We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always tasty - especially the kimchi”
Review of Mushu - CLOSED

Mushu
Price range: US$15 - US$23
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Fitzrovia
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always tasty - especially the kimchi”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Eat here quite often - think you need to pick carefully and I always order extra spicy sauce. Potstickers and dumplings are lovely and they also have kimchi (a spicy, pickled/fermented cabbage) which is great to have as a side dish

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Enjoyed most of it”
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

We went here because it accepts tastecard. We ordered a few from the sushi menu nd a few from the sharing plates menu. These were all pretty good & tasty, the sushi very fresh. The food came out staggered, which was fine for us. However the yakisoba noodles we ordered were very ordinary. They were tasteless and bland.
There isn't much atmosphere, it's very clean, only a couple of photos on the wall. While the guy that served us was helpful, explaining the way we could get maximum effect from the tastecard, between the 2 staff members, service was pretty poor. Our plates were cleared and after 15 minutes we had to get someone's attention for the bill. There was also another table nearby that had to stand up to get someone's attention, and they were brought the bill when they actually wanted to order more food.
I would go here again, but just don't go with high service expectations. There is an optional service of 10% put on the bill, but BEFORE any discount is applied, so the service ended up being about 15% on our bill.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoriakm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We've been a couple of times as it's close to the office and is the nearest place that's a close approximation of Wagamama's. I can't fault the staff as they're nice and friendly and the place is pretty clean. But I've had their noodle soup and to be honest it's pretty underwhelming being made up of mostly plain water. Barely any veg or garnish in it and the wonton are fairly tasteless. There's so many nicer places nearby I wouldn't bother.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 88Martin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great japanese food”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Great value japanese.
Perfect for light bites and lunch.
They do great potstickers and the kariaghi chicken is good too

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank duffyrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely dumplings”
Reviewed 21 November 2012 via mobile

Staying nearby and wanted to eat some Dim Sum which we can't easily get at home. The dumplings, of which we had 2 varieties, were excellent. Other dishes very good too. Don't usually have cocktails in a restaurant but was tempted by the ones on offer and not disappointed. Didn't try the sushi but would if had the opportunity to return. Given a couple of mugs of jasmine tea on the house as we'd ordered quite a lot of food and alcohol. Admittedly I would have preferred a pot and small cups but was a good palate cleanser at the end of a satisfying meal

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Artreus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mushu also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing