We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different side of London”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lawrence Road Guest House
Ranked #460 of 573 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We had one night booked in London and needed another one. This was available for a decent price so we booked it. As the prior reviewer stated, it's close to bus stops and not too far from the Seven Sisters stop on the Victoria Line of the Tube. However, this was definitely in an area where tourists don't normally go. We were let in to our room, which was cleaned up nicely. We didn't feel too comfortable with having just a blanket to be covered with, and a sheet on the mattress. Makes me wonder how often the blankets are washed; I would advise to have a few layers of sheets before the actual blanket. There was a kitchen that we could have used, and a sitting area outside.

We dropped our bags off during the day, paid cash to the cleaning girl, who had the manager on the phone, and went to explore the city. At night we returned and had to go through some smaller darker streets, and because it seemed like a much poorer part of the city, it didn't feel too safe. Although the window was closed, it seemed like the whole wall was open, because we heard loud teenagers who seemed to have picked the street as their meeting area. Normally it wouldn't be so troubling, but this was from midnight on...

Won't stay here again but appreciated being able to see the other part of London that normally isn't for tourists.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank galinarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 20 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2011

This was one of the best accommodations we stayed in during our visit to London, out of four different budget places we stayed in. It was very quiet at night, the beds were comfortable, and everything was kept very clean. While overall it was not fancy, it was highly functional and there were many touches of style in the decor. Our 20-year-old son loved his separate single bedroom with free internet access and large flat-screen tv; the price was low enough that having a second bedroom for him was affordable. Both the owner and the cleaning staff were friendly and helpful. The ethnic diversity in this busy, well-worn neighborhood was fascinating, and you have the advantage of seeing a part of town that many tourists are unlikely to see. The location is in North London, i.e. not central, but Seven Sisters is on a major tube line (Piccadilly) so that it didn't take long to get into town. There is a convenient cafe ("P&R"), supermarket, and ATM near the tube station, all a 10-minute walk away; there are also several places to top up your Oystercard pass on the way to the station. You will need to make sure to make arrangements via phone ahead of time to be let in on arrival, but after that you have complete independence of coming and going. It is not for everyone: we felt entirely safe getting to and from the station during the day, but for a single woman returning late at night it might be not so safe. For those who like hostels it is equal to or better than a hostel--more private and cosy in size outside and inside.

Room Tip: Any room would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EBerryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rinah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015
Thank Pecota70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank thepower2015
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 February 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jstdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#50 of 930 in London
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawrence Road Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawrence Road Guest House

Address: 15 Lawrence Road, London N15 4EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #460 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £38 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lawrence Road Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lawrence Road Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing