We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cramped and claustrophobic, do not believe the pictures on the website!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dylan Apartments Earls Court
Ranked #988 of 1,063 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cramped and claustrophobic, do not believe the pictures on the website!”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We were very disappointed with our stay. I booked the studio room for two nights for two people and it did not compare to the pictures that we saw on the website. The room was so cramped with very little space for two people; the ‘Kitchenette’ was confined to a tiny cupboard and the cooking facilities were very minimal. The shower room was so small and claustrophobic, and the bathroom door did not shut properly which meant there was a visible gap in the door and therefore no privacy whatsoever. Space was definitely the main problem for us so if you’re at all claustrophobic I do not recommend you stay here! The best part was the comfy bed and functioning TV, and at least there was hot water in the shower! Despite it being a noisy and cramped stay, it is situated in a good location only a 5/10 minute walk from Earls Court Tube station and a few minutes walk away from restaurants and supermarkets. The staff seemed friendly enough but I wouldn’t be coming back here again in a hurry. In addition, internet cost £10 for 24 hours which seems pretty ridiculous to me considering the connection wasn’t even that great. Of all the pictures that we were shown on the website, our studio did not resemble any of them. Not only was the room a good deal smaller than what we were made to believe, the furnishing was also rather odd, with a weird mix of modern and old fashioned decoration which gave the room no character or warmth. One thing for sure, I will not be trusting website images again in future bookings!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loubow91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    59
    74
    85
    248
See reviews for
55
188
57
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

small rooms.but lots of hot water.comfy bed.staff spot on.very helpfull.near tube 10 mins away.supermarket round corner.its very basic room.but very warm.dont think you are getting 5star.but will stay again.very good price fr London.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sue2phill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2013

States on their website that all rooms were luxury, this is not the case the room was cramped, the lavatory didn't match the seat, the shower door failed to close, the shower head leaked over the top and the actual door was a concertina type with a huge gap in the middle which you could quite visibly see through. The window was blocked by the wardrobe, and the room smelt fusty, the staff were very laxy dazy and gave me the impression they were just there running down the clock until the end of their shift. I am very disappointed with the whole experience and I would not recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Rhys P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

ONLY IF YOU WANT TO RUIN YOUR HOLIDAY OR EXPERIENCE IN LONDON STY AT THIS PLACE.I m sure after I ll make a big complaint to health and security department this place will close down if it doesn't take fire itself first as the sockets are loose and wires visible.
So the story is: I booked 2 rooms for family and friends and when they get there they were asked to pay upfront at 2am!! They were given rooms in the basements with no doors in the toilets, no heatings, no hot water...camping would have been more fun at least as they would have been able to move free in the field (no space to turn around basically). I complained 4 times and no manager in the hotel so if anything happens you are stuck in the basement and can die!
After you shower in what they call 'shower/bath'you have firstly the sensation you will go down with the bath as no concrete holds the bath tube! You finish your shower and your feet are in the water again, partly sucked by the carpet attached to the wall and the the loose socket with the hight risk of been Electrocuted!
Should i continue?Ah the service is equal to minus 10! They asked 4 times for hair dryer (when I actually asked over the phone and they said it was in the rooms) and they only got it when I went myself to the Hotel (travelled miles to get there) and complained further !
No refund was given to be put in a prison and no answer from customer service after I was asked to email customer service (which obviously doesn't exist, if manager doesn't exist why customer service would??).
I would not even recomend this place to my worse enemy!!!!

Room Tip: every room is the worse of the one you get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

A really odd little place. Furnished to look very modern (we had a TV in the shower room), but still looks cheap (put the TV on for a laugh and couldn't see the picture for steam).

Very small... cramped is more accurate with nothing much of use in the kitchen, but we did have 5 or 6 kitchen knives???

A bit noisy at night thanks to a near by baby and some slammed doors.

The receptionist wanted to charge use to leave our one small cabin bag there for a few hours after check out and the internet is extortionately pricey.

Decent location (for Earls Court) and OK for a one nights stay but I'd stay elsewhere next time. There are better options out there for the same price.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copenhagen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

It was a sickening experience for me and I expected more value for money. I would not advise anyone to stay here. It was frightening the rooms small, kitenette ok but kitchen equipment was of very poor quality. Just far too small, showers clean but cramped conditions. The pictures on the web site are very misleading.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CopenhagenShelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

On a whole, you get what you pay for. Fortunately we weren't in the room that much. The place on a scale of 1-5 is a 1.5. A place to rest your head and clean yourself. The catering equipment was basic to say the least and the place was stuck together with masking tape. Gold help us if there was a fire as the rooms were so squeezed together I am surprised they passed fire safety regulations. Rude staff (apart from the 2 ladies that were on reception) and generally a bit of a disappointment. The only nice thing in the room was the TV and the french style shutter, however this authentic looking piece of art deco interior was seemingly because they couldn't fit a proper door on! On a whole the stay was OK. Wouldn't go back next year.

Room Tip: shop around - the rooms look nothing like the photos which are very misleading!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucyb1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Premier Inn London Sidcup
#255 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Venture Hostels
#684 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Boka Hotel
Boka Hotel
#746 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Hotel 65
#750 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#727 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dylan Apartments Earls Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylan Apartments Earls Court

Property: Dylan Apartments Earls Court
Address: 27 / 28 Philbeach Gardens | Earls Court, London SW5 9EA, England (Formerly York Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #988 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dylan Apartments Earls Court 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a group of Studio Apartments in Central London, based in Earl's Court, Kensington and Paddington. We specialise in short & long term lettings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Fastbooking, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Dylan Apartments Earls Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dylan Earls Court Apartments Hotel London
York Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing