, magazines..

Thank you once again for the preference you are showing to the Meliá White House.
We look forward to welcoming you back personally on your next stay with us.

Please, visit our website melia.com in order to enjoy our last promotion,

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Melia Whitehouse is situated in a great location, close to travel links and the centre of London. Rooms are small unless you upgrade. The sink in the bathroom didn't clear which was a problem we had at the hotel the last time we stayed there. Very friendly staff. Breakfast was very good although the dining room was very busy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank fergusonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Ferguson,

Thank you for taking the time to providing a feedback about your experience at the Melia White House.
We are glad to see that you appreciated our practical location less than 2 minutes walking to Regents’ Park and Great Portland Street station or 15 minutes walking to Oxford Circus.

Please, accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused during your visit.

This is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the staff attitude and friendliness as well as the diversity of selection of our buffet breakfast.

Do not hesitate to ask for our MeliaBalance booklet which is a healthy eating program which will allow you to enjoy a fuller life with an abundance of energy. Choose one type of our breakfasts and find the perfect harmony between your body and mind.

It will be a real pleasure to welcome you back personally at the Meliá White House.
Please, visit our website melia.com in order to enjoy our last promotion,

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Firstly, the staff in the level lounge were brilliant, very attentive, and really good with the children. Also the concierge who was on the door, was really helpful and guided us in as well as pointing where the car parks and street parking was.
I wish I could say the same for the rest of the hotel. We turned up to the hotel early, as we believed there was some form of first come parking, however this was stopped 2 years ago, so we had to park in the car park behind the church and retrieve the car before 8pm and park on the street. When we arrived I had requested a family room, and I rang ahead to ask for two beds for my boys. When I got there I was offered an upgrade to 769, a junior suite. I can only surmise it was junior by the size of people it would fit, the room was small, and could not fit three beds into it. I went to reception to ask if they had another room, and we were allocated 699, a large room, which fits my expectations. However we waited 2 hours for this change, which was expedited by my wife phoning the reception and demanding the keys to get our over tired children to bed.

I complained in the morning to the duty manager, who had no power to do anything, was a waste of time and energy. If you are thinking of going to this hotel understand it is a Spanish hotel in London, with a very manyarna attitude, nothing is done immediately. I think it would be great as an adult break, but not as a family break.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room, as the norm is a small room, with little space. If you have a family 699, is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Level at Melia White House
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#337 of 1,076 in London
3,192 reviews
Fitzrovia
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
#552 of 1,076 in London
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia White House

Address: Albany Street, London NW1 3UP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Romantic Hotel in London
#208 Luxury Hotel in London
#216 Business Hotel in London
#225 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £113 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia White House 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia White House hotel was built in 1936 and was originally launched as The White House luxury apartments. The hotel’s building still preserves its architectural value as a prime example of art décor style in late 1930s. After a recent refurbishment, guests can now have a more pleasant and unique experience when sating in London. This 4-star deluxe hotel includes 581 rooms, 112 apartments, 9 meeting rooms, 2 restaurants and a bar including a terrace, fitness centre and an executive lounge. The hotel’s unique location, award winning food offering and true passion for service will make of your stay in London a pleasant and unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia White Hotel
Sol Melia London
Melia White House London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing