We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A splendid time is guaranteed for all”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
John and Norma's Homestay B&B
Ranked #9 of 573 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A splendid time is guaranteed for all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Just got back from out third visit to this property, in Muswell Hill (North London). Quality is still high, and the hosts are still as helpful and friendly as ever. We reserved both rooms, meaning we had the property to ourselves. Rooms were comfortable, with flat-screen TVs and a shared bathroom (private to the guests). Wifi was provided by two routers, and was fast and never went down in the week we were there. Breakfast was very generous, with fresh fruit, veggies (tomatoes and cucumbers), breads, yogurt, and a choice of egg dish. As other reviewers have noted, the owners are vegetarians, so no bacon or sausage is served. Within a five-minute walk is the high street, with grocery stores, off-licenses, a wide variety of restaurants, banks, and a friendly pub (O'Neill's) which is housed in what used to be a church. The tube station (Bounds Green) is a five-minute bus ride down the hill, and from there it's a 40-minute tube ride to Knightsbridge (Harrod's), for example. As such, it is worth noting that if you stay here it's probably most practical to plan on being out all day, and coming back in the evening to finish up in Muswell Hill. We like this approach because it gives us a chance to be tourists in central London during the day, and act like residents at the local pubs and restaurants in the evening. John and Norma have a wealth of suggestions for activities, and were happy to arrange transportation to and from Heathrow. It's nice to feel like we're staying with friends when we travel, and we'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELPFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
92
64
13
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Find the home of John & Norma was a snap, thanks to their information.
  Once we arrived, we felt immediately at ease: maximum cleaning in a very nice house located in a quiet and very friendly guests.
We feared it was too far away from the central areas but the proximity to public transport and their efficiency makes traveling very fast, 5 minutes by bus and 20/25 minutes by subway to get to many famous destinations in London, then you just have to walk.
The breakfasts were excellent, both sweet and savory, served with different varieties of bread always warm, we had the pleasure of eating some good eggs with toasted slices of bread toasted and buttered .... beautiful ..
John & Norma were very kind and always ready to give all the information needed to turn to the best London.
Finally, a 5-minute walk to Muswell Hill, a nice center to visit and where we ate perhaps the best Fish & Chips in London.
Clearly, four days could not be sufficient to see all the sights of London and for this we will be back and we will be happy to again be hosted at the home of John & Norma.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stenungsund, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed at John and Normas for two night in November this year. They are very friendly and welcoming hosts, who were kind enough to pick us up at the tube station late in the evening. They also drove us back early in the morning the day of departure.
The room we stayed in was spacious, clean, quiet, with a large and comfortable bed. Small details such as hairdryer etc was in the room. The bathroom was also really nice.
What surprised us the most was the enormous, varied breakfast they offered in the morning.
The B&B is relatively close to the underground, and getting into central London takes roughly 45 minutes. We would warmly reccomend friends and family to stay here.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms, the double is avaibale to couples, and both rooms are used if families vis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
legoland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

John and Norma are gracious hosts and will try their best to help you.
Every morning John printed for us the daily forecast and this is a simple gesture yet very thoughtful! John lent us even the umbrella for the bad weather.
We've stayed in the double room with the bathroom, not en suite, but in the very next door, so not really a problem. A closet was quite spatious and tv and dvd worked fine. Free wi-fi available in the room.
Breakfast is vegetarian (no bacon!) plus eggs/milk. Plenty of fruits and cheese.
The breakfast room is available 24/24 so you can drink something warm just before going to bed.
A 5 minute ride from bounds green station (piccadilly line) with buses running every 8-12 minutes.
A tad expensive, but worth it if you want a CLEAN place in London.
It's in the north area and around 30 minutes from Leicester Sq..
To us it was a good location 'cause we didn't mind the ride on the underground.
Of course, we'll stay here again.
It's more a 4.5 stars than 4.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yumiyoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay with John and Norma. We each had our own comfortable rooms and shared a spacious bathroom. The breakfast room was always available to us, which we found very convenient when rising early or returning later at night. John and Norma were most accommodating in every respect, and gave us excellent advice. Muswell Hill is a safe area and extremely convenient to shops and restaurants. We could not have been happier and will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: This is a great value if two people who are travelling together wish to have separate rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra3243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

My husband I stay with John and Norma for 1 night while we were attending a music festival at Ally Pally. It was perfect for us. They quite happily allowed us to drop off our stuff early on the Saturday followed by offers of cup of tea and excellent directions of the surrounding area. Particularly a lovely Italian Café in the park which was a lovely place to have a late breakfast in the Autumn sunshine.

The room was lovely, clean tidy and comfortable and the breakfast the next morning was really wonderful. A full selection of food and very tasty. Exactly what we needed before another day of music!

Would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone travelling to London as it was a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for just one night with my husband to attend a concert at the Ally Pally, which is just a short walk away. I can endorse all the positive comments here about the accommodation. Spotlessly clean and a wonderful breakfast. I really appreciated the assistance we received with directions and local information. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RosieJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
White Lodge Hotel
#409 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
The Drayton Court Hotel
#7 of 573 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kennington B & B
#49 of 573 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Pimlico
Georgian House
Georgian House
#12 of 573 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Kandara Guest House
#27 of 573 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John and Norma's Homestay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John and Norma's Homestay B&B

Property: John and Norma's Homestay B&B
Address: 74 Coniston Road, London N10 2BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a new B&B in the vibrant Muswell Hill area of North London. Our nearest tube stations are Highgate and Bounds Green. We have a stylish double room and a single/twin room, both with LCD televisions and Wi-Fi. You can book the double room on its own with exclusive use of the bathroom, or book both rooms and share the bathroom. Perfect for a family of 3-4 or a group of 3-4 adults. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
John And Norma`s Homestay Hotel London
John And Norma`s Homestay Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing