We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sunday roast”
Review of Dog & Fox

Dog & Fox
Ranked #8,241 of 23,994 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 6 May 2014

If you looking for a good Sunday roast, this is the place to go in Wimbledon. Expect homemade gianormous Yorkshire puddings and decent portion of meat. Service is usually good and food comes quickly despite of being always very busy. Coffee and desserts are good too. Nice décor and setting, especially the library.
Kids love the horse stables next door and finish off by a walk on the common.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DogandFox-Wimbledon, Manager at Dog & Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We take great pride in our atmosphere, food and service quality. We hope since you wrote this review that you have had many more pleasant experiences.
Please don't hesitate to leave another review.

Flo Wheeler
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 285 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

This pub in a great location in Wimbledon Village has been newly refurbished and looks great inside. We went there for dinner with our family and ate in the library. The menu is your classic pub menu with mains ranging from around £10 - £19. We had a variety of items off the menu and I'd say that all of them were mediocre. My burger was a bit tasteless and had been overcooked and burnt on the outside with little interest in terms of flavours.

The biggest concern is the wine list. BEWARE - they have some nice wines (which I know well) but they do not have the years of the wine that they advertise. This is very cheeky and actually illegal as they price based on the better years. As an example, they advertised a nice Malbec from Mendoza (Alta Vista) from 2010 but kept brining us a 2012. When we switched to a Syrah from 2011 they didn't have that either. I find this really wrong as they are counting on their customers not knowing their wine and horrendously overpaying for it! Management take note and sort yourself out!

In summary, this place could be great, especially as they are about to open 17 hotel rooms as well. At the moment however I couldn't recommend it as a primary choice in Wimbledon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Shyam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DogandFox-Wimbledon, Manager at Dog & Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you for your feedback. I can assure since your review was placed, The Dog & Fox has had a complete transformation in management, staff and cuisine.

We hope to see you again soon so we can prove this to you.

Flo Wheeler
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Its a lovely pub for drinks but i would avoid food at all costs. Very slow service and then when it eventually came, it was terrible. The pub did not charge for the food as it was so bad. They also offered a free pudding. That was better, but you cant go wrong with ice-cream!! Staff very pleasant. Wine was good.

    • Food
1  Thank Jupsup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DogandFox-Wimbledon, Manager at Dog & Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you for your feedback. I can assure since your review was placed, The Dog & Fox has had a complete transformation in management, staff and cuisine.

We hope to see you again soon so we can prove this to you.

Flo Wheeler
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Great pub! Great food! Great drinks! Good staff, shame about the constant army of prams and screaming kids! We would recommend the Fish and Chips and the Camden Ale both are superb. You have two options on where to sit, either in the main bar or the restaurant, both are well decorated but still full of kids every Saturday and Sunday.

Thank Nelinworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DogandFox-Wimbledon, Manager at Dog & Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We take great pride in our atmosphere, food and service quality. We hope since you wrote this review that you have had many more pleasant experiences.
Please don't hesitate to leave another review.

Flo Wheeler
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Very average food. The restaurant is pleasant but the food was average and for what it was - expensive

Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DogandFox-Wimbledon, Manager at Dog & Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you for your feedback. I can assure since your review was placed, The Dog & Fox has had a complete transformation in management, staff and cuisine.

We hope to see you again soon so we can prove this to you.

Flo Wheeler
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dog & Fox also viewed

 

Been to Dog & Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing