We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better Than Expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Italia Wellington Street

Bella Italia Wellington Street
Ranked #5,497 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$9 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Covent Garden
Description: Bella Italia on Wellington Street is found in the heart of Covent Garden, just minutes from The Strand and the London Transport Museum. Ideal for pre-theatre dinners, this Wellington Street branch of the ever popular Bella Italia chain of Italian restaurants is just minutes away from a handful of the capital's major theatres. Enjoy the well priced set menu or choose from the wide and varied a la carte menu. Whichever, you are sure to find some delicious food such as the Spaghetti Gamberi (spaghetti with prawns, Italian tomato sauce and a skewer of king prawns) or the Pollo Cacciatore (baked chicken breast with mozzarella, smoky bacon and tomato sauce and roasted vegetables and new potatoes or salad and fries.
NC
Level Contributor
116 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Better Than Expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

On a recent trip to London, and staying in the area, my spouse and I had a pizza here one evening. It was surprisingly good. Just a simple, thin crust pizza with cheese and pepperoni, it was simple, but fresh and very flavorful. Too, an accompanying mixed green salad was very fresh and so, so good. The restaurant is casual and also family oriented. It's on busy Wellington Street, but they did have a table available for us, as walk-ins, in spite of the crowds. Prices are London prices, no surprise there. Good, simple pizza.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TakesTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    70
    38
    30
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Little expensive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

The dish was tasted good but it was quite expensive for just pasta!
Be sure to take the tiramisu! It is small but it is tasty!

Helpful?
Thank Cyriel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
169 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Quite good. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Came in with a family of 6 and were happy to find they had place (a couple of others were packed). The kids were happy with the kids menu (had a good pizza, pasta bolognese and chicken milanese), which also gives a starter, desert and a small glass of juice. My wife liked the pasta dishes we had (I thought they were just ok).
The service was a little slow - almost 30 minutes to get the kids main courses.

Helpful?
Thank Micah S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Selsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Exceptional for the price and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We called in the Bella Italia after seeing the Lion King show. We were one of the first out but were soon joined by other hungry souls! Even though the place soon became full we never felt cramped or rushed. We both order Pizza to which the waited added freshly grated parmesan. Wow, the taste was superb. It has to be one of the best pizza's I've ever had. Total cost of two Pizzas with two cokes was £24.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NoLeakHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

On a weekend break in London, we went to one of our favourite Bella Italia restaurants, and were greeted by friendly staff who were clearly happy to serve us. We were offered a choice of tables, and once settled were left alone to study the menu without being rushed. Our order was taken by a very cheerful waitress who had the knack of being able to remember everything without writing it down, very impressive. You do have a bit of a wait for food, but nothing too long, and when it comes it is good, tasty and value for money, and there is a short break between courses, which is much better than the pack em in get em served and get em out philosophy used by some chains.

After the main course, we were given the sweet menu, which is a little limited, but overall very good value for money. Once this was finished, we were allowed to digest our meal for a little while, before we asked for the bill, which came soon after.

Overall, this restaurant has given us good service and tasty food on several occasions, and comes highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrscrub2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bella Italia Wellington Street also viewed

 

Been to Bella Italia Wellington Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing