We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do I need to write this!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
John and Norma's Homestay B&B
Ranked #8 of 555 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Do I need to write this!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Reading all the excellent reviews John and Norma have on Tripadvisor what can I add really!
They are the number #1 B&B in London because they deserve it. They offer a lovely big room and great situation (Muswell Hill), and they obviously love what they do as they offer a service above and beyond anything I have ever experienced in any 5 star hotel.
The only things people in previous reviews have been critical of are Muswell Hill not being central. I think its refreshing to get out of the centre of London, there is the bonus of a bigger room and you get to explore north London, Kenwood House, Highgate wood, Alexandra Palace, Highgate Cemetery, & Hampstead Heath are all worth a visit. And really central London is just a sort bus ride.

The breakfasts are vegetarian, no problem as the quantity is so enormous you really wont need to eat again until the evening, all kinds of cheeses, cereals, breads and pastries are offered, then come the eggs - Norma is a generous and skilled cook.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Deborah Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
94
64
14
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We spent 5 nights at the end of April. We had a great experience and the hospitality was wonderful. John and Norma are very friendly. We will certainly come back in the future and tell our friends to choose this B&B.
Alberto, Sabina & Ludovico

Room Tip: Ideal for a family as you have available the entire floor where the rooms are located
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ludovico_strasbourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gutersloh, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

First and foremost, this must be one of the best B&B's in London. The area is fantastic and you can get a good night's sleep as it is very quiet. Easy access to Central London on the bus and tube (Piccadilly line). Great restaurants on Muswell HIll Broadway, therefore no need to travel back to Central London. John and Norma are lovely and we very much enjoyed their hospitality and Norma's breakfast. If you don't like big hotels, book your room at John & Norma's Homestay B&B. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ideal for families as they have two rooms and one bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jutta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the end of March with John & Norma and it was perfect for us as we wanted to stay near Muswell Hill and East Finchley and also have ready access into the centre of London for museum and gallery visits etc. The room was very comfortable, light and pleasant, the bathroom immediately adjacent was fine, and they were very hospitable and friendly; the breakfasts were also very generous. We will certainly be back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The room which me and my husband stayed in for 8 nights was very spacious and light. Light color of the room complimented by fresh flowers that were periodically replaced by John added even more airy and relaxing atmosphere. Even though the bedroom is not en-suite we didn't feel any discomfort because the bathroom is located next door, we were exclusive users of it and we were not disturbed because both rooms are located on the upper floor away from owners rooms.
The bedroom and bathroom were organized and cleaned every day. John and Norma thought of many little things that guest might need during their stay like scissors, UK power adaptor, daily printout of weather forecast, toothpaste, bath salts, Oyster transportation cards and many other.
The breakfast was vegetarian with selection of fresh fruits, dairy products and eggs. We had a chance to be served by John while Norma was away, John was serving us breakfast with the same excellence as Norma did and it was very nice to chat with him during breakfast or evening tea times.

B&B is located in Northen London away from busy and stressfull center. The neighbourhood is perfect, nice houses, quiet and peacefull atmosphere. It was not difficult for us to get to central London, the bus stop for tube is located very close to the house. The trip to central London was taking no more than 35 minutes by tube. It is good alternative for central London accomodation, we enjoyed quietness of neighborhood and were able to travell all around London with no problem.

PROS
1) Quiet, peaceful and safe neighborhood
2) Close location of bus stops for buses that go to tube station and shops/restaurants in the area.
3) Restaurants in the area are very good, can advise Japanese/Korean restaurant Midori and Italian pasta bar Fasta that we very much enjoyed several times. We liked them much better than the ones in central London.
4) Spacious and light room with big and comfortable bed
5) Friendliness and helpfulness of owners
6) Free of charge laundry
7) Attention to detail and to the needs of the guests
8) Flexibility in room prices when choosing longer stay
9) Privacy for us means a lot. During our stay we never been disturbed or bothered by owners.

CONS
1) The same food every day: despite of good selection of fruits, diary products and pastries for breakfast we got used to the same set of food and after 3-4 days couldn't eat it with the same passion like on first days. Even though the breakfast looked absolutely perfect, maybe it would be better to alternate various dishes, add several small salads, various non sweet spreads or even add fish to make them more filling and warming during cold times.

2) We felt cold at times: the temperature of the shower was not enough warm for us. The temperature of water could be adjusted up to 38 maximum which was not enough during colder days and we had to fill the bath tube with hot water to warm ourselves up. The heating in the house was not running periodically, it seemed to us that it was on during the day and was off closer to morning hours which were the coldest.

The above mentioned CONS are minor and we don't consider them significant disadvantages. It all depends on the people and their needs. If we needed to stay in London again we would pick the same B&B. The most important for us was a good and friendly attitude, the feeling of safety and relaxation during our stay and the comfort of our room. This B&B would be good for a romantic stay for couples, business trip as the room has a table, two comfortable chairs and an armchair. It will also suite a family as they have additional room for extra family member or children.

Overall we very much liked our stay at John and Norma's Homestay B&B and would advise it to everyone who value privacy, luxury accommodation and quiet atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ju1ianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We had a brief but very pleasant stay with John and Norma this past summer, so it was an easy call as to where to stay for our ten night London theatre/museums/galleries trip in January of 2014. We enjoyed their fantastic hospitality of course, but more than that; John and Norma are warm, friendly, creative, and interesting people. They go the extra mile for their guests, and helped us on more than one occasion, going above and beyond what you might experience at other B&Bs. The main bedroom where we stayed is bright, cheerful (fresh flowers!) and welcoming. It had plenty of closet space for each of us, a desk and flat screen TV and great Wi Fi. My husband just loves Norma's scrambled eggs with chives, and I loved the great selection of warmed breads, croissants, and crumpets, not to mention the jams, fresh fruits, cheeses, veggies, and freshly brewed coffee and teas. The Oyster Cards they provided were most useful. We never waited more than a few minutes for the bus to/from the Bounds Green Tube station even returning late from the theatre in the West End. Oh, and the shower is lovely! We always got our busy days off to a good start having such a nice bathroom next to our room.That means a great deal to tired travelers. We were most grateful for the rides John gave us to and from the Tube on our arrival and departure days. Once we got on the Tube, it was a straight shot to/from Heathrow. Being on the Piccadilly Line, it was easy to access the other Tube lines and we went everywhere with no problem. John and Norma give great advice if needed on things to do in their area of Muswell Hill a well as London. We would absolutely put John and Norma's Homestay at the top of our list for any return visit to London. Thanks, John and Norma, for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: There are two rooms, so if you have and extra person or two, you can reserve both rooms as we did la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We had a fabulous time staying with John and Norma for 2 nights in January 2014.

The location is fantastic for exploring north London. It is very conveniently located for public transport.

John and Norma are wonderful hosts. The rooms are extremely comfortable and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was exceptional. The view from the main bedroom is lovely.

We were travelling with children (8 and 10). The room set up was perfect for us.

Everything was absolutely perfect. Refreshing change from hotel rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Aspley4034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
White Lodge Hotel
#407 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
The Drayton Court Hotel
#7 of 555 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kennington B & B
#55 of 555 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Pimlico
Georgian House
Georgian House
#12 of 555 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Kandara Guest House
#23 of 555 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John and Norma's Homestay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John and Norma's Homestay B&B

Property: John and Norma's Homestay B&B
Address: 74 Coniston Road, London N10 2BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a new B&B in the vibrant Muswell Hill area of North London. Our nearest tube stations are Highgate and Bounds Green. We have a stylish double room and a single/twin room, both with LCD televisions and Wi-Fi. You can book the double room on its own with exclusive use of the bathroom, or book both rooms and share the bathroom. Perfect for a family of 3-4 or a group of 3-4 adults. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
John And Norma`s Homestay Bed And Breakfast
John And Norma`s Homestay Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing