We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Backpacker's bed for bargain price”
Review of Arsenal Tavern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arsenal Tavern
Ranked #558 of 838 Speciality Lodging in London
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
“Backpacker's bed for bargain price”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The room was extremely small and crowded, hardly any space to turn around, I could pack my luggage only in the corridor at the lockers room, and the (common) bathroom is very small too. Really just a bed, do not expect any private place. Not really clean, but neither awful. However the main hall is atmospheric, you get a locker (5Ł deposit for the key), free wi-fi and even a simple (cornflakes and toast) breakfast is included in the price, and the location is quite good (in the zone 1-2, about 6-7 min walk from Finsbury or Arsenal tube station). I recommend if you have no high needs and just want a bed for 1-2 nights for bargain price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Istvan_HUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    31
    35
    31
    79
See reviews for
5
14
75
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013

First of all it's not bunk beds they have..there is 3 beds bottom(on the ground) middle and top (way too high and difficult getting up and down) you wouldn't want to be big because the mattress is very narrow and thin. Secondly , went to take a shower NO WATER!, ..supposedly this is a common problem, not even in the taps. Seems to be first come first clean. I was also told when there is water it only lasts in 15 second bursts and is sometimes cold.
Just for the record I travelled for 2 yrs staying in loads of hostels some bad but I've never written a review but I think no water takes the biscuit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agils86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2013

beds are squeeeky the rooms are very small and packed,not bad if you are staying as a group but not ideal for strangers in one room,the rooms are too small.

bathroom cleanliness was poor/average as you'd expect in a public facility definitatley doesnt exced your expectations.

ok for the price,last minute stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesTravelling101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

This place is good if you have low standards and aren't staying for too long. I stayed for 4 nights I believe (which was too long) but for 10 euros a night I couldn't complain. Breakfast was cereal, coffee/tea, and toast, which was more than I got at my last hostel so I was thankful for that! The rooms however were dirty and although I saw the cleaning people, I don't think they ever came into the rooms. Our private bathroom shower sucked because I couldn't reach it to turn it on...I'm 5 feet tall and if I was traveling alone I wouldn't have been able to use it but I was with my boyfriend so he had to come in and turn it on for me. What kind of shower has the on button 8 feet up!? Also, the other showers were awful. They had fungus (looked like mushrooms) growing out near the base. I don't understand why those weren't just cleaned up...overall it wasn't an awful place but it wasnt the cleanest. Staff were really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugg00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I visited here for a convention as I was press and it was the cheapest option available at the time. My friend and I arrived and while the atmosphere of the other guests was very pleasant, I felt that I had still spent too much money for what it was worth. The place was dingy and dirty and the fact that everything was painted black didn't help with my perceptions of this.

The rooms weren't too bad; the beds were relatively comfortable - although I was very unimpressed with the fact that the toilet seat was broken and our ensuite shower wasn't even working. I'm aware that there were various showering vicinities next door, but for a 9-person room, that's still unacceptable. This place needs to learn to cater for those who value their privacy and/or have low self-esteem, like myself.

The free "continental" breakfast was hardly continental - three different cereals, Tesco Value coffee/tea and toast, all with Tesco Value-equivalent spreads. The gesture was appreciated and we did like chatting to other guests as we ate and the fans installed were a godsend in the height of summer.

Long story short, this place is more or less ideal for someone constantly on the move and only planning to crash the night. But I wouldn't recommend staying for any more than that. There was next to no customer service, the place looked like it was in need of some serious refurbishment and no one should have to pay £10 for a room key. I understand it covers the costs if it's lost or stolen, but a key is kinda important if you're staying somewhere. I shouldn't have to fork out to have access to my own bed, for crying out loud.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DarkStarPoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

Very nice pub, didn't have a room, but was very good value food, basic menu, but was very nice and lots of it, staff were very friendly, service was quick. Very trendy decor and comfy.............................................

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyjanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

friendly staff, free breaky, pub downstairs, this place has a lot of good things, though the beds aren't the most comfortable (and squeaky) they are acceptable, also the light thats constantly on gets rather annoying, the only thing that brings it down are the showers, only 1 of 3 working, with a push button that stops every 5 seconds, pretty small and nowhere to put your clothes except on the floor, also there's something seriously wrong with the shower head, sprays you full force in the eyes most of the time, and don't turn it on while the doors open, otherwise all your clean dry clothes, on the floor, will get soaked, with no lock on the door this bathroom is very poor, and i've been having showers from a bucket the past couple months, so that's really saying something, though everything else is great

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#657 of 1,067 in London
214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge London Finsbury Park hotel
5.7 mi away
London Backpackers
London Backpackers
#203 of 838 in London
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
RestUp London
RestUp London
#441 of 838 in London
513 reviews
7.1 mi away
Queen Elizabeth Chelsea
Queen Elizabeth Chelsea
#210 of 838 in London
156 reviews
6.2 mi away
Tribal Hostel London
Tribal Hostel London
#417 of 838 in London
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arsenal Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arsenal Tavern

Property: Arsenal Tavern
Address: 175 Blackstock Road, London N4 2JS, England (Formerly Arsenal Tavern Hostel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #558 of 838 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Arsenal Tavern 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Arsenal Tavern From our location the best of London and all of its attractions are within easy reach. Getting around is quick and easy with both Arsenal Station & Finsbury Park Station within an easy 5 minute walk from the hostel. We are only 10 minutes from King’s Cross St Pancras station! Unique to the hostel, Stoke Newington and its huge amount of independent restaurants, pubs, shops and cafes serving the best coffee in London are only a 10 minute walk from the hostel. When you get bored of Shoreditch, come check out Stokey. We are not far from Dalston and Hoxton either. Arsenal Football Club and the Emirates Stadium are a very short walk away. Our bar and the hostel are a great place to be on match days. Clissold Park and Finsbury Park are 10 minutes walk from from the hostel. We do daily walking tours and pub crawls Our extra-large bar and common area are the heart and soul of the hostel. With a stage for live music, large cinema screen and pool tables you will never be bored. We also have free super fast Wi-Fi throughout the hostel. We love entertainers so get in touch if you want to perform on our stage. Got a talent or skill you want to share? Again get in touch with us. We are proud of our hostel and keeping the place clean and our facilities are cleaned and maintained 24/7. We are big on security and provide lockers free of charge, CCTV throughout the hostel and 24 hour reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Arsenal Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing