We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay with a spacious room and a lovely breakfast!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
John and Norma's Homestay B&B
Ranked #7 of 554 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stenungsund, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with a spacious room and a lovely breakfast!”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed at John and Normas for two night in November this year. They are very friendly and welcoming hosts, who were kind enough to pick us up at the tube station late in the evening. They also drove us back early in the morning the day of departure.
The room we stayed in was spacious, clean, quiet, with a large and comfortable bed. Small details such as hairdryer etc was in the room. The bathroom was also really nice.
What surprised us the most was the enormous, varied breakfast they offered in the morning.
The B&B is relatively close to the underground, and getting into central London takes roughly 45 minutes. We would warmly reccomend friends and family to stay here.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms, the double is avaibale to couples, and both rooms are used if families vis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
97
69
14
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
legoland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

John and Norma are gracious hosts and will try their best to help you.
Every morning John printed for us the daily forecast and this is a simple gesture yet very thoughtful! John lent us even the umbrella for the bad weather.
We've stayed in the double room with the bathroom, not en suite, but in the very next door, so not really a problem. A closet was quite spatious and tv and dvd worked fine. Free wi-fi available in the room.
Breakfast is vegetarian (no bacon!) plus eggs/milk. Plenty of fruits and cheese.
The breakfast room is available 24/24 so you can drink something warm just before going to bed.
A 5 minute ride from bounds green station (piccadilly line) with buses running every 8-12 minutes.
A tad expensive, but worth it if you want a CLEAN place in London.
It's in the north area and around 30 minutes from Leicester Sq..
To us it was a good location 'cause we didn't mind the ride on the underground.
Of course, we'll stay here again.
It's more a 4.5 stars than 4.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yumiyoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay with John and Norma. We each had our own comfortable rooms and shared a spacious bathroom. The breakfast room was always available to us, which we found very convenient when rising early or returning later at night. John and Norma were most accommodating in every respect, and gave us excellent advice. Muswell Hill is a safe area and extremely convenient to shops and restaurants. We could not have been happier and will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: This is a great value if two people who are travelling together wish to have separate rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra3243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My husband I stay with John and Norma for 1 night while we were attending a music festival at Ally Pally. It was perfect for us. They quite happily allowed us to drop off our stuff early on the Saturday followed by offers of cup of tea and excellent directions of the surrounding area. Particularly a lovely Italian Café in the park which was a lovely place to have a late breakfast in the Autumn sunshine.

The room was lovely, clean tidy and comfortable and the breakfast the next morning was really wonderful. A full selection of food and very tasty. Exactly what we needed before another day of music!

Would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone travelling to London as it was a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for just one night with my husband to attend a concert at the Ally Pally, which is just a short walk away. I can endorse all the positive comments here about the accommodation. Spotlessly clean and a wonderful breakfast. I really appreciated the assistance we received with directions and local information. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RosieJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Son en Breugel, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We very much enjoyed our 5-night stay (part business, part holiday) with John and Norma. They are very friendly and helpful, providing weather reports, local info on transport, restaurants and sites, and the use of an Oyster card while we got our own. The room is lovely and spacious, with nice large windows.
Breakfast is a sight to behold, with lots of choice including a variety of fresh fruit. On my work days they were happy to provide breakfast at the ungodly hour I requested, and served it with the same good humor and smiles.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RobvL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

John and Norma's home is lovely and comfortable. Our family had one floor to ourselves (2 rooms and a bathroom), so it felt like we were visiting friends. The rooms are well appointed and spacious. Breakfast is beautiful, abundant and delicious! And although Muswell Hill can be anywhere from a half hour to an hour away from the main sights of London, the vicinity of public transport and John and Norma's handy Oyster Cards made getting around easy. Plus, there are some great things to visit nearby as well as excellent restaurants and shops. John and Norma are gracious, accommodating hosts and know central London equally well as their own neighborhood. The the price is right!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
White Lodge Hotel
#406 of 1,069 in London
209 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Drayton Court Hotel
#10 of 554 in London
613 reviews
Pimlico
Georgian House
Georgian House
#12 of 554 in London
446 reviews
Roseview Hotel
#234 of 554 in London
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John and Norma's Homestay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John and Norma's Homestay B&B

Property: John and Norma's Homestay B&B
Address: 74 Coniston Road, London N10 2BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 554 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a new B&B in the vibrant Muswell Hill area of North London. Our nearest tube stations are Highgate and Bounds Green. We have a stylish double room and a single/twin room, both with LCD televisions and Wi-Fi. You can book the double room on its own with exclusive use of the bathroom, or book both rooms and share the bathroom. Perfect for a family of 3-4 or a group of 3-4 adults. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
John And Norma`s Homestay Bed And Breakfast
John And Norma`s Homestay Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing