We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”
Review of Melia White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia White House
Ranked #293 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is very good hotel!!! I like the kitchen and all the fresh and natural food.
They make a lot of healthy food like smoothies, fresh juices, a lot of salads and meals. It is just fantastic and you can eat healthy and rich food during all of your stay!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear George P,

Thank you for publishing such a nice comment about your stay in the Melia White House and especially about our Food and Beverages quality and variety !

Indeed, in the heart of London you have access to a natural, healthy, delicious, seasonal, fresh and high quality food ! To the Place restaurant you can take away and enjoy our weekly promotions such as our ‘ Sweet Fridays ‘ you can enjoy a FREE dessert with every large salad or hot box purchase !

Do not hesitate to ask for our free loyalty card in order to be rewarded of your very important loyalty !

Thank you one again for the preference you are showing to us and your recommendation.
We always looking forward to Welcome you again !

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,007)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,963 - 1,969 of 7,007 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located next to the Regent's Park, which is a great place for doing some jogging. It's reasonably good located in the city centre and well connected with the underground.
The rooms are very good, most of them with king size bed and a pretty decent bathroom.
The bar is a nice place and the restaurant, while a bit pricey, is a very fine place. The breakfast deserves a special mention for its quality and variety.
The price is high, but in a quite normal range for this quality and location in London.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Felipe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Felipe M,

Many thanks for leaving such a wonderful review of your recent stay at The Melia White House Hotel.

We are glad to see that you appreciated our practical location practical for jogging in Regent’s Park, visit the city and near to the underground and buses stations. Indeed, near to Great Portland Street station, near to Nothing Hill, the British Museum, the Wallace collection, Oxford Street for shopping, Soho for having a drink….!
We are very happy to read that the Room Experience have met your expectations.
Moreover, we are pleased to know that you really liked our breakfast to The Place Restaurant!

Don’t forget to like our Facebook page at Melia White House for our latest news and promotions !
we look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay with us.

With warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel is well sited in Central London very close to the Great Portland Street tube. In London, location is key. The room was fine, but a little dated, and on two days I gave up on breakfast completely because of the length of the queues. I've stayed here on a few occasions and feel that although perfectly ok that this really needs a refresh and restaurant overhaul to stay up to spec.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LuffyMoogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, in the Melia White House.

We are pleased to hear that you could enjoy our breakfast in The Place Restaurant. We are deeply sorry to hear that your last experience was not to your expectations and satisfaction.

We simply want to be perfect for all of our guests and very keen when guests leave the hotel with warm memories and in your case we failed to achieve this.

We apologize for the inconvenience and we take your comments as an opportunity to improve our services.

We truly hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stayed at the hotel as part of a package deal in order to take part in the Prudential Ride London 100,
Great location lovely helpful staff, now the but .As the sportive started in East London & we had to be there an hour before, it was a 04:30 wake up but into a luke warm shower and pack lunch for breakfast (no sure if that was the tour company or the hotel) so not the best early morning start. Rooms were functional . The staff were especially helpful with bicycles but extremely slow when we checked out.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alfred63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Alfred63,

Thank you for taking the time to providing a feedback of your experience at the Melia White House.

We always appreciate all feedback and it is particularly warming to hear that the staff was very helpful with your bicycles in order to assist you and answer to your special needs.
We are sorry for any inconveniences caused upon your check out.
However, we were very glad to receive you during your sportive stay and we would like to congratulate you for the outstanding performance realised.

It will be a real pleasure to welcome you back personally at the Meliá White House and to take a good care of your stay.
Please, visit our website melia.com in order to enjoy our last promotion,

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stay at quite a few hotels in London and Melia White House is one of the best; there's something special about this hotel, the ambience of which you can feel as soon as you walk through the large and imposing revolving door. The hotel - a luxury-looking, 1930s white building as its name suggests - is located just over the road from Great Portland Street tube station in what's known as the Fitzrovia district of London, my favourite area of this city.

There's always a warm welcome from staff at Melia White House and the hotel's facilities and rooms are plush and comfortable. On this occasion I was greeted at reception by Michela from Italy, who was helpful throughout my stay, always giving a smile and remembering me by name as I approached the front desk for directions or assistance.

As a seasoned traveller I have come to appreciate that it's usually a good idea to join a hotel's membership scheme, in this case 'MeliaRewards'. As with most hotel membership schemes, it's free and so really, there's no downside, only upsides. On this occasion, being a member got me a complimentary upgrade to a superior room and a complimentary late check-out to 1:30pm (usually check-out is 12 noon). This is available to members subject to availability, and it's always worth asking.

Also, by booking direct online with the hotel, I automatically received a free £15 voucher to spend in the hotel such as at the L'Albufera restaurant or on room service or in the bar. Unfortunately, I didn't realise the voucher had to be used on the day of arrival (not the next day), but I will know next time. Another nice touch was that on the day I stayed, the hotel was giving out Melia Chinese cookies, with a coupon inside offering a prize. Mine was a 15% discount on my next stay.

The elevator arrangement is slightly quaint: you input your floor number into a pod sticking out of the floor, and then you are told which lift will take you to your floor. As you get into the lift, you don't need to press any more buttons, it takes you straight there.

The room was spacious, airy, spotlessly clean, sound proofed, air conditioned, with a huge kingsize bed and a bath with shower above and array of soaps, moisturisers, shaving kit and toothbrush, etc. I felt it was a home from home.

I cannot think of any complaints and will be happy to stay here again (and receive my 15% discount!)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Jon D,
WOW! We can be only extremely satisfied to read your complete and detailed review.

Many travellers will defeinitely take advantage of your feedback and hopefully we will be welcoming many of them that will be following your tips and past experience!

We love to be considered "special", this is how we consider our guests...

Thank you for taking the time to make us so happy, we appreciated it a lot and all the Melia White House team is already looking forward to welcoming you back soon again...

Visit melia.com for the best available rate for your next stay!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We recently visited Melia for 2 days with 2 young children & booked in to a Junior Suite with Level access.

If you are wondering about the level ( as I was) its a private room / restaurant which has free soft drinks (orange juice, coke, etc) / tea & coffee all day, fruit & pastries. After 6 you get free tapas & alcoholic drinks (yes really! free!!) this included red and white wine and bubbly. They also have 2 mac computers, current magazines & huge chess boards.

Breakfast was also amazing, offering the standard full English, loads of fresh fruit, pastries, smoked salmon. I would recommending upgrading for the level if poss.

The room itself was fine, it was clean & well equipped. I was disappointed at having no bottled water in the room & they did not restock the tea but that's me just being picky. Great location for exploring & next door to regents park!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funkyfish5867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear funkyfish5867,
we are very happy to see that you have enjoyed The Level service!

We know how amazing is to spend a stay in a The Level Room enjoying The Level Lounge...the offer is unique and the service is personalized and at a very high level.

We don't include a bottle of water in the room because guests from The Level have free unlimited access to the Lounge, which is open from 7am to 11pm with a pretty huge choice of drinks.

We thank you very much for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a theatre break package. Upon arrival, it seemed as though the hotel staff were not ready for us, and some of our party had to wait quite a while for their rooms to be ready. They were well looked after, though, while waiting.

The lobby was a spectacular grandeous area. Our room was small, but beautifully decorated and the ensuite was good with a bath and a shower.

The beds were comfortable, and we both slept very well.

The breakfast was fantastic with a large choice of foods.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulioMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear JulioMonkey,

Thank you for reviewing your experience following you recent stay at the Melia White House Hotel.
It is a great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our welcoming staff, especially that our room facilities met your expectations.
We are happy to read that you really liked our breakfast to The Place Restaurant. Next time, do not hesitate to ask for our Melia Balance brochure which is a healthy eating program which to enjoy definitely more the diversity and originality of our breakfast !

Please, visit our website melia.com in order to enjoy our last promotion,
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay with us.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Level at Melia White House
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue
Fitzrovia
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
#561 of 1,076 in London
958 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#338 of 1,076 in London
3,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia White House

Address: Albany Street, London NW1 3UP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Romantic Hotel in London
#211 Luxury Hotel in London
#216 Business Hotel in London
#225 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £112 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia White House 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia White House hotel was built in 1936 and was originally launched as The White House luxury apartments. The hotel’s building still preserves its architectural value as a prime example of art décor style in late 1930s. After a recent refurbishment, guests can now have a more pleasant and unique experience when sating in London. This 4-star deluxe hotel includes 581 rooms, 112 apartments, 9 meeting rooms, 2 restaurants and a bar including a terrace, fitness centre and an executive lounge. The hotel’s unique location, award winning food offering and true passion for service will make of your stay in London a pleasant and unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia White Hotel
Sol Melia London
Melia White House London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing