We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not go back” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dylan Apartments Earls Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dylan Apartments Earls Court
Ranked #1,008 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Would not go back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

Positive feedback: great location and the staff were friendly enough

Unfortunately the negatives far outweighs the positives. Went for a weekend with my boyfriend. Firstly got put in a ground floor apartment. My main issue was the window which looked out onto the garden did not even have a curtain just a screen that did not even go to the end of the window which meant no privacy from outside and no way of closing out the sun. The door to the bathroom wasn't even a door just a plastic concertina. We got shifted to another room without any hassle which at least had a curtain. The new room was tiny and the shower had a giant crack in it. The bathroom was so small there was no room to swing a cat or even hang a towel. The walls,were paper thin and I could here everything not only in the next room but on the whole floor, the wooden floor had cracks in it. The pictures on the website r misleading and grossly inaccurate. The bed seemed clean enough though.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GemmaB849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    59
    72
    84
    242
See reviews for
55
183
55
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Righto, there's a bit of a theme with Dylan Apartments - wish I read the reviews before I stayed there for a week.

Don't even bother looking at the photographs on their web site - the rooms are simply nothing like them. Here's the feedback that we sent them when we left:

The staff were friendly and responded quickly to our concerns. Certainly no problem with human resources at this hotel, however we feel sorely disappointed after staying at your hotel.

Our reasons are as follows:
- your website displays magnificent renovated and refurbished rooms, our rooms however were like hovels.

- in our first room, the bed was old, creaky, uncomfortable and broken. We've slept on comfier floors. The walls were covered in cracks, holes, band aids, stains and some organic material that I recommend you get tested. It was either blood, snot or faeces. The bathroom flooded twice in less than a day. The hair dryer was broken and the kitchenette was barely functionable. For example, the microwave plug didn't reach the socket. We complained and were "upgraded" to a "triple" room.

- the triple room consisted of a single bed and a king single that you are trying to pass off as a double. Again the walls were full of cracks and holes, the carpet (like the first room) looked as if it had been used externally for several years before being relaid in your hotel. In the shower, the plug was full of hair. The bathroom was barely big enough to turn around in. The heater had a thick layer of dust inside it. The curtains didn't cover the whole window so we were woken by the sun each morning. The curtains were also filthy with stains. The room was so hot and the heater was unable to be turned off so we were sweating all night. The windows were useless as they only opened a couple of inches and two were inaccessible behind the kitchenette and wardrobe.

In short, your website is one huge false advertisement. Similar feedback to this has been left on Trip Adviser about your hotel and you will be featured in a YouTube video about what not to do in Europe.

Room Tip: Bring a cardboard box and sleep outside. It'll be much more luxurious and probably cleaner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

I have booked it through a studio there, gosh what a ripppp offff, what did look a good size on pictures was actually a tiny hole with a bed. when i checked in i already had a bad feeling about the place. I stay on the 1 floor room 19, the corridor spelled really bad and when i opened the room, what a shock, the smell was horrible that i wne back downstairs to ask for an hairspray. The tv did not work all day, we had not water all day, when i tried to share my feedback i could see that the staff did not care at all and did not try to resolve any of my issues. Please this place is not worth it at all, DO NOT STAY THERE, if you read any good comment it is writen by of of their staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zaire78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

This place was the worst 5 nights of our whole trip. We were given a room in the basement level, when we first walked in it was obvious that it did not look ANYTHING like the pictures on here or their website. Not only that, it stank like poo, the bathroom had a huge puddle of water on the floor, there were holes in all the walls and ceiling (one even had a bandaid stuck in it) and the walls were splattered with either chocolate or blood or snot (hoping to god it was chocolate). The first night there was terrible, the bed creaked whenever we moved so we spent all night awake. The next day we complained about the bed and room in general and got moved. We were given a "triple" room which would usually be a double bed and single bed... But they were trying to pass off a king single as a double bed. Thank goodness the single bed was there. The bathroom in this one had a disgusting shower curtain and you couldn't move in there unless the door was shut. Even then, it was barely enough room to turn around. The shower plug was full of hair, the heater was covered in a centimeter of dust, there were electrical cables hanging out of the walls, the "kitchen" was just an awkward cupboard that was barely functionable and we were unable to turn the heater off even though we were sweating in there.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Sutton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

The tinyest room I've ever stayed in. It can not be considered an apartment. There was a microwave and one hob. The shower head leaked everywhere and the doors of the shower wouldn't close properly, soaking the floor. There was black mould all up the shower walls. Yuck. No shelf or surface to put anything in the bathroom, so we stored our bathroom stuff on the floor. Only good point is it was literally 3 minutes from Earls court tube station. Avoid.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Good location but the rooms are nothing like the pictures. Stayed there for 3 days. After the first day we've been asked to change the room. In the ne room there was only one TV channel. Complained about it several times,always promised that they'll look into it but without any results. Finally we've been told they we're changing to digital TV and that was a problem they had in the hole hotel, which was a lie as in the previous room we had no problems. After this argument they got somebody and fixed the problem. The rooms are not great, definitely no value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pisi_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We were very disappointed with our stay. I booked the studio room for two nights for two people and it did not compare to the pictures that we saw on the website. The room was so cramped with very little space for two people; the ‘Kitchenette’ was confined to a tiny cupboard and the cooking facilities were very minimal. The shower room was so small and claustrophobic, and the bathroom door did not shut properly which meant there was a visible gap in the door and therefore no privacy whatsoever. Space was definitely the main problem for us so if you’re at all claustrophobic I do not recommend you stay here! The best part was the comfy bed and functioning TV, and at least there was hot water in the shower! Despite it being a noisy and cramped stay, it is situated in a good location only a 5/10 minute walk from Earls Court Tube station and a few minutes walk away from restaurants and supermarkets. The staff seemed friendly enough but I wouldn’t be coming back here again in a hurry. In addition, internet cost £10 for 24 hours which seems pretty ridiculous to me considering the connection wasn’t even that great. Of all the pictures that we were shown on the website, our studio did not resemble any of them. Not only was the room a good deal smaller than what we were made to believe, the furnishing was also rather odd, with a weird mix of modern and old fashioned decoration which gave the room no character or warmth. One thing for sure, I will not be trusting website images again in future bookings!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loubow91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#734 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Earls Court
Boka Hotel
Boka Hotel
#728 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
Chiswick Rooms
Chiswick Rooms
#656 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Venture Hostels
#677 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Premier Inn London Sidcup
#277 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dylan Apartments Earls Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylan Apartments Earls Court

Property: Dylan Apartments Earls Court
Address: 27 / 28 Philbeach Gardens | Earls Court, London SW5 9EA, England (Formerly York Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,008 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dylan Apartments Earls Court 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a group of Studio Apartments in Central London, based in Earl's Court, Kensington and Paddington. We specialise in short & long term lettings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Dylan Apartments Earls Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dylan Earls Court Apartments Hotel London
York Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing