We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LONDON AWAITS”
Review of Melia White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia White House
Ranked #289 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Edwardsville, Il.
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“LONDON AWAITS”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I had the opportunity to spend five nights at this hotel and my overall experience was quite delightful. I was OK with the "excuse me" room size, but question the wisdom of trying to cram in a king size bed and battleship sized desk in the limited space. otherwise, the room was nicely appointed. The room WiFi was good. The buffet breakfast was quite good, but expensive. There are two Underground stations located nearby, making for great city access. There are plenty of dining/quick shop locations located within a five minute walk.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRTheChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear JRTheChief,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor.

It is true that we have the chance to be located in central of London and we are delighted to see to read that you enjoyed your stay with us in all the possible ways!

Please let us to invite you to try our Executive Room with the Level Experience on your next stay with us as with which one you would be able to enjoy a different room and the breakfast in the Level Lounge.

Melia White House’s team is looking forward welcoming you back!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,827
    2,446
    858
    376
    227
See reviews for
1,528
2,332
298
1,581
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (713)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Second time stating here (last time was 2008) and this hotel did not disappoint. It's not cheap but for the location in London is perfect. The tube is 1 minute away and several major attractions are within walking distance. Access to Heathrow is brilliant as it's 2 tube stops to Paddington rail station and the 15 minutes on the Heathrow express to the airport.

Rooms are spacious and having several international plug sockets is a bonus when you have only 1 travel adaptor!

Breakfast was fantastic with a huge selection of excellent food.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guppy98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear guppy98,

Thank you very much for choosing Meliá White House once again. We are glad to know that your experience was nice also this time.

Thank you for mentioning the variety of plug sockets available in the room, which we consider of high importance since it helps to meet the needs of guests who are coming from all around the world.

Looking forward to welcoming you for the third time to our hotel, we send to you our kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The good: central location, big enough room, close to the Regents park, subway line, Euston/Pancras stations.

The bad: obviously not worth the 245 GBP paid for it:

1. Tired, gloomy rooms, no AC (opening the window - you get excessive noise from the busy street, closing it - became stuffy), dirty walls, broken door in the shower, water freely flows to the floor.

2. Breakfast doesn't worth 36 GBP it costs. Every morning all the same: 2 types of cheap fatty and overcooked sausages, eggs, 2 types of salads, 3 types of sweets, 2 types of fruits, some juices. That's all. No porridge, no rice/potatoes, no meat.
Th say the truth, much better option is to walk some 200mtr out of it just to find tens of nice bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puerrrtto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear puerrrto,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and provide a detailed review of your recent stay at Meliá White House.

We are sorry that you had such a bad experience of our room and breakfast facilities. Please allow us to inform you that we have reported the mentioned issues with the room to our Maintenance department in order to keep the high standards required. We also regret that your breakfast experience was not the expected; at The Place Restaurant we always aim to offer the most varied selection of food, we are sorry that we did not manage to make you perceive this variety.

Thank you once again for your sincerity.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were lucky to get a fantastic last minute deal through the hotel website when overseas family came to visit. We stayed overnight in stylish, comfortable and clean rooms. They were a bit small but perfectly formed for our needs as a base. Convenient is an understatement!! It is near the tube, the London tour bus stop is right outside, reasonably priced day parking within walking distance , all made it a wonderful London base. Friendly service at the desk and in the bar also much appreciated.....would like to stay again if the price is right! Only one gripe....please remove the tacky dried flowers from the classic revolving doors.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaoMarMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear PaoMarMo,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor, it is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at Meliá White House.

We really appreciate your comments on the friendliness of our service and the convenience of our location.

Please check always melia.com for the best rates, we will be glad to welcome you once again to our hotel.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

From the moment we walked in to the hotel we were warmly welcomed by friendly staff wherever we walked...
A special thank's to the staff in the LEVEL who made the stay even more special. The breakfast was outstanding. Rated to a 5 star breakfast.

Room Tip: Level rooms have more service included
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HildeKols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear HildeKols,

We are glad to know that your experience at Meliá White House was so special and that you could feel so comfortable from the very first moment. Your comments on your breakfast at The Place motivate us to keep on pursuing the highest quality.

Thank you for the nice words spent for our The Level staff, whose highest commitment is offering the unique service that all guests of this exclusive area deserve.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again to Meliá White House.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Ga
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The concierge assistance with navigating through London. They were very pleasant and helpful.

The breakfast was "continental" but it was anything but that. More like a 5-star buffet breakfast. There was such a variety of food selections. And eggs could be cooked to order.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2TravelTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Love2TravelTaylor,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on your stay with all TripAdvisor’s users.

We are happy to know that our professional Concierge team was able to help you find your way through London. Thank you also for mentioning your breakfast experience and your appreciation for the offered selection.

Follow us on social media and stay updated with the newest gastronomic offers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The standard room was really tiny, particularly the bathroom. The bed was small too and my "gigantic" 5'9" frame was too much and so my feet hung out. No bad thing really as it was very hot and there's no a/c in the rooms - or if there is it doesn't work. I paid for the room in advance, hoping for a quick check in but I didn't realise this meant that the mini bar would be locked, or that I'd have to pay cash at the bar. This was an inconvenience as I'd expected to be able to "put it on my room" and had to go back for my wallet.

The locked mini bar was more of a problem as the heat kept me awake and a chilled water would have helped, but because I'd paid in advance I'm not allowed to use it. Perhaps people who pay ahead of time are mostly criminals who'll raid the mini bar and sneak away in the dead of night.

I only stayed the one night for as business meeting, if it had been longer I would have addressed the issues, staff seemed nice.

I didn't eat there so cant comment on the quality of the food. Nest time i;ll give this hotel a miss and go budget for a one nighter or a better hotel for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a decent sized room - ask about it ahead of time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear AndrewL,

Thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to know more about your stay at Meliá White House. We consider our guests’ feedback of high importance, since it helps to analyse our product and keep on improving our service.

We are sorry that you experienced issues with our air conditioning system. Please note that our Maintenance team is informed and is daily taking care of its correct working, in order to satisfy guest’s needs. We regret that we did not have the opportunity to offer assistance for the use of the minibar, although we appreciate that you shared your experience with us.

Please contact Guest Experience for future stays. We would be delighted to offer our assistance.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Level at Melia White House
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#304 of 1,069 in London
3,092 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia White House

Property: Melia White House
Address: Albany Street, London NW1 3UP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Romantic Hotel in London
#211 Luxury Hotel in London
#216 Business Hotel in London
#225 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia White House 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia White House hotel was built in 1936 and was originally launched as The White House luxury apartments. The hotel’s building still preserves its architectural value as a prime example of art décor style in late 1930s. After a recent refurbishment, guests can now have a more pleasant and unique experience when sating in London. This 4-star deluxe hotel includes 581 rooms, 112 apartments, 9 meeting rooms, 2 restaurants and a bar including a terrace, fitness centre and an executive lounge. The hotel’s unique location, award winning food offering and true passion for service will make of your stay in London a pleasant and unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Odigeo, Melia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Melia White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia White Hotel
Sol Melia London
Melia White House London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing