We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Melia White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia White House
Ranked #287 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Culver City, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Visiting London for the first time, I was very pleased and amazed with the Melia White House. The rooms, diner, and the staff made everything comfortable. The staff was very helpful, and there was a guy by the name of Alexis who was always around to service others. He instantly provided me with 3 extra keys when the first key did not work to open my room door. We became friends in a snap, and it was so wonderful in London and Melia that I did not want to leave. I love it when one can experience those memories and can then share positive moments! The Melia White House is definitely worth visiting each and every time one can get the chance. Thank you again to Alexis; that guy rocks!

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty good to me; choose what is best for one financially of course. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koreyhill7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear koreyhill7

Thank you for sharing your feedback with all Tripadvisor users!

It is great for us to see that your stay with us was a pleasant one and the hotel facilities and services, as well as the staff services exceed your expectations. We are proud to receive such positive comments and particularly for our staff who we consider as our most important asset. Rest assured that we will pass your kind comments to our colleague Alexis.

For your next stay with us, we recommend you to visit L’Albufera restaurant, an excellent and very well recognised Spanish restaurant (AA Rosette awarded).

We are looking forward to welcome you back at Melia White House soon!
Like our Facebook page at Melia White House for our latest updates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,674
    2,337
    815
    360
    220
See reviews for
1,453
2,216
279
1,507
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (675)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos State, Nigeria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Four Melia White House Staff made my visit to London worthwhile.The four employees of Melia did not only make my breakfast and lunch excellent but made commitment to customer satisfaction their priority. Well done to Sunday Nwoko,Luisa, Ewa and Nureen

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHEDRACKUVIEGHA... s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Meliá White House for your holidays.

It is nice to read that you have enjoyed your stay here with us. We would like to let you know that we have passed your comment to our Staff and Management, especially to Sunday Nwoko,Luisa, Ewa and Nureen.

We hope to give you another welcome at our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Checkin was long, but the staff provided juice while we waited... Otherwise if you have The Level Club Lounge you can go to the private check in.
Our room was a generous size, clean and splashed with simple yet sophisticated décor. There was an in-room safe, quality bathroom products and pillows as soft a fluffy baby duck.
In front of the elevator was a large keypad. We typed the number 5 and it showed a letter. There were 4 elevators: A, B, C & D. We stepped into the elevator with the letter indicated and looked for the buttons inside. There were none. Intuitively, it knew our floor and took us straight there. Genius!
L’Albufera oozed sophistication and made my mouth water, literally. I really enjoyed our evening dinner there.
The Place is great for breakfast - Eggs, pancakes, cereals, pastries, fruit, yoghurt. There was nothing lacking, except real fresh orange juice and a good cup of coffee.
But you can get both of those at The Level - the club lounge - worth the money in my opinion with complimentary drinks, pastries and fruit throughout the day and in the evening between 6pm and 8:30pm they provide complimentary tapas, and alcoholic drinks through to 10:30pm.
You can read more and see pictures on our blog, it was a Holiday highlight.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_with_Bender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Travel_with_Bender,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review of your recent stay at The Melia White House Hotel.

We are pleasent to receive such positive comments and particularly for our facilities in general and our very well recognised Spanish restaurant (AA Rosette awarded) L'Albufera.

We are constantly trying our best to maintain the highest level of service at all times in all our outlets.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at Melia White House! Please visit our website melia.com for special rates and our latest promotions.

Best regards from London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here on business. Good location. Excellent value for money. The staff were very helpful and friendly at check-in. Room service was excellent. Gym facilities open 24/7. Room layout great for working late, and I had really good night sleep. Will definitely be booking again when I need to stay over for a late night meeting.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wpfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear wpfs,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor!

It is great to see that your experience of your stay with us met your expectations as we are constantly trying our best to maintain the highest level of service at all times.

We will be glad on welcoming you again on you next visit to London.

Like us on Facebook!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We just spent a night at Melia Whitehouse and thoroughly enjoyed all of our stay.
The check was a bit long but the staff maintained a really friendly disposition and passed out water and little (but to die for) snacks to those queuing so the absolute best was done to keep people comfortable and it wasn't that long for a fully booked hotel. The chap on the desk was friendly and very helpful as we had booked last minute and he hadn't received the booking through. But he was really quick about getting it confirmed and us on our way.
Now I am a little embarrassed for the people who've written reviews and struggled with the lifts, it really is extremely simple - there is a console in front of the lifts. You press the floor you want to go to. The screens shows the letter of the lift you are to go to (A,B,C or D) you enter that lift and it takes you to your floor. Very efficient, different - maybe. Difficult - no!
The room was wonderful. Average London size, small bathrooms - decorated decadently, which might not be everyone's cup of tea, but they are clean and a lovely hot shower with good pressure and a bath.
We were visiting London as an anniversary gift from my family and when the hotel found this out we returned from the theatre to a surprise of a bottle of bubbly and slice of cake in the room!! Such a wonderful touch!! Really made our night!!
The 12noon check out made for a wonderful lie in. Despite the hotel being totally full we didn't hear anything from outside the room and just put the temp to cool for cooler air in the room.
We had prepaid for breakfast and that hadn't reached the hotel but the staff were very eager to get it sorted and just asked I sent them a copy of my confirmation and they would sort that out later so as not to delay us getting breakfast! Very well handled.
Breakfast there was a vast selection and whilst we couldn't have tried everything what we did have was absolutely delicious. And again really helpful staff - despite the few guests we saw being somewhat rude to them. All ran smoothly, felt like we were on holiday, you really felt like it was a Spanish hotel in the breakfast room.
Overall we couldn't have enjoyed our stay more and would definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear LaurandJ,

Thank you for taking your time to share your comments with TripAdvisor Users.

It is incredibly satisfying to know that our efforts to deliver the highest possible level of service are reflected in your pleasant stay. For us was a pleasure celebrate such a special day with you, we always try to make the experience of our guest the most unforgettable one.

We are looking forward welcoming you in case your plans bring you back to London and to Melia White House.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed here May 2014, one night only. Very long, hot check-in queue with lots of staff faffing about with trays of fruit instead of filling the check-in desks to shorten the queue!! Ordered dinner as room service - told a 20 minute wait @930pm. 40 mins later rang the kitchen to be told 'the oven' (really? Just one oven?) had blown up. Would I like to order some cold food? Not really.
I'll have a hot shower and go to bed - oops, no hot water, so that's a cold shower then!
Turns out they run out of hot water regularly at this hotel. Oh - and the lightbulb in the lamp was broken glass ....

So on check out I complained. Got a lot of flannel and although I asked for a reduction or free night this was not forthcoming. After three weeks of back and forth I was offered a free meal, which based on my experience was somewhat insulting.

The hotel is well-located, generally well fitted with attentive staff - and breakfast though busy and a bit cramped was good. But I found the customer service to be superficial in the extreme. Won't be staying again.

Room Tip: Shower early in the evening!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear David A,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor!

We are glad to see that you appreciated our location, which is considered as one of our strongest points, however we are sorry to see that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction and we apologise for any inconvenience experienced. We will take your comments on board as we are always trying to meet our guests’ expectations and provide the best possible service.

We hope to welcome you again back to Meliá White House soon!

Please visit our website melia.com for special rates and our latest promotions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwardsville, Il.
Level Contributor
198 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I had the opportunity to spend five nights at this hotel and my overall experience was quite delightful. I was OK with the "excuse me" room size, but question the wisdom of trying to cram in a king size bed and battleship sized desk in the limited space. otherwise, the room was nicely appointed. The room WiFi was good. The buffet breakfast was quite good, but expensive. There are two Underground stations located nearby, making for great city access. There are plenty of dining/quick shop locations located within a five minute walk.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRTheChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear JRTheChief,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor.

It is true that we have the chance to be located in central of London and we are delighted to see to read that you enjoyed your stay with us in all the possible ways!

Please let us to invite you to try our Executive Room with the Level Experience on your next stay with us as with which one you would be able to enjoy a different room and the breakfast in the Level Lounge.

Melia White House’s team is looking forward welcoming you back!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Level at Melia White House
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#264 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,982 reviews
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia White House

Property: Melia White House
Address: Albany Street, London NW1 3UP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Romantic Hotel in London
#211 Luxury Hotel in London
#216 Business Hotel in London
#225 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia White House 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia White House hotel was built in 1936 and was originally launched as The White House luxury apartments. The hotel’s building still preserves its architectural value as a prime example of art décor style in late 1930s. After a recent refurbishment, guests can now have a more pleasant and unique experience when sating in London. This 4-star deluxe hotel includes 581 rooms, 112 apartments, 9 meeting rooms, 2 restaurants and a bar including a terrace, fitness centre and an executive lounge. The hotel’s unique location, award winning food offering and true passion for service will make of your stay in London a pleasant and unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia White Hotel
Sol Melia London
Melia White House London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing