We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meal spoilt unnecessarily”

Cafe Rouge - Kingsway
Ranked #8,375 of 22,544 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$33 - US$46
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Holborn
Description: Just a stone's throw away from the heart of London, Café Rouge Kingsway is a large airy bistro offering the ideal setting to enjoy our fantastic menu, or just unwind over a glass of your favourite. We have the perfect setting to host larger parties and celebrations to a quick pre-theatre dinner or an intimate dinner for two. Book a table now and experience the best bistro in town.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Meal spoilt unnecessarily”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Our meal was exactly as we expected from this chain except for the kitchen staffs inability to recognise a ripe avocado. The first three meagre segments were simultaneously hard and brown I sent them back. The next three were almost identical. I am insulted that they think their customers are so undiscerning and that they would make no effort to rectify the mistake. I gave up at this point and didn't complain to the manager as we had our two young grandchildren with us and were due at the theatre. The waitress was as helpful as she could be and was clearly embarrassed which indicated to me that the kitchen staff were dismissive of my complaint.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank hikingthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    75
    49
    44
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Beat, France
Level Contributor
372 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Had a lovely night with friends - great atmosphere”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

10 of us had our Christmas get together at Café Rouge - the restaurant had organised everything for us and we had an offer booking on line of 20% off the total food bill (which is good because many restaurants limit it to 6 people per table).

The food was lovely, our server was really keen to please and very helpful.

Just enough attention but not interfering - we had a great night.

Couple of things that are constructive criticism only because we really did like this place - we ordered Cointreau and got Armagnac (drank it without complaint because he was so lovely we did not want to upset him). Also said that Salmon was the same as Haddock which we found really amusing. Just need to ensure that the waiting staff understand the menu and the drinks a little more but it did not detract from the evening at all.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScooterJuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
106 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A good location with OK food”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Cafe Rouge has a great location on Kingsway, close to the LSE, theatres etc. However, the restaurant itself is not so great. The food is decent, a little low in terms of value but this is Central London so not much can be done about that. Unless you are in a tearing hurry to eat, I'd spend some time on looking for better alternatives nearby

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scubed82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxted
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very sad”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I went to have a cup of coffee, or so I thought! and a slice of cake with my friend last Tuesday at Café Rouge on Kingsway Holborn and sadly got "served" by this bad attitude waiter who never smiled, was looking rather fed up, forgot to bring a glass of water and when reminded almost reprimanded us . She then produced a milky/aqueous/flavourless cup of "cappuccino" and behaved the same all the time , even when asked to bring the bill. And as if this experience was not unpleasant enough, I went to the loo and cut my hand with the soap dispenser to the point of seriously bleeding, because the edges were incredibly sharp! No wonder they remain rather empty most days!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnaKOxted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A typical tourist trap - poor quality”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This restaurant is located closed to a number of shows and theaters and we visited just after a performance at the Peacock Theatre which basically is across the street. The interior and lay-out is over all not uninviting and of a typical "french bistro/café" look-a-like. We ordered olives and baton bread for nipples. The bread was okay so were the olives, however the amount of olives served was ridiculous small. We opted for their most expensive main course a 7 oz fillet steak - ordered respectively medium and medium rare. The steak, which was served had never been 7 oz, but was not more than 5 oz (150 gram) - maximum. One of them was done medium, but the one ordered medium rare, was completely well done and was sent back. A new one was served a little later this time correctly medium rare. The béarnaise sauce served was piping hot and the butter had clearly separated. Everyone knows that a proper béarnaise sauce can't be boiling hot - this is down to physics - and the taste was correspondingly awful. The meal was all in all of a poor quality, which clear cost-cutting corners being made and this place can not be recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Rouge - Kingsway also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Rouge - Kingsway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing