We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Melia White House
Ranked #285 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
“An excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stay at quite a few hotels in London and Melia White House is one of the best; there's something special about this hotel, the ambience of which you can feel as soon as you walk through the large and imposing revolving door. The hotel - a luxury-looking, 1930s white building as its name suggests - is located just over the road from Great Portland Street tube station in what's known as the Fitzrovia district of London, my favourite area of this city.

There's always a warm welcome from staff at Melia White House and the hotel's facilities and rooms are plush and comfortable. On this occasion I was greeted at reception by Michela from Italy, who was helpful throughout my stay, always giving a smile and remembering me by name as I approached the front desk for directions or assistance.

As a seasoned traveller I have come to appreciate that it's usually a good idea to join a hotel's membership scheme, in this case 'MeliaRewards'. As with most hotel membership schemes, it's free and so really, there's no downside, only upsides. On this occasion, being a member got me a complimentary upgrade to a superior room and a complimentary late check-out to 1:30pm (usually check-out is 12 noon). This is available to members subject to availability, and it's always worth asking.

Also, by booking direct online with the hotel, I automatically received a free £15 voucher to spend in the hotel such as at the L'Albufera restaurant or on room service or in the bar. Unfortunately, I didn't realise the voucher had to be used on the day of arrival (not the next day), but I will know next time. Another nice touch was that on the day I stayed, the hotel was giving out Melia Chinese cookies, with a coupon inside offering a prize. Mine was a 15% discount on my next stay.

The elevator arrangement is slightly quaint: you input your floor number into a pod sticking out of the floor, and then you are told which lift will take you to your floor. As you get into the lift, you don't need to press any more buttons, it takes you straight there.

The room was spacious, airy, spotlessly clean, sound proofed, air conditioned, with a huge kingsize bed and a bath with shower above and array of soaps, moisturisers, shaving kit and toothbrush, etc. I felt it was a home from home.

I cannot think of any complaints and will be happy to stay here again (and receive my 15% discount!)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Jon D,
WOW! We can be only extremely satisfied to read your complete and detailed review.

Many travellers will defeinitely take advantage of your feedback and hopefully we will be welcoming many of them that will be following your tips and past experience!

We love to be considered "special", this is how we consider our guests...

Thank you for taking the time to make us so happy, we appreciated it a lot and all the Melia White House team is already looking forward to welcoming you back soon again...

Visit melia.com for the best available rate for your next stay!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,622
    2,296
    802
    358
    217
See reviews for
1,418
2,180
275
1,486
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We recently visited Melia for 2 days with 2 young children & booked in to a Junior Suite with Level access.

If you are wondering about the level ( as I was) its a private room / restaurant which has free soft drinks (orange juice, coke, etc) / tea & coffee all day, fruit & pastries. After 6 you get free tapas & alcoholic drinks (yes really! free!!) this included red and white wine and bubbly. They also have 2 mac computers, current magazines & huge chess boards.

Breakfast was also amazing, offering the standard full English, loads of fresh fruit, pastries, smoked salmon. I would recommending upgrading for the level if poss.

The room itself was fine, it was clean & well equipped. I was disappointed at having no bottled water in the room & they did not restock the tea but that's me just being picky. Great location for exploring & next door to regents park!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funkyfish5867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear funkyfish5867,
we are very happy to see that you have enjoyed The Level service!

We know how amazing is to spend a stay in a The Level Room enjoying The Level Lounge...the offer is unique and the service is personalized and at a very high level.

We don't include a bottle of water in the room because guests from The Level have free unlimited access to the Lounge, which is open from 7am to 11pm with a pretty huge choice of drinks.

We thank you very much for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a theatre break package. Upon arrival, it seemed as though the hotel staff were not ready for us, and some of our party had to wait quite a while for their rooms to be ready. They were well looked after, though, while waiting.

The lobby was a spectacular grandeous area. Our room was small, but beautifully decorated and the ensuite was good with a bath and a shower.

The beds were comfortable, and we both slept very well.

The breakfast was fantastic with a large choice of foods.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulioMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear JulioMonkey,

Thank you for reviewing your experience following you recent stay at the Melia White House Hotel.
It is a great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our welcoming staff, especially that our room facilities met your expectations.
We are happy to read that you really liked our breakfast to The Place Restaurant. Next time, do not hesitate to ask for our Melia Balance brochure which is a healthy eating program which to enjoy definitely more the diversity and originality of our breakfast !

Please, visit our website melia.com in order to enjoy our last promotion,
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay with us.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I cannot say enough great things about the staff and amenities at this hotel. From Alexis, who was there to greet me upon my arrival, to each and everyone, including Anna, Noemi, Carlos, Jose and ALL of the LEVEL staff, I commend, on their fine service, and hospitality. We all loved the breakfast Buffet and the evening cocktails, as well as the room itself. Our Master Suite was roomy and comfortable.
Perfect location in Mayfair! I will definitely recommend the Melia, to all my friends, and tell them to be prepared for a warm welcome.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Mary W,

Many thanks for leaving such a wonderful review of your recent stay at The Melia White House Hotel.
It is particularly warming to hear that Alexis, Anna, Noemi, Carlos, Jose and all the Level staff were making you feel special in order to appreciate and having a more enjoyable and more memorable stay. A pleasure to share your lovely comment with them !

We are glad to see that you appreciated our practical location in Mayfair less than 2 minutes walking to Regents’ Park or 15 minutes walking to the British Museum !

Thank you very much for recommending the Melia White House to all your friends !
We look forward to welcoming you back personally one more time at the Meliá White House !
Please, visit our website melia.com in order to enjoy our last promotion,

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel location is nice,rooms bit tiny and the breakfast has been good during the stay. I was attending a training there and the setup is good actully. Am picky person when it comes to housekeeping and Melia didnt meet my exoectations. Everything was dusty in the room from mirrors to tables even the glass in the bathroom was dusty as well although we kept windows closed, its not in that room only where we stayed but also we have upgraded the room to family room but it was still dusty. I give this hotel 3 stars.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sima_Droubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Sima_Droubi,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, in the Melia White House.

We are pleased to hear that you could enjoy our breakfast in The Place Restaurant. We are deeply sorry to hear that your last experience of was not to your expectations and satisfaction.
We simply want to be perfect for all of our guests and very keen when guests leave the hotel with warm memories and in your case we failed to achieve this. We apologize for the inconvenience and we take your comments as an opportunity to improve our services.

We truly hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in a near future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I had previously stayed at this hotel as a surpriae birthday present by mt husband.It was wonderful, I was treated extremely well , we stayed in an executive room with level lounge access which was suburb.
As I enjoyedt it so much I booked again upgrading it to a suite along with my husband ans son.
I was really dissatisfied, my suite was not ready ans I had to return twice (hour late).When I got to the suite it was awful, nothing like the picture at all, old scruffy and small.
I complained and was moved within the hour, to a much better suite..what I dont understand is how two suites which were the same price were so different?
Still no extras as promised though, on the site I was told I would get £15 credit per day to spend, and extras for my son ice cream, toys...
when I questioned this I was told to email to get it sorted and to this day have still not had a response....
I was so impressed the first visit am disappointed the second didn't live up to its expectations!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Julie A,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Trip Advisor following you recent stay at the Melia White House Hotel.

While we are obviously disappointed with your feedback about the service, we genuinely appreciate all your comments as it gives us the opportunity to follow up on your experience and to ensure our service is highly maintained.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel was fabulous, arrived with a coach tour. The staff were very helpful. Our room was lovely, bathrobes and slippers were provided.
The breakfast was everything you could ask for, plenty of choice, the staff worked amazingly hard to ensure everyone was served as quickly as possible, all of the staff were extremely pleasant.
The location is brilliant for London sight seeing.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Twin room was spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grizlabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Grizlabeth,

Thank you for posting this very kind review about your recent stay at the Melia White House Hotel.

We are delighted that you had such a good experience of the hotel and it is always great to hear that our guests have fully embraced the facilities which we offer, which it certainly sounds like you have!

Don’t forget to like our Facebook page at Melia White House for our latest news and promotions.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Level at Melia White House
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#250 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,948 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia White House

Property: Melia White House
Address: Albany Street, London NW1 3UP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Romantic Hotel in London
#210 Luxury Hotel in London
#216 Business Hotel in London
#225 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia White House 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia White House hotel was built in 1936 and was originally launched as The White House luxury apartments. The hotel’s building still preserves its architectural value as a prime example of art décor style in late 1930s. After a recent refurbishment, guests can now have a more pleasant and unique experience when sating in London. This 4-star deluxe hotel includes 581 rooms, 112 apartments, 9 meeting rooms, 2 restaurants and a bar including a terrace, fitness centre and an executive lounge. The hotel’s unique location, award winning food offering and true passion for service will make of your stay in London a pleasant and unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Prestigia, Lastminute, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Melia White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia White Hotel
Sol Melia London
Melia White House London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing