We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Dalston, London”
Review of Avo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avo Hotel
Ranked #126 of 579 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stopped at the Avo for recent business trip, instead of a 'big chain' hotel. The Avo worked out great, and would willingly return. Very comfortable room, helpful staff, breakfast was just how I like it. The location was perfect for my work in Dalston, though I would also use the Avo for other London locations, as Dalston has great transport connections. Very enjoyable stay, and good value.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grt0000000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Hello!
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and found Dalston convenient! We've been based here for nearly 30 years now (not always as a hotel though ;) and we find it's a fascinating area...
Come back soon,
Sunny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

We booked out the entire hotel over a bank holiday weekend for friends and family to stay in during our wedding. From start to finish we had a wonderful experience dealing with all the staff in this lovely hotel. The rooms are beautifully furnished and well equipped with everything you need. All our guests had only positive things to say. A huge thank you to Nar and the team at this wonderful boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCW351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

We're so happy that the wedding went well and everyone was pleased! Nar said it was a delight meeting you all. Thanks for picking Avo,
Sunny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

A great hotel! Loved the décor, too! Very friendly family run business. The room was very comfortable, although just a bit tiny walking around the bottom of the bed. Breakfast was fine, although, personally, we prefer a full English breakfast, but I did know it was continental when I booked. We would recommend this hotel to friends and family, and, we would definitely stay there again! Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 432Shelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hi Shelley,
Thanks so much for staying with us! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back soon :)
Sunny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

From the moment of my arrival to checking out I found this family-run hotel to be friendly, charming and helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable and the staff were extremely helpful. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Ian,
Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review; it really means a lot when people appreciate the efforts our family goes to!
Come back soon,
Sunny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Arrived to Avo at around 7am after our 31hr flight. The staff were kind enough to let us check in at this time to sleep and freshen up. Rooms are very modern, clean and were more then suitable for our two night stay. Staff are very friendly. We would highly recommend this hotel :)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hi Emma,
Thanks for posting a review. 31hours! That must have been tough - and we're so glad we were able to check you in early.
Come visit again soon,
Sunny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

The service here was excellent, all our needs were accommodated for and staff were happy to help carry our bags, offer us drinks and let us in late at night.
The security here is excellent, no one can access the hotel without being let in from the inside, there is another locked door to the hotel and then another to enter the rooms.
Room was immaculatey clean, also modern and full of everything we needed; TV, things to make brews, even a fan!
Location via tube was literally 4/5 mins walk from Dalston Junction with a convenience shop near by.
The only thing I would say could be improved would be the curtains, blackout curtains could be added to the room we stayed in as the curtains let through a lot of light but this wouldn't stop us staying there again.
Everything was perfect for our stay,
Thank you :)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitlin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Caitlin,
Thanks for taking the time to write us such a kind and detailed review. We really hope to see you again soon,
Sunny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This is a small hotel with a personal touch from Nar. Enjoyed the stay very much and there is a direct bus 38 from the hotel to Covent Garden area. Very useful when there is a tube strike! I like the heated rack in the bathroom whereby you can dry your wet towels quickly. Thanks Avo!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerenceT904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Hi Terence,
I'm so glad my dad gave you a warm welcome! And the heated towel racks are a favourite of mine too! Thanks for your review,
Sunny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Premier Inn London Hackney Hotel
East End / East London
Kip Hotel
Kip Hotel
#584 of 1,081 in London
197 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
The Captain Cook
The Captain Cook
#32 of 579 in London
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
The Old Ship Inn
The Old Ship Inn
#144 of 579 in London
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avo Hotel

Address: 82 Dalston Lane | Dalston Hackney, London E8 3AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 579 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £87 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Italian Vogue calls Dalston "the coolest place in Britain". Avo Dalston, a boutique hotel in the heart of vibrant Hackney, caters to savvy locals and tourists with special touches like memory-foam mattresses, luxury Elemis toiletries and a showcase of local art and photography. Our values are based around exemplary service and environmental responsibility. For example, our menus are animal friendly, and we provide travel aluminum water bottles for our guests to use during their ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Avo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing