We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eating Nepalese at Home”
Review of Gurkha Cottage

Gurkha Cottage
Reserve with OpenTable
Gurkha Cottage is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4,872 of 22,827 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Nepalese
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Eating Nepalese at Home”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Had home delivery of food from this excellent establishment. The food arrived quickly and in fine condition. The Green chicken and the specially cooked lamb shank were magnificent but the mo-mo starters were the stars of the show! And a 30% discount for it being a Wednesday!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PFBrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    22
    8
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Gurkha Cottage- Crystal Palace”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

So just been to the Gurkha Cottage in Westow Hill (Crystal Palace) For me one word says it all "Shamazing"! We had the Ajwain Jhinga which is chargrilled tiger prawns with yoghurt and carmon seeds, was so tasty! Flavours were fab! For Main course we had the Sherpa Chicken, this dish is cooked with about 16 different spices, and you can tell as the dish is so flavoursome! We also had the green chicken curry ( not as hot as the Sherpa but still a little spicy!) this dish was amazing! Overall the food was fab,cooked beautifully, comes highly recommended! couldn't fault the service, it's definitely worth a visit, and to top it off very good value for money! So what are you waiting for!! Claire & Damone

Helpful?
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Himalayan Experience in Crystal Palace”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I know that Crystal Palace is hilly but this is ridiculous! There is actually some excellent North Indian food to be had in this location. The restaurant is well-set out, clean and comfortable with the staff attentive, chatty and knowledgable. The food was clearly freshly prepared using good ingredients, with the momos as good as any I have tasted (and I have visited Sikkim on numerous occasions). The whole experience was good value for money and a pleasant experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PFBrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamar, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service to an affordable price”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We where 17 people dropping in without an reservation and they handled us very well, with excellent service. The menu is a mix of Nepalese and Indian food. Appetisers (£2.95-5.95), Tandooris (£6.70-11.50), Cottage Platters (£10.49-13.95), Veggies (£5.70), Poultry (£6.45-8.80), Lamb (£6.80-7.40) and Seafood (£6.95-11.95). I had the Nepalese speciality, Lamb Momo as a starter. Delicious. And the Karahi for main. Excellent.

I strongly recommend the place and the lovely couple who's been running it since 2002.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MorganF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nepalese a nice change”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Have been here a couple of times now, and pleased each time I've gone back. Impeccable service and very tasty food at reasonable prices. Nepalese made a nice change from the Indian and Pakistani curry houses and grills I normally go to. The food here is more about flavour and spice that sheer "hotness" so if you like your food hot you should tell them.

Would highly recommend the Nepalese fish curry (Malekhu Machha), a couple of my friends chose the butter chicken which they were very happy with. I'd also go for the momos as a starter which are traditional Nepalese dumplings but they are very light and won't spoil your appetite for the main,

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maneenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gurkha Cottage also viewed

 

Been to Gurkha Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing