We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in North London”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
John and Norma's Homestay B&B
Ranked #8 of 571 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

First and foremost, this must be one of the best B&B's in London. The area is fantastic and you can get a good night's sleep as it is very quiet. Easy access to Central London on the bus and tube (Piccadilly line). Great restaurants on Muswell HIll Broadway, therefore no need to travel back to Central London. John and Norma are lovely and we very much enjoyed their hospitality and Norma's breakfast. If you don't like big hotels, book your room at John & Norma's Homestay B&B. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ideal for families as they have two rooms and one bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jutta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the end of March with John & Norma and it was perfect for us as we wanted to stay near Muswell Hill and East Finchley and also have ready access into the centre of London for museum and gallery visits etc. The room was very comfortable, light and pleasant, the bathroom immediately adjacent was fine, and they were very hospitable and friendly; the breakfasts were also very generous. We will certainly be back again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The room which me and my husband stayed in for 8 nights was very spacious and light. Light color of the room complimented by fresh flowers that were periodically replaced by John added even more airy and relaxing atmosphere. Even though the bedroom is not en-suite we didn't feel any discomfort because the bathroom is located next door, we were exclusive users of it and we were not disturbed because both rooms are located on the upper floor away from owners rooms.
The bedroom and bathroom were organized and cleaned every day. John and Norma thought of many little things that guest might need during their stay like scissors, UK power adaptor, daily printout of weather forecast, toothpaste, bath salts, Oyster transportation cards and many other.
The breakfast was vegetarian with selection of fresh fruits, dairy products and eggs. We had a chance to be served by John while Norma was away, John was serving us breakfast with the same excellence as Norma did and it was very nice to chat with him during breakfast or evening tea times.

B&B is located in Northen London away from busy and stressfull center. The neighbourhood is perfect, nice houses, quiet and peacefull atmosphere. It was not difficult for us to get to central London, the bus stop for tube is located very close to the house. The trip to central London was taking no more than 35 minutes by tube. It is good alternative for central London accomodation, we enjoyed quietness of neighborhood and were able to travell all around London with no problem.

PROS
1) Quiet, peaceful and safe neighborhood
2) Close location of bus stops for buses that go to tube station and shops/restaurants in the area.
3) Restaurants in the area are very good, can advise Japanese/Korean restaurant Midori and Italian pasta bar Fasta that we very much enjoyed several times. We liked them much better than the ones in central London.
4) Spacious and light room with big and comfortable bed
5) Friendliness and helpfulness of owners
6) Free of charge laundry
7) Attention to detail and to the needs of the guests
8) Flexibility in room prices when choosing longer stay
9) Privacy for us means a lot. During our stay we never been disturbed or bothered by owners.

CONS
1) The same food every day: despite of good selection of fruits, diary products and pastries for breakfast we got used to the same set of food and after 3-4 days couldn't eat it with the same passion like on first days. Even though the breakfast looked absolutely perfect, maybe it would be better to alternate various dishes, add several small salads, various non sweet spreads or even add fish to make them more filling and warming during cold times.

2) We felt cold at times: the temperature of the shower was not enough warm for us. The temperature of water could be adjusted up to 38 maximum which was not enough during colder days and we had to fill the bath tube with hot water to warm ourselves up. The heating in the house was not running periodically, it seemed to us that it was on during the day and was off closer to morning hours which were the coldest.

The above mentioned CONS are minor and we don't consider them significant disadvantages. It all depends on the people and their needs. If we needed to stay in London again we would pick the same B&B. The most important for us was a good and friendly attitude, the feeling of safety and relaxation during our stay and the comfort of our room. This B&B would be good for a romantic stay for couples, business trip as the room has a table, two comfortable chairs and an armchair. It will also suite a family as they have additional room for extra family member or children.

Overall we very much liked our stay at John and Norma's Homestay B&B and would advise it to everyone who value privacy, luxury accommodation and quiet atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ju1ianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We had a brief but very pleasant stay with John and Norma this past summer, so it was an easy call as to where to stay for our ten night London theatre/museums/galleries trip in January of 2014. We enjoyed their fantastic hospitality of course, but more than that; John and Norma are warm, friendly, creative, and interesting people. They go the extra mile for their guests, and helped us on more than one occasion, going above and beyond what you might experience at other B&Bs. The main bedroom where we stayed is bright, cheerful (fresh flowers!) and welcoming. It had plenty of closet space for each of us, a desk and flat screen TV and great Wi Fi. My husband just loves Norma's scrambled eggs with chives, and I loved the great selection of warmed breads, croissants, and crumpets, not to mention the jams, fresh fruits, cheeses, veggies, and freshly brewed coffee and teas. The Oyster Cards they provided were most useful. We never waited more than a few minutes for the bus to/from the Bounds Green Tube station even returning late from the theatre in the West End. Oh, and the shower is lovely! We always got our busy days off to a good start having such a nice bathroom next to our room.That means a great deal to tired travelers. We were most grateful for the rides John gave us to and from the Tube on our arrival and departure days. Once we got on the Tube, it was a straight shot to/from Heathrow. Being on the Piccadilly Line, it was easy to access the other Tube lines and we went everywhere with no problem. John and Norma give great advice if needed on things to do in their area of Muswell Hill a well as London. We would absolutely put John and Norma's Homestay at the top of our list for any return visit to London. Thanks, John and Norma, for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: There are two rooms, so if you have and extra person or two, you can reserve both rooms as we did la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We had a fabulous time staying with John and Norma for 2 nights in January 2014.

The location is fantastic for exploring north London. It is very conveniently located for public transport.

John and Norma are wonderful hosts. The rooms are extremely comfortable and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was exceptional. The view from the main bedroom is lovely.

We were travelling with children (8 and 10). The room set up was perfect for us.

Everything was absolutely perfect. Refreshing change from hotel rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Aspley4034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

The 3 nights I stayed at Norma and John's were a delight. Both hosts were warm and incredibly friendly even inviting me to dinner with their friends. As I was working I also found it a quiet and suitable place to work too. Muswell Hill is only a 2 min walk away and has loads of great cafes, shops etc. You can spend a few days just exploring the immediate area. I loved John and Norma's house. Can't wait to return.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Saltypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

John and Norma, were great host. We had both rooms for me and my partner and a friend. Location for us was perfect, breakfast was great from warm baked rolls/croissants and crumpets to fruit and cheese and biscuits. Eggs of your choice, toast, tea coffee, fruit juices and the list goes on. They asked if were going in the city and offer the use of the oyster cards but we were visiting local. But the offer was appreciated. Will definitely go back again next December all being well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank duckie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#9 of 571 in London
172 reviews
Charlotte Guest House
#17 of 571 in London
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Drayton Court Hotel
#7 of 571 in London
711 reviews
The Lilac Door
#10 of 571 in London
197 reviews
Pimlico
Georgian House
Georgian House
#14 of 571 in London
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John and Norma's Homestay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John and Norma's Homestay B&B

Address: 74 Coniston Road, London N10 2BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 571 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £53 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a new B&B in the vibrant Muswell Hill area of North London. Our nearest tube stations are Highgate and Bounds Green. We have a stylish double room and a single/twin room, both with LCD televisions and Wi-Fi. You can book the double room on its own with exclusive use of the bathroom, or book both rooms and share the bathroom. Perfect for a family of 3-4 or a group of 3-4 adults. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
John And Norma`s Homestay Hotel London
John And Norma`s Homestay Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing