We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy but ok”

Prezzo - St Martins Lane
Ranked #780 of 23,009 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Covent Garden
Frankfort, Illinois, United States
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Busy but ok”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Decent food, very crowded, efficient but not personal service. Exactly what you would expect from the look

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Larry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    182
    90
    41
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Went there with a few friends & despite reserving we were told to wait as only the 'manager' deals with reservations. Frankly, we were invisible to other members of staff whilst the manager made her appearance some 20 minutes later.
All she could do was blame how busy she was as she has to tend the floor, kitchen & customers...rain check- this should be in your job description!!!!!
The food was ok but the lack of service & poor ambiance of the restaurant just cut through the taste.
Even after we stood up to go, the manager followed us & continued to protest at how hard her job is. One word woman- QUIT! Don't spoil the dining experience for others!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miss G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham on Sea, UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Excellent location just off Trafalgar Square and by St Martins in the Field. Lovely waitress told us we didn't need a booking, that we were early enough at 4.30pm to just come back and there would be a table. She was very helpful when we went back and we were able to order quickly and easily. Food was lovely - mixture of pizzas, pasta and other meals. Restaurant is very clean, toilet areas also. Altogether a lovely experience that we would be happy to repeat. We used Tesco vouchers which they were very happy to accept.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Busy, good "chain" italian food and service”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Service makes a restaurant like this, the food is OK but the "chain" origins are there to see. This is in the centre of the "visitor" landscape & as good as you can hope for. Service was good, they produced the off menu pizza sought by our grandson without a blink, but the staff seemed to be in top gear all the time & I think staff & customers would welcome more feet on the ground. Would we go back? YES the formula seems to work.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alistair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“go elsewhere”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Frankly this was a complete disappointment, I had praised Prezzo to my husband and son having visited the one in The Fort, Glasgow so whilst on holiday I suggested coming here. Despite it being extremely quiet the waitress apologised for keeping us waiting because she was on her own, it was then a while before she came back to take our order, we ordered and included 2 garlic breads to come with our meal but they came as starters, in fact only one came initially and we had to call a member of staff over to say we'd actually ordered two. Then we had a rather long wait until our main course finally arrived, it was only meatballs & spagehtti, spaghetti carbonara and a pizza so nothing that should have taken so long and in fact a couple of tables that had came in after us (and ordered after us) were almost finished before we finally got ours, I actually had to ask would our meal be much longer, then they brought the wrong pizza to my son (which they blamed on a mix up with table numbers)
Both spaghetti meals were very so-so and the meatball meal was quite small, the pizza was the only one that got the thumbs up to be honest, we left as soon as we'd finished whereas on Sundays we would always have dessert but frankly the whole ambience in the restaurant lacked any warmth. We left without leaving a tip, the first time I have ever done so and although I felt bad about it I felt nothing about our meal or service deserved it. I suggest the staff look to their fellow employees at The Fort in Glasgow for the proper way to treat diners

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay_SScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prezzo - St Martins Lane also viewed

 

Been to Prezzo - St Martins Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing