We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable and flexible japanese restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mushu - CLOSED

Mushu
Price range: US$15 - US$23
Cuisines: Chinese, Sushi, Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating
Neighbourhood: Fitzrovia
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and flexible japanese restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We picked Mushu as a place for a fairly early dinner (5.30pm) before a visit to the New Diorama Theatre. The modus operandi of the restaurant is that of a japanese tapas bar - diners choose a selection of smallish shareable dishes.

We did not have any sushi as it was quite a cold day, and instead concentrated on hot dishes. One of our favourite japanese recipes is nasu dengaku (aubergine) and we centred our choices around this.

All of the food was well presented, tasty and reasonable in portioning. Particularly good were the potsticker pork and cabbage dumplings, the aforementioned nasu dengaku, and the beef teriyaki. We had seven dishes, some rice, and kimchi between us, and with two flasks of sake, tea and miso soup, the bill came to £84 including 10% service, which seems fair enough.

The service was attentive but not cloying.

I quite liked the simple decor.

I would return again if eating in the Warren Street area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaurenceMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

A few simple statements:
Food is good but not amazing
Good value with the tastecard
Take your plate before you are finished
Chairs falling apart
Dessert still frozen
Manager chasing us for tips

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chloe_London10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great little Japanese place on the Euston Road/Warren Street”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I really like Mushu. Everything is cooked to order and is very fresh. I either have their pork wonton soup (delicious) or their chicken karaage bento box (incredibly delicious).

I think the noodle dishes tend to be a bit smaller so I'd go for one of the bentos if you want something filling.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonZoeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always tasty - especially the kimchi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Eat here quite often - think you need to pick carefully and I always order extra spicy sauce. Potstickers and dumplings are lovely and they also have kimchi (a spicy, pickled/fermented cabbage) which is great to have as a side dish

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Enjoyed most of it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

We went here because it accepts tastecard. We ordered a few from the sushi menu nd a few from the sharing plates menu. These were all pretty good & tasty, the sushi very fresh. The food came out staggered, which was fine for us. However the yakisoba noodles we ordered were very ordinary. They were tasteless and bland.
There isn't much atmosphere, it's very clean, only a couple of photos on the wall. While the guy that served us was helpful, explaining the way we could get maximum effect from the tastecard, between the 2 staff members, service was pretty poor. Our plates were cleared and after 15 minutes we had to get someone's attention for the bill. There was also another table nearby that had to stand up to get someone's attention, and they were brought the bill when they actually wanted to order more food.
I would go here again, but just don't go with high service expectations. There is an optional service of 10% put on the bill, but BEFORE any discount is applied, so the service ended up being about 15% on our bill.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoriakm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mushu also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing