We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value in centre of London”
Review of Melia White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia White House
Ranked #289 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing value in centre of London”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Had this hotel booked for me as part of a business trip and wasn't expecting much for the money in London. I didn't have the opportunity to try the restaurant or the gym etc. but what I did see of the hotel I was very impressed.

Friendly staff (had my room upgraded which was great) and one of the best rooms I've stayed in to date made this a very enjoyable night and I will undoubtedly be using this hotel again when I'm in London.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TWGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Many thanks for reviewing us on Tripadvisor!
Dear TWGlasgow,

We are glad to see that you had a pleasant stay in your business trip.

On your next stay with us, we recommend you to visit L’Albufera restaurant, an excellent and very well recognised Spanish restaurant (AA Rosette awarded).

We are looking forward to welcome you back at Melia White House soon!

Like our Facebook page at Melia White House for our latest updates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,789
    2,407
    847
    369
    225
See reviews for
1,507
2,293
294
1,561
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (699)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last night and were really impressed with this hotel. Staff are very attentive, we felt very looked after. Room was a little on the small side but really clean. Breakfast was fantastic, lots of choice and again staff were attentive.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisab47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Louisab47,

Thank you for choosing Meliá White House for your recent stay in London and for sharing your feedback.

In our hotel we always aim to offer a high level of service and make the guest feel more than comfortable during his/her stay. We are glad to know that you felt really looked after during your stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I have stayed at the Sol Melia many times as the location is superb,near to the fabulous Regents Park as well as Marylebone with its lovely restaurants and shops.The lobby is bright and the staff are helpful.Only negative was the room, a bit small and the one i stayed in was "tired looking" in need of some paint etc.
Overall though i enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ridgeback80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Melia is our choice of the hotel whenever we travel.
Excellent facilities, friendly staff, scrumptious breakfast, great location .
Added bonus was that we had one night free as the present from Melia reward program for my birthday.
On our next trip to Rome we obviously will stay in Melia!

Room Tip: Always ask for the upgrade, sometimes you can get it for free!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leoni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Leoni K,

Thank you for confirming your loyalty to Meliá Hotels International by choosing Meliá White House for your recent stay in London. We are glad to read that you enjoyed one of the many benefits of our program.

It is great to know that our facilities, our staff, our breakfast and our location impressed you and made your stay memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you once again to London in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Read all the reviews and was looking forward to my trip and as a loyalty card holder expectations were high. Unfortunately, I was disappointed and expressed my views to the hotel. I think they've been fair in offering me an upgrade and meal in The Place restaurant if I return.

I've been using Melia hotels for well over 10 years in Spain and joined the rewards scheme in 2007. The reviews on TA were glowing and I booked one night so Mom and I could go to the Palace and then see Les Miserables the next day. Our room was on the first floor and it was small and dark ~ this was disappointing, but as we were only there for 1 night didn't bother too much. The view was uninspiring and I wished had taken the offer of an upgrade (chargeable) at check in. The bathroom was fine except that we had no hot water ~ that was my biggest complaint. I realise this was beyond the scope of the hotel and I can accept problems happen.

I showered in cold water which trickled to a halt and boiled a kettle for my 90 year old mother! When things go wrong other items are analysed and nit~picked ~ I did email the hotel with my comments. There are good points ~ location was great for us, just a short ride from Marylebone station and so easy to get around with 2 tube stations and buses nearby.

The breakfast selection was also very good, but not hot enough for us. The delicious granary roll was the hottest item on the plate! Check out took too long and the £15 credit for booking online with Melia.com was not allocated. This was sorted out and all the staff are superb. The ambience in the foyer and Longfords bar is good. There was a hiccup in Longfords Bar, but I wouldn't have even bothered with these small items if the room had been better. I realise space is at a premium, but previously stayed at Grange St Paul's and Washington Mayfair where the rooms were large and well furnished. As a loyalty/rewards member I was disappointed with the Melia White House, but I seem to be the only one! There is nothing between average and very good on TA so I've had to put average.

Room Tip: First floor ~ no view! Dark and dismal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marina279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Marina259,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to know more about your stay in Meliá White House. We regret that your experience did not meet your expectations.

We apologise for any inconvenience caused by the mentioned issues with the hot water. Please rest assured that all has been done from the very first moment in order to bring the situation back to normality. We are sorry that your room experience was not satisfactory.

As a loyal member of our Meliá Rewards program, we hope you will keep on trusting in our company.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel for an extended weekend in London. The location is great; walking distance to Regent's Park, Camden, Soho, etc. Service was polite and helpful.

The room was a little bit tired; scuffs on furniture, needed updating. Not sure if all rooms are like this. We had a Queen bed room on the 7th floor. We were able to check in early after our long transatlantic flight, so if we had waited until normal check-in, perhaps a better room would have been available.

Didn't try any restaurants on site. Did ask the concierge for a suggestion one night but it was way off base for what we wanted, so we cancelled the reservation when we got to the restaurant.

Overall great location near Great Portland Street tube stop - would recommend if you can get for a good price (which included free WiFi).

Room Tip: Find out if there are any updated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cybershaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear cybershaz,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. We are glad to know that you really enjoyed our location.

We appreciate your comments on the room furniture, which have been passed to our Management in order to check that all our standards are maintained.

We remain at your disposal for further assistance.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

This is a vibrant hotel with a comfortable, relaxing bar area. Rooms are well equipped and clean with good food choice for breakfast. Good location for Regents Park area and convenient for underground stations

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear William E,

We are glad to read your review of our hotel and to receive such a nice description of our facilities.

Thank you for mentioning our bar area, our rooms and our breakfast offer. Great that you found our location ideal for your plans in London.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Level at Melia White House
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#291 of 1,067 in London
3,056 reviews
South Kensington
NH London Kensington
NH London Kensington
#248 of 1,067 in London
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia White House

Property: Melia White House
Address: Albany Street, London NW1 3UP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Romantic Hotel in London
#213 Luxury Hotel in London
#216 Business Hotel in London
#225 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia White House 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia White House hotel was built in 1936 and was originally launched as The White House luxury apartments. The hotel’s building still preserves its architectural value as a prime example of art décor style in late 1930s. After a recent refurbishment, guests can now have a more pleasant and unique experience when sating in London. This 4-star deluxe hotel includes 581 rooms, 112 apartments, 9 meeting rooms, 2 restaurants and a bar including a terrace, fitness centre and an executive lounge. The hotel’s unique location, award winning food offering and true passion for service will make of your stay in London a pleasant and unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Melia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Melia White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia White Hotel
Sol Melia London
Melia White House London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing