We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing...”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Pescheria Mattiucci - CLOSED

Pescheria Mattiucci
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighbourhood: Notting Hill
London
2 reviews
“Very disappointing...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We had dinner at Pescheria today. While the interior is quirky, the food was very disappointing. We do not mind to wait for a long while, but when the food arrives and it is also not good, that is a complete let down. The prices are far too high, 20 pounds for five smaller scampi is outrageous, the pasta dish had one small cherry tomato and some flakes of fish for GBP 19.50. All our dishes were served at different times, the kitchen seemed completely overwhelmed. The seabass was a tiny portion again for GBP 21.50 a real insult. I do not think we will return, since the quality is far below what can be expected and the prices are just ridiculous.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pascale Daniele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    3
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fresh fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

This restaurant is great - the fish is so fresh and restaurant interior is quirky. The other week, I had the "queeny" scallops and mash as a starter - REALLY good. For main, I had octopus lasagne - also a winner. Have had the raw fish plate many times and is a favourite of mine, and the starters are usually excellent. When I go with friends, usually order the starters as tapas to taste them all. I don't get the gripes about the portion size - sure it is not the size of american meals but we were not left hungry (the lasagne last wk was actually a bit too large in my opinion).

it is true that it is not a budget restaurant - it is a boutique fish restaurant that sources the produce from Italy overnight. That said it not super expensive - I don't think anything was over 20 pounds. It won't be for everyone but those who like fresh fish will taste the difference.
The wine is also very good. Will be going back soon!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous Fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

I love this place, I live on Portobello road and regularly dine here. The food is delicious, the staff are very lovely and inviting. The atmosphere is fantastic, got a very quirky and vintage feel. You're guaranteed to always have a great time. The mussels are amazing, the anchovies- absolutely divine. The best wild fish in West London by far. Definitely, would give it a visit!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
“Amazing and a true find ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

This quirky little restaurant is a true find. From walking in to the smells the decor and the lovely owner Cristina you'd think you were in Naples.

The menu has a good selection and the wine is delightful (they also sell excellent beer for the non-wine lovers)

I've been three times now and the mussels are to die for and the handmade ravioli with prawns is amazing.

The best dish is the crudo which is like a walk round the medditerranen... There is defiantly enough to share in this portion and so between 2 and possibly 3 a good starter.

The service is lovely... Cristina and her team are just simply amazing.

This is well worth a visit and you won't be dissapointed.

Helpful?
Thank Gazza2777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average food, stingy portions”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I had dinner with a friend at Pescheria Mattiucci last night and we were left sorely disappointed. The portion sizes were tiny and the prices were over-inflated. We both ordered the seabass with bulgur wheat as our mains, expecting a beautiful thick cut of fish and a generous portion of bulgur to accompany it but were instead served two small, thin cuts of fish with a tiny portion of bulgur. When we asked for more bulgur to accompany our meal so we weren't left hungry, they had the audacity to bring out a saucer with no more than three tablespoons of bulgur on it for us to share. We had to laugh. Would definitely avoid!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pescheria Mattiucci also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing