We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely amazing food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Varanasi Chefs

Varanasi Chefs
Ranked #4,837 of 22,225 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$19 - US$31
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: One of the leading Indian Takeaway & Dine In Restaurants in Battersea, SW11 3JR. We offer the varied delicious tastes and cuisines of India, from homes, wayside stalls and palaces presented in style, retaining its authentic nature. REAL Indian cuisine - which is the specialty of the Varanasi Chefs - is distinctive. It is exotic, aromatic and flavourful, relying on a subtle blend of herbs and spices, and provides an interesting contrast with Curries - the sauce based foods, Chats - the Indian street foods and with Tandoori- the clay oven foods
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

This is our local and I've been meaning to write a review for a long time. It really is superb , Indian food doesn't come better than this and I've eaten a lot !!
It's fresh, none greasy and exactly as described on the menu. We normally have a delivery which is fast, but have also eaten in restaurant too, where the staff are welcoming, attentive, but not over the top and of course the food is amazing.
A gem in the heart of Battersea and must visit place.
Well done Varanasi Chef!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    19
    4
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Visited this restaurant based on recent reviews. Was not disappointed. Found the waiters to be friendly and attentive. Food was reasonably priced and tasty. Absolutely loved the garlic naan.

Helpful?
1 Thank DaisySwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Last night we are visit to VARANASI CHEFS in Battersea high street sw11 for the first time, We are 4 people. The food was delicious and starter well presentation and interesting, Service was attentive and friendly, we all are very impressed about food and service. location wise bit off side. Guys if you like indian food try at VARANASI CHEFS.

Really good value as well. I will be back

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank anikait a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service, amazing value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Varanasi is our favourite local restaurant. The food is always excellent, the staff are very friendly and with a Tastecard it can be extremely cheap. Highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Among the better Indian restaurants in London. Their stater 'Banarasi Papri Chaat' is particularly excellent, and almost as authentic tasting as you may find. The 'Dal Makhani' is another favourite dish we've had here several times.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank uphaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Varanasi Chefs also viewed

 

Been to Varanasi Chefs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing