We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tapas & good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Opera Tavern

Opera Tavern
Ranked #398 of 22,376 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Covent Garden
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great tapas & good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Popped in here quite late after the theatre. Our server Chantelle was very friendly and made some recommendations which we tried & were pleased we did. All the food was lovely, tasty and fresh. I enjoyed a sherry cocktail whilst my daughter had a soft drink. The bill came to just over £50 including tip. I thought this was good value and would go again

Helpful?
Thank MRSJ23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    285
    82
    26
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Good Tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

If you like tapas, you will like Opera Tavern. Relatively small tapas menu, but the food is good. Reasonably priced wine list as well. Staff is efficient and professional. Not cheap, but priced in line with other hotels in the area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank trees55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
369 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Wow !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is a wonderful "small plate" restaurant in the West End theater district. It is small so best to reserve; many people were turned away. When you do get in, be prepared to be dining very close to other diners. They charge for bread, pay it; another must are the "pig's ears" and then go from there. I had a special shepherd's pie. My wife had a pork belly "even better than Cote's (almost next door)" which is hard to do. My only concern was the high priced wine list. If the people here had put the effort into it as they had their food offerings this would be nirvana. Our dinner for two, food only, was €52; the wine was more than that.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank braidmacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent pre-theatre tapas bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Most enjoyable pre-theatre meal. We had five dishes, all very fine indeed, with the iberico presa and the tuna loin truly exceptional. Also had time for dessert, my wife loved the chocolate fondant, and the basil ice cream was superb. Service was excellent, courtesy of Chantal, who was both friendly and informative. It's not cheap, but not outrageously priced for good food in Central London. And we did choose to buy the lavishly illustrated cookbook, with a view to trying some of the recipes at home.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Black_Velvet_Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
180 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Pre Theatre Graze.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Before embarking on an extravaganza of Tudor history at the Aldwych theatre, we popped in the Opera Tavern for a light supper. I have previously eaten at Dehesa which was delicious and so we had high hopes for the Tavern, which did not disappoint. The mini pork burger was delicious, the beef brisket with pomegranate glaze a triumph. My husband loved the pork belly with butter beans and the asparagus with poached egg. Service was very prompt and knowledgable. All in all a perfect choice for a speedy pre theatre graze.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fleetoffoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Opera Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Opera Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing