We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food, Beds, Even The Elevator are Luxe”
Review of Melia White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia White House
Ranked #291 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Checkin was long, but the staff provided juice while we waited... Otherwise if you have The Level Club Lounge you can go to the private check in.
Our room was a generous size, clean and splashed with simple yet sophisticated décor. There was an in-room safe, quality bathroom products and pillows as soft a fluffy baby duck.
In front of the elevator was a large keypad. We typed the number 5 and it showed a letter. There were 4 elevators: A, B, C & D. We stepped into the elevator with the letter indicated and looked for the buttons inside. There were none. Intuitively, it knew our floor and took us straight there. Genius!
L’Albufera oozed sophistication and made my mouth water, literally. I really enjoyed our evening dinner there.
The Place is great for breakfast - Eggs, pancakes, cereals, pastries, fruit, yoghurt. There was nothing lacking, except real fresh orange juice and a good cup of coffee.
But you can get both of those at The Level - the club lounge - worth the money in my opinion with complimentary drinks, pastries and fruit throughout the day and in the evening between 6pm and 8:30pm they provide complimentary tapas, and alcoholic drinks through to 10:30pm.
You can read more and see pictures on our blog, it was a Holiday highlight.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Travel_with_Bender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Travel_with_Bender,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review of your recent stay at The Melia White House Hotel.

We are pleasent to receive such positive comments and particularly for our facilities in general and our very well recognised Spanish restaurant (AA Rosette awarded) L'Albufera.

We are constantly trying our best to maintain the highest level of service at all times in all our outlets.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at Melia White House! Please visit our website melia.com for special rates and our latest promotions.

Best regards from London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,080)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,044 - 2,050 of 7,080 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here on business. Good location. Excellent value for money. The staff were very helpful and friendly at check-in. Room service was excellent. Gym facilities open 24/7. Room layout great for working late, and I had really good night sleep. Will definitely be booking again when I need to stay over for a late night meeting.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wpfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear wpfs,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor!

It is great to see that your experience of your stay with us met your expectations as we are constantly trying our best to maintain the highest level of service at all times.

We will be glad on welcoming you again on you next visit to London.

Like us on Facebook!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We just spent a night at Melia Whitehouse and thoroughly enjoyed all of our stay.
The check was a bit long but the staff maintained a really friendly disposition and passed out water and little (but to die for) snacks to those queuing so the absolute best was done to keep people comfortable and it wasn't that long for a fully booked hotel. The chap on the desk was friendly and very helpful as we had booked last minute and he hadn't received the booking through. But he was really quick about getting it confirmed and us on our way.
Now I am a little embarrassed for the people who've written reviews and struggled with the lifts, it really is extremely simple - there is a console in front of the lifts. You press the floor you want to go to. The screens shows the letter of the lift you are to go to (A,B,C or D) you enter that lift and it takes you to your floor. Very efficient, different - maybe. Difficult - no!
The room was wonderful. Average London size, small bathrooms - decorated decadently, which might not be everyone's cup of tea, but they are clean and a lovely hot shower with good pressure and a bath.
We were visiting London as an anniversary gift from my family and when the hotel found this out we returned from the theatre to a surprise of a bottle of bubbly and slice of cake in the room!! Such a wonderful touch!! Really made our night!!
The 12noon check out made for a wonderful lie in. Despite the hotel being totally full we didn't hear anything from outside the room and just put the temp to cool for cooler air in the room.
We had prepaid for breakfast and that hadn't reached the hotel but the staff were very eager to get it sorted and just asked I sent them a copy of my confirmation and they would sort that out later so as not to delay us getting breakfast! Very well handled.
Breakfast there was a vast selection and whilst we couldn't have tried everything what we did have was absolutely delicious. And again really helpful staff - despite the few guests we saw being somewhat rude to them. All ran smoothly, felt like we were on holiday, you really felt like it was a Spanish hotel in the breakfast room.
Overall we couldn't have enjoyed our stay more and would definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear LaurandJ,

Thank you for taking your time to share your comments with TripAdvisor Users.

It is incredibly satisfying to know that our efforts to deliver the highest possible level of service are reflected in your pleasant stay. For us was a pleasure celebrate such a special day with you, we always try to make the experience of our guest the most unforgettable one.

We are looking forward welcoming you in case your plans bring you back to London and to Melia White House.

Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed here May 2014, one night only. Very long, hot check-in queue with lots of staff faffing about with trays of fruit instead of filling the check-in desks to shorten the queue!! Ordered dinner as room service - told a 20 minute wait @930pm. 40 mins later rang the kitchen to be told 'the oven' (really? Just one oven?) had blown up. Would I like to order some cold food? Not really.
I'll have a hot shower and go to bed - oops, no hot water, so that's a cold shower then!
Turns out they run out of hot water regularly at this hotel. Oh - and the lightbulb in the lamp was broken glass ....

So on check out I complained. Got a lot of flannel and although I asked for a reduction or free night this was not forthcoming. After three weeks of back and forth I was offered a free meal, which based on my experience was somewhat insulting.

The hotel is well-located, generally well fitted with attentive staff - and breakfast though busy and a bit cramped was good. But I found the customer service to be superficial in the extreme. Won't be staying again.

Room Tip: Shower early in the evening!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear David A,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor!

We are glad to see that you appreciated our location, which is considered as one of our strongest points, however we are sorry to see that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction and we apologise for any inconvenience experienced. We will take your comments on board as we are always trying to meet our guests’ expectations and provide the best possible service.

We hope to welcome you again back to Meliá White House soon!

Please visit our website melia.com for special rates and our latest promotions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I had the opportunity to spend five nights at this hotel and my overall experience was quite delightful. I was OK with the "excuse me" room size, but question the wisdom of trying to cram in a king size bed and battleship sized desk in the limited space. otherwise, the room was nicely appointed. The room WiFi was good. The buffet breakfast was quite good, but expensive. There are two Underground stations located nearby, making for great city access. There are plenty of dining/quick shop locations located within a five minute walk.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JRTheChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear JRTheChief,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor.

It is true that we have the chance to be located in central of London and we are delighted to see to read that you enjoyed your stay with us in all the possible ways!

Please let us to invite you to try our Executive Room with the Level Experience on your next stay with us as with which one you would be able to enjoy a different room and the breakfast in the Level Lounge.

Melia White House’s team is looking forward welcoming you back!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Second time stating here (last time was 2008) and this hotel did not disappoint. It's not cheap but for the location in London is perfect. The tube is 1 minute away and several major attractions are within walking distance. Access to Heathrow is brilliant as it's 2 tube stops to Paddington rail station and the 15 minutes on the Heathrow express to the airport.

Rooms are spacious and having several international plug sockets is a bonus when you have only 1 travel adaptor!

Breakfast was fantastic with a huge selection of excellent food.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guppy98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear guppy98,

Thank you very much for choosing Meliá White House once again. We are glad to know that your experience was nice also this time.

Thank you for mentioning the variety of plug sockets available in the room, which we consider of high importance since it helps to meet the needs of guests who are coming from all around the world.

Looking forward to welcoming you for the third time to our hotel, we send to you our kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The good: central location, big enough room, close to the Regents park, subway line, Euston/Pancras stations.

The bad: obviously not worth the 245 GBP paid for it:

1. Tired, gloomy rooms, no AC (opening the window - you get excessive noise from the busy street, closing it - became stuffy), dirty walls, broken door in the shower, water freely flows to the floor.

2. Breakfast doesn't worth 36 GBP it costs. Every morning all the same: 2 types of cheap fatty and overcooked sausages, eggs, 2 types of salads, 3 types of sweets, 2 types of fruits, some juices. That's all. No porridge, no rice/potatoes, no meat.
Th say the truth, much better option is to walk some 200mtr out of it just to find tens of nice bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank puerrrtto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear puerrrto,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and provide a detailed review of your recent stay at Meliá White House.

We are sorry that you had such a bad experience of our room and breakfast facilities. Please allow us to inform you that we have reported the mentioned issues with the room to our Maintenance department in order to keep the high standards required. We also regret that your breakfast experience was not the expected; at The Place Restaurant we always aim to offer the most varied selection of food, we are sorry that we did not manage to make you perceive this variety.

Thank you once again for your sincerity.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Level at Melia White House
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
#298 of 1,077 in London
1,358 reviews
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia White House

Address: Albany Street, London NW1 3UP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Romantic Hotel in London
#211 Luxury Hotel in London
#216 Business Hotel in London
#225 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £110 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia White House 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia White House hotel was built in 1936 and was originally launched as The White House luxury apartments. The hotel’s building still preserves its architectural value as a prime example of art décor style in late 1930s. After a recent refurbishment, guests can now have a more pleasant and unique experience when sating in London. This 4-star deluxe hotel includes 581 rooms, 112 apartments, 9 meeting rooms, 2 restaurants and a bar including a terrace, fitness centre and an executive lounge. The hotel’s unique location, award winning food offering and true passion for service will make of your stay in London a pleasant and unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia White Hotel
Sol Melia London
Melia White House London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing